We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding historical experience and value”
Review of Posada de San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada de San Jose
Ranked #1 of 31 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding historical experience and value”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in October and was really pleased despite a couple of issues. Location next to the Plaza Mayor is wonderful and the room was spacious, very clean, well lit and beds were comfortable with lovely linens. The room also had a terrace with a view of the gorge and a couple of comfortable wicker armchairs to enjoy a quiet al fresco moment in privacy. The included breakfast was very good and the view from the dining room was spectacular. Small inconvenience was noise of people talking at the front desk in the evening - our room was fairly close. The noise didn't continue too late at night, but if you're an early to bed person you might ask for a room further from the reception area. The authentic feel of the building and furnishings was delightful and the hotel is remarkably inexpensive for the quality of the experience. An unfortunate problem with the boiler made for no hot water one day, which was explained to us upon check-in. The problem was fixed the next day and without being asked the manager made an adjustment to our bill upon check-out. Very professional.

Room Tip: People at the desk are keen to please, so if you aren't delighted ask to see another room. Each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    108
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
175
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a huge room with a marvelous view of the gorge at a smaller price than the Parador across the gorge. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on a little terrace overlooking the gorge--felt like a private terrace. Breakfast was only adequate. Getting to hotel requires driving through old part of town--streets are narrow and winding. Parking was a couple blocks away and rather than working our way back through the streets we took our bags to the garage. Very little English is spoken.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed for two nights in September. The conversion of this beautiful old building to a hotel has been undertaken so as to retain many of its original features, and tastefully furnished with solid period pieces. My very comfortable room (23) had a fantastic view over the gorge and armchairs by the window so I could sit and enjoy it. The bathroom was well equipped with a plentiful supply of hot water.
The reception staff (especially Beatriz) were very friendly and helpful, as were the ladies in the restaurant. There is a small terrace where you can sit and eat, or just have a drink. For breakfast there was a good selection cereals, fruit, meants, bread, pastries, etc .
The hotel is well located for seeing all the sites that Cuenca has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking over the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed over night and loved the feel of this hotel and its location. Everywhere is steep and parking a bit of a problem. We had a very comfy room with a seating area and terrace. The view over the gorge was fantastic. The bedding was crisp and really good quality.The pillows were also thicck, not like some skinny ones you get in Spain. The hotel was spotless with some lovely pieces of furniture and art work on the walls. We didnt eat here but found plenty of eating places at the top of town where we parked safely for nothing. Would recommend it and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 for 80 euros.All the rooms were quiet as the hotel is set down an alley away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed at the Posada for two nights in April and enjoyed it very much. My room was furnished with period pieces, very attractive and comfortable. Adjoining the room was a sort of closed-in porch containing a little table and two chairs. I could open the windows on the porch and look across the gorge at the parador and the hillside.

I had a simple dinner in the restaurant, the same thing both nights--a salad of tomatoes in olive oil with minced garlic and scrambled eggs with asparagus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Built in 1668, this old college turned hotel took me by surprise. Wonderful, quaint with a monastic feel to it, my room was large, stone tile, dark wooden furniture (double bed, armoire, side table, cane seat chair) whitewashed walls, white cotton covers and curtains. .And a view onto nearby roofs (cathedral, and attached buildings). My room (no 4) only had a sink/mirror, but the bath/shower and toilet were right across my room.
This building, as many others in this historic part of Cuenca, is perched at the top of the rocky plateau...and offers a magnificent view from the dining area, and outdoor terrasse. Some of the rooms share the same view.
Reception and service were very friendly.
I loved the look and feel of this small hotel...with a location that is perfect.
Just a stone's throw from the Plaza Major (Main Square) with its cathedral steps, cafes, shops. Bring walking shoes - and hike the surrounding trails that take you around and down to the two rivers....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewPaths_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Pros: the building is beautiful, the facade magnificent, and the location is excellent. (But then again, the same can be said for a few other hotels/b&b's within a 300m. radius.) Despite all that follows I hade a wonderful time in Cuenca.

Cons: 2 stars are removed for the simple reason that my reservation wasn't met. I booked a room with a view and a double bed, and only upon arrival was told the only room available with a double bed has no view (and barely a window at that.) Had I been told in advance that that's how I'd end up, I would have simply gone to another place. And if that wasn't enough not only was I downgraded -- but I was also charged the higher price, for a room with a view.

Another star gets knocked off for small annoyances I would have probably otherwise overlooked: 1) The bed was separate from the headboard 2) The bright lights, with no dimmer, were behind clear-glass panes (hardly romantic lighting.) 3) There was no curtain to block the light in the morning. 4) The room key, and presumably all room keys, was a generic/standard issue that's found in any hardware store. Hardly safe.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view do have a splendid view, but for a room with no view then a cheaper place in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Posada de San Jose, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We thank you for having chosen Cuenca and the Posada de San José for your weekend trip and are sorry that the Posada de San José did not live up to your expectations. Your reservation was for a double room with full bath and view and was done through a popular reservation channel on line with a special offer. Your preference for a double bed was not available and a twin with a view was reserved for you. Upon arrival, you insisted in your preference for the double bed and voluntarily changed your room to one with full bath but without the direct view. The same special offer was applicable to all rooms with bath; approximately 10% less in this case. We regret that we were unable to attend your room type preference, but not all our rooms have double/queen or king size beds.
In reference to the "security" of our room keys, fortunately to date, clients of the Posada de San José have not been subject to break ins, forced entry or subsequent robberies in rooms. Numerous room keys are still the 18th century ones, and others have been replaced as they were unique (one per room) and have unfortunately "disappeared". We do request clients to leave their key at the reception upon leaving to avoid losses. The window in the room does have a roll down blind and we regret that it does not block the light sufficiently for all clients. The light fixtures are common to all rooms in the Posada, since the last renovations in 2004. We take note of your evaluation of these elements to propose improvement.
Hopefully you will return to Cuenca on another occasion in which case we would be more than pleased to attend a reservation request directly to avoid any futher misunderstandings sometimes unavoidable on-line where the personal attention necessary is not always possible. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Jose

Property: Posada de San Jose
Address: Ronda Julian Romero 4 | 50 metres up from the Cathedral, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada de San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel located in a XVII Century building in the heart of the old quarter of Cuenca, a declared World Heritage City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Posada de San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Jose Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing