We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Warm Room, O.K. for One Night Only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Ciudad de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A Very Warm Room, O.K. for One Night Only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Booked the NH directly through the hotel's website and for the price the hotel was good value. This was our first stop after arriving in Madrid after an international flight. A good night's sleep was important to recover from jet lag. The location is not close to the gorge where the houses seem to cling precariously to its sides. However, it is a short drive.

The hotel has plenty of free parking and is easy to locate. This was important to us rather than choosing a hotel or bed and breakfast where parking might be difficult in the historic centre.
When checking in we were offered a discount for breakfast as breakfast was not included in the rate and is regularly 12 Euros per person but with the promotion was 9 Euros. Breakfast the following morning was very good. However when checking out, the attendant at reception was reluctant to provide the promotional rate that the woman at reception offered us when checking in. I found this peculiar and not very favourable customer service from reception.

As nice as the hotel was, the room was clean and pleasant, but the room was too warm. Turning down the temperature on the control in the room provided no relief. The A/C was turned off for the winter. The temperature read 28 C and sleeping with the window open provided a less than satisfactory sleep. Our room overlooked a bar and with the large open paved spaces surrounding the hotel there were children playing and balls bouncing in the early evening. The late evening provided us with lots of loud talking and shouting from the patrons of the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    373
    127
    21
    11
See reviews for
160
407
14
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

As per title, the room was OK, nothing special to be honest.

The main things i liked about this which is quite different to some other hotels;
1) A little play area in the dinning room. - we had two kids. I've never seen this before, but it meant we didn't have to shove food down our throats so quickly and they didn't seem to bother other guests. Brilliant
2) Park just opposite, although lots of dog poo like most parks in Spain, i'll never understand that!
3) One day i couldn't make it down to breakfast as the baby was still sleeping, my wife asked if she could take some food up and they said yes. Some hotels are VERY against this. They even gave her a tray and said they'd warm some bacon and eggs for me (like they did the previous day at breakfast downstairs). Very impressive.
4) Late checkout, unlike some hotels where you have to be out by 10:30am this was at around 12pm.
5) Parking all around the hotel. We even parked right in front on some days.

Room Tip: Not surrounded by historic sites but at least you'll have parking and some quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ FearRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, easy to find on the main entrance to Cuenca fom Valencia. Room was clean and ample for our needs. There was plenty of parking in the street and if you don't want to take the car to the old part of the city, buses 1 and 2 pass every half hour at the stop nearby and take you there for 0.70€. The only thing I don't recommend is the cooked breakfast. The bacon was very thick and undercooked (for my liking), the sausages are Frankfurt type and the scrambled eggs had no milk or even mixed thoroughly. There is plenty more option at the buffet bar which is tasty!
We were given 4 different prices from 4 different people/website, the cheapest being the checkout price! Nice hotel, would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosijavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

modern hotel, clean and in good condition but nothing outstanding. Rather far from interesting parts of Cuenca, but bus stop close by takes you right to the top of the gorge.Hotel staff helfull in providing info on bus service.Parking outside front of hotel is free or more secure underground park is pricy.wifi free in lobby. Not much in the lineof restuarents near hotel, but plenty of options in old part of town.Good value for money for a "city hotel."

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Area where the hotel is located is pretty bleak and soulless. Nothing round there which is worth mentioning but is worth pointing out that you do need to drive or get a taxi to the old part. We walked and it took us 35 minutes.
Room itself was clean but absolutely baking hot - a sauna. Even turning off the heaters made no difference! Although the hotel is no smoking, there was a pervading smell of cigarette smoke e.g. when we got out of the lift on the fifth floor upon our arrival and in our bathroom. No idea as to where it was coming from. Temperamental shower which involved several scalding water incidents.
The bed was comfortable but had no brakes on its legs - I know this sounds weird but it meant that every time we sat down on it or moved in it, it would skate around.

We ordered breakfast room service which was great. They brought up copious amounts of food so we were able to have a great breakfast. Nice friendly waitress brought it up.

Check out was at 12.00 midday but if you wanted to check out later ( as we did) you paid 5 euros + VATfor each additional hour.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValenciaScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I'm from Sao Paulo-BR and stayed at NH Cuenca as the 2nd place of a 34 nights/36 days trip to Spain.Arrived at the hotel by car coming from Valencia after a 2 hour trip.First bad surprise:the location of the hotel is very bad,far from the historic city,no walking distance.No one to carry your luggage to the room,despite it is a 1st category hotel(I'm sure it's not even 3 stars).Asked to see a suite,but the smell was terrible and the price,absurd for that kind of room.Stayed in the standard room.Air condioned and frigobar not working.Complained in the reception.They sent someone who said the frigobar cannot be fixed,maybe the gas was finished.Changed to another standard room.Next morning.had breakfast in the hotel.Normal.No closer better options for breakfast.Little pressure in the shower.Check out was normal.Asked to talk to the manager,to complaint about the absence of a person to carry the luggage,He answered:"es la crise,muchos empleados fueran demitidos(fired)"...Nothinh was offered to compensate the problems,not even 1 free breakfast.Do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

When travelling through Spain, this hotel was very welcoming and comfortable. Limited parking to the front of the hotel but there is secure, underground parking at a nominal charge. Based on the outskirts of the new town of Cuenca, the old town (tourist sightseeing area) is approximately 2 miles away. The location of this hotel does not reflect the beauty of Cuenca for those travellers who are sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarmarSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.5 mi away
Hotel LB Villa De Cuenca
1.0 mi away
Torremangana Hotel
Torremangana Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ciudad de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ciudad de Cuenca

Property: NH Ciudad de Cuenca
Address: Ronda San Jose 1 | San Fernando, 16004 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ciudad de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel designed for the enjoyment and use of their customers. Located in the most privileged area of the town, fast access and parking, has all the comforts and security of NH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NH Ciudad de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing