We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good restaurant and service”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The parador is a Coventry converted to a hotel in a splendid location with best views to the old city of Cuenca with the casas colgadas.
The building is nice, the rooms are spacious, the infrastructure is a bit outdated in general. The bed is good, the pillow not ideal in my opinion. We had a room in the 3rd floor with great view on the old town. The room was clean, the service friendly both at reception and room service. The restaurant offers a good breakfast and dinner.
All in all we had a nice stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Parador is located a little out of the main old city. You get to the old city via a foot bridge. It has the most amazing view of the hanging houses. The walk into the old city is short and easy. We did it lat at night to go to a bar and were perfectly safe, and back in our room in a reasonable amount of time. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast is amazingly good. I would return in a heartbeat. I wish all the hotels I stayed at during this trip were like this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very clean and good view from the room .....!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great hotel with wonderful view and nearby the city-centre of Cuenca. You need to have strong nerves when passing the small bridge from the parador to the city, but this is, at the same time, the charming point of the visit. The service is excellent and the inside is very cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great views of the hanging houses. Easy to walk over the bridge into town. Well situated for visiting the many natural attractions nearby - such as Ciudad Encantada and the springs. Typical parador standards. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Always saw Parador hotels throughout Spain and wanted to stay in one but too expensive. However a family member getting married here was a brilliant excuse to stay a day or two.

We came with two babies, so were not bothered about views etc, only if the rooms would be OK for them. They provided a cot and a bed (for the older child).

Bathroom was big with two sinks and room met all requirements. Lights in room quite dim so might not have noticed any minor defects. All in all, we got what we paid for. Nothing really outstanding about the room, but the hotel itself is quite impressive.

A lot of people comment on parking being an issue, this is a case if you want to park directly infront of the hotel, but they have an over flow car park which is a 2 min walk away, covered and outside parking clearly available as i stayed there when the hotel was packed. Maybe the hotel should make this clearer to customers.

Good location to experience the bridge, but after a couple of days you'd probably wish you were more inside the old town. I noticed people started leaving these 'love' pad-locks on here now. (to see an bridge full of these, visit cologne, in Germany).

I only put 4 stars for this for two reasons, one, the bed they gave my one year old was battered and looked dangerous, a cot may have been better. Secondly, they charged him (although) half price for breakfast. One year olds don't eat breakfast hardly, but we can't leave him in the room alone so he has to sit with us, he probably only ate half a slice of bread!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If you travel in a wheel chair, definitely request a room near the life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJ FearRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I must point out out that this is the only convent I've stayed in but nonetheless it was wonderful. You feel as though you are miles away from the world until you walk across the (semi-scary) bridge (but what an amazing view) into the town of Cuenca. The hotel was elegant but understated - not flashy. The rooms were nice and the pool felt like you were in your backyard with lots of friends. As for service - it wasn't impressive. The paradors are run by the Spanish government and having experienced service from the US government employees I saw no difference. We received our drinks from the bar when they seemed to get around to it and the same in the dining room for breakfast. But the experience definitely made up for a little waiting on our part. Our trip was three years ago so the service could have improved.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: £78 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing