We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we stayed here during the semana santa in March 2013. The wifi was a bit spotty, that's why I give 4 stars instead of 5. The service was great, they speak English pretty well, the room was clean and a good size for European standards. The breakfast buffet was excellent (if you just want the spanish breakfast of pureed tomatoes, olive oil, and toast, and coffee, you can ask for that and you pay a lot less) and a great value for money. Only 7 euros per person (that same trip I had paid 22 euros in Paris for a breakfast with less protein choices). Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacificiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very small room, cigarette burn on bedspread. No door on room safe, had it worked would have cost an extra €6 per day! Bathroom very strange, solid wall along 3/4 of the bath with the shower attached to it. No overhead light it was like showering in a very small dark cupboard. Cracked tiles in bathroom and very grey thread bare towels. However the worst was yet to come, there was a FIESTA in the park opposite our room. We asked three times to be moved but no rooms to be had!! Was assured that the Fiesta would be over 1 to 2am, it stopped around 4am, then the clean up started. No sleep at all, not ideal after a long journey. Even with window and shutters closed we could not eliminate the noise. Better glazing would help cut the noise level.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. Large free car park less than 10 mins walk away. Hotel is opposite a small park, and we had a room overlooking this.

Receptionist very friendly and speaks good English, and is very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Room a good size with a decent bathroom with a selection of toiletries and all very clean.

Hotel about 15 min walk to the old town, all up hill to the hanging houses and catherdral - but there are buses and a taxi rank outside of the hotel.

Breakfast buffet was good. Lots of choice of pastries, doughnuts, croissants, various breads, cereals, yoghurt as well as hot scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. Also a good coffee machine and orange juice. Good views from the restaurant as on the 7th floor over looking the old town.

Park opposite is nice to sit in when it's very hot as lots of shade, and local bars serve food and drinks there. Lots of cafes and restaurants within 5 min walk as well as a couple of supermarkets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

At first sight, this hotel looked a little down-at-heel from the outside and in the reception area but our room was absolutely fine, very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had a great view of the Parque and the Old Town.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, spoke good English but very patiently allowed us to prcatice our Spanish.

Breakfast was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Parque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stopped by en route from Madrid to Seville by train in the middle of nowhere to this must see World Heritage Site. The hotel is overlooking the park in the centre of the new town with amazing view of the old town. Sixth floor room actually a marble suite just for the two of us, absolutely brilliant and great value. Top floor restaurant, well above average with same terrific view.
We were lucky enough to be there at festival time (September), the whole of the old town given over to celebration, bulls running through the streets and each barrio dressed in different uniforms. Eating, drinking and merrymaking long into the night. They had more stamina than we did. An unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Top floor suite with balcony overlooking the park and old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sqwawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel reception is small and we expected the same from our room but it was quite spacious very clean and had an amazing view (we were on the 6th floor ... and there are lifts!) over the tops of the trees in the square and towards the old town. It is in the newer bit of town and you do have to walk or take a taxi or the (good and regular) buses up and into the small streets of the old town. We only had breakfast at the hotel. It is on the top floor of the hotel with an amazing view. The food at the buffet/help yourself breakfast was good with fresh pasteries but the staff were rather unattentive. We stayed two nights - one was a Saturday night - and the sounds of the Saturday night revellers did drift up to our room. Otherwise it was peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights both of which we're very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and spoke English. The hotel is in an ok location in the new town but all the attractions are in the old town about a 15 min walk up hill. A good hotel and a lovely town but definitely only a days worth of activity site seeing in the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
3 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca

Address: Calle Parque San Julian 3, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: £33 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing