We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated youth hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
UK
1 review
“Over rated youth hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our first visit to Majorca and it was 10 days of sleepless nights. The hotel is very old and badly in need of renovation. Although most of the staff were very polite and the food reasonable this did not compensate for the unruly youngster who had no consideration whatsoever for anyone else in the hotel. From midnight till 6:30 am 16 year + came back to the hotel and screamed shouted ran up and down the corridors partying in each others rooms and leaving rubbish everywhere. An ideal holiday for them but hell for anyone wanting a normal relaxing time.
Definitely not suitable for families or the older holiday maker, and yes speaking German would be an asset.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeewhizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    26
    15
    9
    15
See reviews for
12
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

War 2 Wochen in El Arenal mit einer Freundin und meiner Mum (kam spaeter) und wir waren mehr als zufrienden mit unserem Hotel. Unsere Zimmer wurden jeden Tag sauber gemacht. 24 Stunden Reception und ausgesprochen freundliches Personal. Sehr hilfsbereit mit Fragen, Tips und Hilfen. das Fruehstuecksbuffet war gut fuer ein 3 Sterne Hotel. frische Fruechte, Ruehreier, Spiegeleier, gekochte Eier, Kaese, Wurst, Cornflakes und Muesli, croissants, etc. Die lage war herrorragend. Alle Shoppingzentren, Bars, Restaurants sind 5 Minuten zu fuß erreichbar. Der Strand war 3 Minuten zu Fuß. Der Swimmingpool und die Liegen waren sauber und und in sonniger Lage.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CatwalkcarolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england-bah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

This was our first holiday away as a couple and it was amazing!
When we first arrived we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, although there was a language barrier ( as to be expected) we managed to understand each other with no problems. Our room was just right but there was no air-conditioning, but was not much of a problem as the price was so good!
The maids cleaned our room every day to a high standard as everything was spotless!!
The food at the hotel was excellent, we went half board which entitled us to breakfast and evening meals. There is no label by the food to tell you what it is but there is a menu outside the dinner hall before you go in.
There was always something we both enjoyed everyday and the coffee was lush.
The hotel was situated right near the beach which was a 2 minute walk.
The beach is excellent and the sunsets were beautiful.
At the bar in the hotel there is always someone around to serve you, you might just need to get their attention at reception.
The staff were really friendly and always willing to help with any queries or concerns.
There was not much of a view but it was no bother to us as we had a balcony to chill out on in the evenings.
One thing that was very obvious when we got there was that the hotel was very German orientated, which was not a problem for the hotel but the actual German people were not always that friendly, but sometimes the opposite and too over friendly.
We were pleasantly suprised and would certainly go back again. Thank you very much for our stay xxxx Matt & Hayley

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayl3y89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2007

We stayed at the Iris from May 7th-16th 2007 and although the rooms are very basic the staff is exceptionally friendly and the hotel is very clean with the rooms being cleaned daily.The breakfast buffet is great and its only 1 minute away from the beach.We were pleasantly surprised and will definetely be going back.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendly staff, excellent value for money
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pinklady999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

My partner and I visited The Iris from 28/09/06 to 05/10/2006. We found the hotel to be very basic, nothing in the rooms, no tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridge, portable tv, this is probably not what you would expect of a 3 star hotel.

The hotel is reasonably clean, the maid visits the room every day to empty bins etc and the staff are very friendly and approachable.

The food in the hotel is not exactly brilliant, my partner basically lived on salad if we ate in the hotel, most of the hot food was covered in breadcrumbs or batter (obviously a German thing) so you didnt have a clue what it was until you cut into it or tasted it. Not much variation in the choice available from night to night.

Any English travellers visiting Arenal should be aware that the resort mainly caters for German & Dutch holidaymakers, and there are very few English or Spanish bars in the area, therefore it may not be to everyones taste.

The hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The 3 Star rating must have been awarded in 1969 when the hotel was built and not been reviewed. I have actually stayed in better bed & breakfast and self catering accomodation with a 2 star rating. The furniture in the rooms has been vandalised and has names scratched into it, Hans, Otto & Burek have all obviously been previous occupants of the room we stayed in.

Although the hotel was very reasonable to stay in, I think in the future I will pay a bit extra and stay somewhere a bit more modern.

  • Liked — Coming Home
  • Disliked — No Facilities
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave&Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#67 of 77 in Playa de Palma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#19 of 48 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xapala
Hotel Xapala
#9 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Calle Amilcar 3, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotelopia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel El Arenal
Iris Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing