We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

For just one night, we didn't made any reservation, so we checked out the local tourist office first (very helpful!). As per our request we were handed over a handful of 3-4 stars hotels in the city centre. We always perfer the quietness of the riverside over the convenience (and potential) noise of the centre and for that, we had to walk pretty bluff towards the river Duero.
And there on a square, we had an amazing view of an ancient church and a modern style hotel, sharing a hugh chimey. A real culture clash, intricating and instantly appealing to our interest. The room was very spacious, clean, double sink bathroom with toilet, bath and shower and a nice, just big enough balcony with 4 seats in the shade of the church. The beds are firm, pillows a bit soft, but we slept well, almost missing breakfast!
The riverbank was only 50 mtrs away, after crossing a main, but quiet road.
The car-free city centre is only a few hundreds meters away, but be prepared for a steep walk of 10-20 minutes, depending on your age and ability. Anyway, we think the NH-hotel is very conveniently located for all ages.
For food and drinks, the plaza around the big church in the centre is providing all you're looking for, but keep in mind Zamora is not a very big city. We took an €8,00, three course set lunch just around the corner of the hotel (less than 25 mtrs) with no more than three tables on the pavement. Amazingly good! In the evening we went for tapas in Los Abuelos V in the city centre and the walk all the way up to the Plaza Major was a real appetizer.
The breakfast room is located next to a very interesting kind of a conference room, but in church style. Breakfast itself was good, but the boiled eggs were far from fresh. We complained, but declined their offer for new ones. Apart from that, it's worthwhile staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room and took an (offered) upgrade for only €25,00 to the business class. Reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We really enjoyed this small hotel inside the city ruins.
Is quite near the river, attached to an historical church and on a walking distance from the historical sites and the shopping area of the city.
The only thing that we really missed was a pool, because it was to damn hot in the city when we visit it.

Room Tip: Book in their website and obtain good discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravenx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

It’s a great hotel, one example of how to potentiate an ancient church and monument. The NH Palacio del Duero is an NH hotel chain located at the Iglesia Santa Maria de la Horta, renovated and transformed into a very modern hotel, where the church was transformed into the hotel restaurant and where another part was built, a modern building, where the hotel’s rooms are.
Location is great, 10 minutes walking to Plaza Mayor (major city center square) through Calle Balborraz, a pictoresque and trendy climbing-street which is the main entrance of city of Zamora.
Our room, the 212, was large, modern, excelently decorated, very clean, with a comfortable king size bed, a very friendly balcony fronting the street and the church, LCD TV, Cofee and tea maker… excelent extras. Bathroom was amazing as well, a large and lighting space, with good pressure shower and a very friendly window reaching the balcony.
Staff was very efficient, kind and friendly.
Absolutly recomendable, with a great 64€ special rate for a double at their website, breakfast not included (better to have outside, near Plaza Mayor, cheaper and more typical).
Great choice… what a pity only spending one night! :(

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2005

Considering how much we were paying, we were a little surprised to find the room not ready when we arrived, given that it was 3:45pm! Booking in required the receptionist to type details into the computer for ages. After a delicious meal in the rather atmosphereless restaurant, we went to our room which had all the touches: chocolates, pen and notebook etc, our name on the television screen but not that much space. The lobby and the bathroom were roomy enough, but the actual bedroom was so full of armchair, standard lamp, mini-bar etc that it was a bit of a squeeze! There was lots of tourist information provided and a sumptuous coffee-table book on the region to leaf through, but we would rather have had fewer fripperies and a cheaper room price. Checking out took a while too - they could do with having more staff on the desk.

Stayed: March 2005
6  Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Adolfo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VIVIR365DIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zamora hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Zamora
Parador de Zamora
#1 of 14 in Zamora
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#4 of 14 in Zamora
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zenit Dos Infantas
Zenit Dos Infantas
#5 of 14 in Zamora
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel dona Urraca
Hotel dona Urraca
#13 of 14 in Zamora
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
#12 of 14 in Zamora
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Zamora Palacio del Duero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Zamora Palacio del Duero

Address: Plaza Horta 1 | La Horta, 49002, Zamora, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio del Duero)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Zamora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Price Range: £41 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Zamora Palacio del Duero 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Zamora Palacio del Duero hotel in Zamora, Spain, offers guests a prime location in the heart of the city's historic and cultural area, right next to the 12th century Romanesque church of Santa Maria de la Horta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Zamora Palacio del Duero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Zamora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing