We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada de San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada de San Jose
Ranked #1 of 30 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is central and most rooms have breathtaking views across the gorge to the monestery on the opposite side. The food is very good, and reasonable too. The bedrooms are "Spanish rustic" firnished and the hotel itself contains some excellent modern abstract paintings as well as more traditional works of art. The one drawback is the parking, of which there is none (hence only 4 stars). But that is a problem in much of the old city. There is however secure parking nearby, otherwise you have to park at the top of the hill outside the city gateway. One big plus for us is that the hotel is dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantodame1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    107
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
172
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

im just sitting in the lobby of the posada de san jose.its a charming spot, like all the corners of this nice place to stay.we had room 15, it comes with a terrace and wonderfull views.then we moved to room 4 that has a balcoy,also great option.we had to move as we extended our stay in cuenca and "our" room was already booked.we ate once at the restaurant, its fine but not much option for vegetarians.the speciality of cuenca is game and heavy meat.the views from the window tables are great.I do find it rather expensive.but if you can afford it I recomend to stay here.Its a bit dump and smelly.

Room Tip: rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxanaurbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here six years ago and was back again last week. It's full of character with fabulous views over the Huesca Gorge, looking directly down onto the Parador on the other side. The location is just uphill from the Plaza Major where there are lots of good tavernas (our favourite was San Juan). The staff are very friendly and helpful although some speak only Spanish. Lots of good things to see and do in Cuenca and a walk down into a lower part of town is worthwhile. Parking is a bit of a challenge - the best free spots are further up the hill past the battlements.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is one of the most quaint hotels we have ever had the joy of staying at. Our room number 24 has a view that you could site and ponder for many hours. We were cosy and comfortable and wanted for nothing. The hotel restaurant means you can stay in and still enjoy the views. Loved every minute of our stay and would return again.

Room Tip: 24 is great, two single beds close together. Small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel and had a great time. It has an historical ambiance and is right in the most interesting and historic part of town. The service was friendly and I highly recommend the dining room. The menu has a diverse selection of interesting dishes and the view from the dining room is fabulous.

The town of Cuenca is spectacular with sheer cliffs on both sides of the town and beautiful rivers running at the bottoms. There are several great walks to do around town and in the canyons. As well, there are a huge number of things to see and do in the area ranging from Roman ruins, medieval castles and hiking. I highly recommend this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfamily155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, al
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We absolutely loved our room (number 33, huge!) at Posada de San Jose. It was just lovely, with tons of historic charm. Not one, but two baloncies with seating areas and views across the valley and of the Parador. I woke up one morning just before sunrise and wouldn't let myself go back to sleep until the sky was completely light. I mean, how often do you get to witness sunrise over a castle?

This hotel might not fit all travelers expectations. It's by no means swanky (if that's your thing, the parador may be a better choice), but it's amazingly authentic and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and fun to talk to. They actually helped me arrange a bike, and had it waiting, as a christmas surprise for my cyclist husband. They made us dinner reservations at the Parador for Christmas Eve, and helped us figure out the bus and train schedules during the holidays.

And, the breakfast was great! Queso, fresh breads, eggs, local ham, plus yogurts and cereals, and delicous sweets. Would love to see them play local music in the breakfast room to help the space seem more relaxed, but that's not a complaint - just a suggestion.

We would highly recommened Posada de San Jose!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Posada de San José was the highlight of our recent tour around Spain.

Lovely big room, clean and bright with a massive double bed and a balcony that looked out across the gorge.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
Can't remember if there was wifi... far more interesting things to be looking at!
They accept dogs.

We loved it here and would return without hesitation.
The breakfast is a buffet with lots of choice and another great view from the dining room.
We took the tasting menu one evening which was delicious.

Parking may be the only downside. We didn't have any real trouble but I expect at busy periods this might be a challenge.
We arrived at the Posada by turning right immediately after the Catedral in the Playa Major. This route brought us to the front door but the roads were extremely narrow (we have a VW estate). You can pull in just after the Posada to unload but you can't stay there. Alternatively, there is a wider road parallel to the narrow route, but stopping to unload bags would be more difficult.
The staff at the hotel will direct you to parking - underground and at the top of the hill.
One day we went for a long walk around the gorge which was spectacular.
The Museo de Arte Abstracto Español is also worth a visit, if only for the design of the interior spaces.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the gorge, they are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Jose

Property: Posada de San Jose
Address: Ronda Julian Romero 4 | 50 metres up from the Cathedral, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada de San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel located in a XVII Century building in the heart of the old quarter of Cuenca, a declared World Heritage City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada de San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Jose Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing