We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired parador”
Review of Parador de Zamora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Zamora
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had no problem finding the parador although it is in the old city and one has to negotiate the usual Spanish very narrow and one way streets. It was easy enough to unload luggage at the front but parking was an extra cost in the garage. We parked in a disabled space near the town library although we received unclear information from the parador staff about whether we had to pay. Access was difficult for me as I use a walker and while there was a ramp at the front door at from the lobby to the elevator, they were steep ramps and there were no ramps to the dining room , bar and salons. The room, I had requested a disabled room, was a standard room with no special features. The grab bar at the bathtub was quite loose and its instability made it unusable My wife said the decor of the room and the parador in toto was tired and the needed upgrading. The location was good in that it was an easy walk to cafes, bars and the plaza major.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Zamora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for a short vacation in the Toro and Rueda wine region and booked two rooms, a double one with separate living room and a 'normal' double.

Check in was slower than in other hotels, some staff speak English some don't.
We were given rooms next to each other in the new part of the hotel farthest most from the reception and the lobby / restaurant although we had asked for the historical location. As the passage to the old part was very complicated with suitcases and slow elevators we gave up the idea of asking for different ones. It seemed though that most guests lived in the historical part (by the room numbers).

The rooms however where nice, quite spacious, though dated. The beds very comfortable and the sheets and pillows some of the best I remember. This is an old parador, renovated to actual 'presentation' some - my guess - at least fifteen years ago, probably more. It's been done to hold so (all) appliances are working well but they're dated. You'll feel this particularly when sitting on the sofa ...

There is a safe in each room to which you'll need a separate card, so ask for it upon check in. Wifi is accesible when it feels like it and sometimes it just stops and you'll have to reconnect again. It's free however but didn't get through the old walls to our room.

This said, all was well. We had views of the garden and a church and a little Zamora across the river and the land behind. The terrace bar by the pool was very nice with swift service and lovely views.
The public areas are very nicely decorated - a real old castle with a beautiful inner court.

The restaurant has a tipically Spanish dinner card, the food is good and the wine fine. Waitresses speak enough English to explain what you can choose and expect.
The prices (like for the rooms) are within decent limits for what is offered. It's a castle however!

Breakfast was good, nice selection of everything, coffee and tea are being served upon order.

Car access is adventurous but fun, you get a parking around the corner but will have to pay for it during the week but not the weekend. Parking in front of the parador for check in and out is allowed but doesn't look nice with the building.

Would we stay here again? Maybe, the location is perfect in the heart of the zona peadonal (pedestrian zone) allowing easy walking to the nice monuments and the very nicely kept city center.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank adswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is by far the worst Parador that I have ever stayed in. Having spent the previous night in Leon, which is absolutely fantastic with with the best food I have ever had in a Parador Hotel this place was a real contrast.
The food was dreadful, the veal which we had turned out to be nothing but gristle.
Parking is a major problem as space is tight and very limited. Staff morale would appear to be very low and I was totally unimpressed with the "know all" Manager.
As for Zamora itself, well I have never seen anywhere in Spain with so much graffiti, which is such a shame given the excellent historic buildings on view.
I would never return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevordunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were not aware when we booked that this was Fiesta weekend. The only downside to this was that odd roads around the square were closed which made it more difficult to find the hotel in the old city and the fact that we had to park in a public car park a few minutes walk away.

However, we were welcomed by the Deputy Manager, had our rooms upgraded to enormous suites and he came with us to show us the car park.

There were two weddings at the hotel as well but we were well looked after and the service was good.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite"
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The parador is a very tastefully converted 15th century courtyarded palace, with a tastefully added new wing. The place is full of character, even if the suits of armour seem a parador "standard" rather than anything relevant to the building. As you'd expect, service is excellent, although it certainly tends towards the the thorough rather than the brisk (there can be queues at check-in and check-out). The hotel seems to be fading slightly - for example the carpet in our room was very well-worn, and there were several large cracks on the tiled stairs up to our corridor (there was a lift, but generally not worth using since this was a flight of about 6 stairs). We did thoroughly enjoy everything about the stay, but we'd certainly have felt over-charged if we'd paid the full rate.
Large outdoor swimming pool only available in the summer period - we'd not spotted this restriction in the publicity, and were a week too late to try it!

Room Tip: Rooms in old part of the building have more character.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great front desk staff caterer to your every need. Beautiful historic building in the center of the old town. On the lower scale of the parador chain. Parking is a little difficult but plenty of spots within a 5minute walk to the garage. Very few metered street spots that are for two hours at a time. Very nice pool. Rooms are in need of updating. Hair dryers are from a generation gone by. Bring your own. You will thank me. But if traveling to Zamora definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agrouzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This parador is in a 15th century palace! I loved the suits of armor and other period touches, the lovely cloister, and the tapestries, yet again having lots of modern amenities. It was also a treat to be right in the heart of old town. We loved being able to walk to beautiful views over the river, to the ruins of the old castle fortress, to the cathedral, to the main square and lots of tapas bars. In the early evening the whole town was out walking in the customary tradition. This parador also has a beautiful pool though it was too chilly to swim when we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knierim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamora
0.2 mi away
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#4 of 14 in Zamora
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zenit Dos Infantas
Zenit Dos Infantas
#5 of 14 in Zamora
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel dona Urraca
Hotel dona Urraca
#13 of 14 in Zamora
96 reviews
13.2 mi away
Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Zamora

Address: Plaza Viriato 5, 49001, Zamora, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Zamora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Price Range: £72 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Zamora 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Turistico De Hotel Zamora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing