We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and spacious room but carparking was hard!”
Review of Hotel Horus Zamora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Horus Zamora
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice and spacious room but carparking was hard!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Wife and I and a relative couple stayed here for a night. We had the attic rooms which were very nice, spacious and clean. The bathrooms were fantastic. However, as the hotel was located in front of a little sqaure and right opposite a local in-door market, checking-in presented a bit of a problem as the place was so crowded. The hotel in fact had a couple of dedicated parking spaces for customer to unload their baggages, but it was not easy to get and use. One had to be very careful as the place was full full of cars circulating for parking. The standard of English of the receptionists was poor and that didn't help matters. We had pre-booked a parking space of the hotel's underground carpark, but getting some sensible directions/instructions from them was a struggle. Basically we were gave a roomcard to operate the garage door and were told to drive round behind the hotel to gain access. The access as very tight and be warned that one must go there with someone to open the gate and to guide the turnings etc. or else you would get damages to the car.

The hotel was in the middle of Zamora town and one could walk to all the places of interest easily (the cathedral, the churches, the sqaures, the shopping streets etc). It wasn't that noisy considering it was opposite a market/sqaure. WIFI worked fine. We had dinner in the basement restaurant and it was fine.

All in all, if you were not going there by car and want to be in the middle of town, I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be very careful with the underground garage, take someone with you as a guide into/out of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    204
    70
    11
    9
See reviews for
68
206
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel was a great deal for the money, 70 Euros per night. The negatives are that there is no place to park in front of the hotel, not even to unload your luggage, and then you have to lug your luggage up a flight of stairs to the front desk. I ran inside to ask the front desk what to do about getting our luggage out of the car and where to put the car and the young lady told me to shut up and get in line while she finished checking other people in! No one at the front desk spoke English well enough to really help us. The location is really great, walking distance to everything in the old town, and the rooms are quiet. No decent reading light, though. The breakfast buffet was fine, 6 Euros per person. I definitely would stay here again considering the attractive room rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Zamora is my hometown so whenever I visit I stay at my family's. This time there where 4 of us (not easy and/or confortable to accomodate at anyone's flat) so we decided to book a hotel.
I obviously know the city but I'd never stayed at any hotels there so I chose this one for its location and price. Melia usually is a good choice.
Staff was attentive and kind, rooms were nice, with space enough (minibar, TV...), wifi for clients (you can aks for the password at reception), bahroom quite spacious with good light! And bed was so comfy!
I mad he booking through there website and the price was amazing: something like 60 euros per night per room (it's one of those rtes you can't amend or cancel but it's worthy).
We didn't use other than our rooms as we didn't even have breakfast at the hotel but I definitely will recommend it

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2007

It was reccommended by my travel agent at [--] and she was right - beautiful hotel with unique furniture and great services. We wished that we could stay longer, and we loved it so much we decided we will return. We loved the city, too - we went in May and it was full of storks!! . The room was out of this world with all the details matched to the architecture of the hotel ( very art nouveau). We loved the cigar lounge, the bar and the food at the restaurant located in the cellar. The barman is great, very nice.
Great for a romantic getaway, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happytouristToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I would heartily recommend this hotel with one caveat. We booked the most expensive suite and were given large and very beautiful accommodations on the front of the hotel. The inside of the hotel is exceptionally quiet, and there is very little street traffic. However! There was a manhole cover directly outside and, every time a car went past, the manhole cover went Clunk Clunk. The hotel did manage to find us a quieter room but the hotel was 100% full and we ended up on an air shaft at the full suite rate. I suggest that you ask for one of the rooms on the top floor with the skylight window. The breakfast is fantastic, especially the pear torte. The parking garage is very convenient but best suited for small cars.

  • Liked — General hotel ambiance and location
  • Disliked — Limited English at the front desk
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarra
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2005

A very good hotel, in a clasic building. The stairs of the hotel are the originals, and are wonderful. It his very near the center of Zamora, in front of the market.

The rooms have also clasical forniture (but they have been recently renewed) and the ceiling of the rooms were higher than a normal room. The bathroom of our room has only shower, but it was very clean. The beds where big, and with a very good mattress.

In short words, a good hotel to stay in the beautiful city of Zamora.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank ViajeroNavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs. UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2003

A quiet and elegant hotel overlooking the covered market in the heart of this this almost undiscovered gem of a Spanish town. Staff are courteous and helpful, rooms comfortable and classically furnished, the breakfast buffet sumptuous. Recommended.

Helpful?
7 Thank freegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zamora hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
0.2 mi away
Zenit Dos Infantas
Zenit Dos Infantas
#5 of 14 in Zamora
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Zamora
Parador de Zamora
#1 of 14 in Zamora
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#4 of 14 in Zamora
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel dona Urraca
Hotel dona Urraca
#12 of 14 in Zamora
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
#11 of 14 in Zamora
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horus Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horus Zamora

Property: Hotel Horus Zamora
Address: Plaza Mercado 20, 49002, Zamora, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Zamora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Horus Zamora 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former 19th-century Modernist mansion is located in the historic centre of Zamora. It offers air-conditioned rooms with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. It is 200 metres from Plaza Mayor Square and the Town Hall. The interior of the Horus Zamora Boutique Hotel is decorated in an art deco style, with a grand marble entrance in hall. The hotel has a spa with a hot tub and sauna. The hotel's restaurant, La Boveda, offers an a la carte menu of classic Castilian dishes. Gluten-free meals are available and should be requested in advance. There is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Horus Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Zamora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing