We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Good quiet hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Zamora. It took us about 20 minutes to walk from the bus station, with suitcases. While it was easy enough being downhill on the way here, this meant that we were faced with a slight uphill walk every time we walked into the town centre or any of the attractions. It's not a big deal if you're fully mobile, but it might be a pain in the heat if you're not.

The staff were very friendly on arrival and we were able to check in earlier than the supposed acceptable check in time. Our room faced the back of the hotel, over a sort of courtyard. It was a reasonable sized room, nothing too grand for the price we paid. The hotel is very quietly situated, near one of the old Romanesque churches and just a few minutes walk away from the river. The wifi worked well enough.

We didn't buy breakfast as it didn't seem worth the extra cost. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which seems to have a good reputation and a slightly expensive menu del dia. However, there's a great little bar, the Bar Zumacal, round the corner in Plaza Zumacal where you can buy a good menu del dia for €9.50. Good choices and great service. Worth going to.

It's about a 10/15 walk into the centre, although it's always uphill on the way there. There are different ways to approach the centre, one of which has a less steep approach up the Calle Balborraz. The location is good for the peace and quiet, but it may not suit those who want to be closer to the centre of things. All being said, it's a pleasant hotel worth considering.

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet, given the location, but ones at the back might be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    280
    81
    17
    4
See reviews for
117
309
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I attended a conference that was held in this hotel. In fact, I stayed with friends but a colleague with mobility difficulties and another colleague with vision problems were dismayed at the lack of accessibility. The staff were very kind - it was not their fault - but almost everywhere one went one encountered unexpected "charming" little stairs - not very many, but just enough to make life a misery for anyone needing to use a walker, or trying to get around with low vision. There is no excuse for a major international hotel chain to not pay attention to basic accessibility - the stairs were mostly, it seemed, there from a misguided sense of aesthetics than for structural reasons. We wrote to the management and their response was polite but unsatisfactory.
The food was all right but overpriced - there is a great little bar-cafe literally on the corner with very low prices, home-cooked simple , light dishes, and a friendly owner. Recommended to skip the NH food and drink services and just walk out to this alternative.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank torontoniana_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benitachell
Level Contributor
197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel features have been positively commented on by others already. I agree. We stayed 2 days saw a menu de (medio) dia for 20 EUR - thought this was a bit expensive but were proven very wrong. It´s sooo excellent that this price is a real bargain. Nacho, Xavier and their team offer first class cuisine which can rival restaurants costing a LOT more. Wine and water were included, an "amuse bouche", delicious starters and meal portions bigger than normal, rape fish which costs itself quite a bit, deserts homemade and well presented and richly tasting. It´s a pitty we are living 700 km away - otherwise we would be frequent guests of Xavier & Co. Very well done - Congratulations!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the river in an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I booked here on 10/4/2013 for a one night stay on 20-21/5/2013. The hotel failed to advise me that 20/5/2013 is a local holiday and that virtually all Zamora would be closed down - including their own restaurant and cafeteria/bar! We were lucky to find a very modest "mesón" open in the town where, I must say, we had a very enjoyable lunch - but no stores were open and the city was dead!

When we attempted to have dinner in the hotel at the appointed hour of 8.30 pm were advised by the receptionist that the restaurant and bar staff were "off" because of the local holiday and whilst he could recommend some restaurants close by he believed they would all be closed, too. But, strangely Room Service was available - the menu was in the room.

Now, I don't know who composed this Room Service menu but it clearly had something do with organic food with little or no proper description of the, mainly, sandwiches on offer. My wife and I speak and read both Spanish, (Castillian and Latin American versions), and, of course, English but we found it very difficult to interpret exactly what was on offer. When our order arrived what we expected, due to the prices charged, was not acceptable. Not to be recommended.

The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance - up a very steep hill(not for the elderly or faint hearted ) - from the mediaeval old part of the city which is quite delightful. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a premium room which was very large and comfortable on the first floor with direct access to the parking beneath the hotel.

However, in view of the above mentioned shortcomings I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed just for one night in The Palacio del Duero on our way from Gijon to the Costa del Sol. We wished we could have stayed longer as Zamora is beautiful town. As mentioned in previous reviews the Hotel is very modern, but built onto a very old church. Unfortunately because of the briefness of our stay we didn't actually use the restaurant and so didn't see the interior of the church. Our room was very modern, with an excellent bathroom and good toiletries and had a very good free wifi signal. We had booked a place in the hotel garage and, although we had a very good room rate, we felt that the charge of 15 euros for the night for parking the car was a little excessive. I'm quite sure that there were plenty of places to park without payment. The hotel is very close to the Plaza Mayor and to all the beautiful sites of Zamora. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillegom, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

For just one night, we didn't made any reservation, so we checked out the local tourist office first (very helpful!). As per our request we were handed over a handful of 3-4 stars hotels in the city centre. We always perfer the quietness of the riverside over the convenience (and potential) noise of the centre and for that, we had to walk pretty bluff towards the river Duero.
And there on a square, we had an amazing view of an ancient church and a modern style hotel, sharing a hugh chimey. A real culture clash, intricating and instantly appealing to our interest. The room was very spacious, clean, double sink bathroom with toilet, bath and shower and a nice, just big enough balcony with 4 seats in the shade of the church. The beds are firm, pillows a bit soft, but we slept well, almost missing breakfast!
The riverbank was only 50 mtrs away, after crossing a main, but quiet road.
The car-free city centre is only a few hundreds meters away, but be prepared for a steep walk of 10-20 minutes, depending on your age and ability. Anyway, we think the NH-hotel is very conveniently located for all ages.
For food and drinks, the plaza around the big church in the centre is providing all you're looking for, but keep in mind Zamora is not a very big city. We took an €8,00, three course set lunch just around the corner of the hotel (less than 25 mtrs) with no more than three tables on the pavement. Amazingly good! In the evening we went for tapas in Los Abuelos V in the city centre and the walk all the way up to the Plaza Major was a real appetizer.
The breakfast room is located next to a very interesting kind of a conference room, but in church style. Breakfast itself was good, but the boiled eggs were far from fresh. We complained, but declined their offer for new ones. Apart from that, it's worthwhile staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room and took an (offered) upgrade for only €25,00 to the business class. Reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We really enjoyed this small hotel inside the city ruins.
Is quite near the river, attached to an historical church and on a walking distance from the historical sites and the shopping area of the city.
The only thing that we really missed was a pool, because it was to damn hot in the city when we visit it.

Room Tip: Book in their website and obtain good discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zamora hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador de Zamora
Parador de Zamora
#1 of 14 in Zamora
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#5 of 14 in Zamora
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zenit Dos Infantas
Zenit Dos Infantas
#4 of 14 in Zamora
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel dona Urraca
Hotel dona Urraca
#10 of 14 in Zamora
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
Hotel Rey Don Sancho
#11 of 14 in Zamora
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Zamora Palacio del Duero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Zamora Palacio del Duero

Property: NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
Address: Plaza Horta 1 | La Horta, 49002, Zamora, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio del Duero)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Zamora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Zamora Palacio del Duero 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Zamora Palacio del Duero hotel in Zamora, Spain, offers guests a prime location in the heart of the city's historic and cultural area, right next to the 12th century Romanesque church of Santa Maria de la Horta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Zamora Palacio del Duero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Zamora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing