We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, great view, excellent service, fantastic breakfast.”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great view, excellent service, fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Parador is located a little out of the main old city. You get to the old city via a foot bridge. It has the most amazing view of the hanging houses. The walk into the old city is short and easy. We did it lat at night to go to a bar and were perfectly safe, and back in our room in a reasonable amount of time. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast is amazingly good. I would return in a heartbeat. I wish all the hotels I stayed at during this trip were like this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    450
    123
    35
    10
See reviews for
247
746
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very clean and good view from the room .....!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great hotel with wonderful view and nearby the city-centre of Cuenca. You need to have strong nerves when passing the small bridge from the parador to the city, but this is, at the same time, the charming point of the visit. The service is excellent and the inside is very cosy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great views of the hanging houses. Easy to walk over the bridge into town. Well situated for visiting the many natural attractions nearby - such as Ciudad Encantada and the springs. Typical parador standards. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Always saw Parador hotels throughout Spain and wanted to stay in one but too expensive. However a family member getting married here was a brilliant excuse to stay a day or two.

We came with two babies, so were not bothered about views etc, only if the rooms would be OK for them. They provided a cot and a bed (for the older child).

Bathroom was big with two sinks and room met all requirements. Lights in room quite dim so might not have noticed any minor defects. All in all, we got what we paid for. Nothing really outstanding about the room, but the hotel itself is quite impressive.

A lot of people comment on parking being an issue, this is a case if you want to park directly infront of the hotel, but they have an over flow car park which is a 2 min walk away, covered and outside parking clearly available as i stayed there when the hotel was packed. Maybe the hotel should make this clearer to customers.

Good location to experience the bridge, but after a couple of days you'd probably wish you were more inside the old town. I noticed people started leaving these 'love' pad-locks on here now. (to see an bridge full of these, visit cologne, in Germany).

I only put 4 stars for this for two reasons, one, the bed they gave my one year old was battered and looked dangerous, a cot may have been better. Secondly, they charged him (although) half price for breakfast. One year olds don't eat breakfast hardly, but we can't leave him in the room alone so he has to sit with us, he probably only ate half a slice of bread!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If you travel in a wheel chair, definitely request a room near the life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJ FearRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I must point out out that this is the only convent I've stayed in but nonetheless it was wonderful. You feel as though you are miles away from the world until you walk across the (semi-scary) bridge (but what an amazing view) into the town of Cuenca. The hotel was elegant but understated - not flashy. The rooms were nice and the pool felt like you were in your backyard with lots of friends. As for service - it wasn't impressive. The paradors are run by the Spanish government and having experienced service from the US government employees I saw no difference. We received our drinks from the bar when they seemed to get around to it and the same in the dining room for breakfast. But the experience definitely made up for a little waiting on our part. Our trip was three years ago so the service could have improved.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This location requires that you cross a fun walking bridge to access town. People are leaving love locks on bridges like this one across Europe...notice as you walk along and add your own for fun? This parador is like others in quality...comfortable beds, top rate showers, satisfying water pressure and bathroom cleanliness. Unique in the quality of carved wood on the headboard, door, shutters, even exposed ceiling beams in the dining room which for many reasons was one of our favorite parador meal. I don't know how they managed to shave pineapple so thin for their dessert with frozen yougart but it tasted like an almost different fruit-YUM! We also enjoyed a drink in the courtyard and were impressed by the hearty peanut and corn nut munchies and the call button (didn't see this at any of the other paradors we visited and it was so helpful and appreciated) The food service was first rate but the menu needs improved English translations as far as grammar and spelling but not regarding understanding of which food you would be ordering. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and had a better understanding of English than most. The parking is 17E extra is an open lot beside the hotel but up a flight of stairs. Try to get a room that overlooks the gorge -it is breath takingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Room 313 is a long walk down the corridor but it's a corner room with a cross breeze of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#8 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing