We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting place CUENCA”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enchanting place CUENCA”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

PARADOR CUENCA
We stayed 2 nights in this four star hotel. The best out of the five hotels we stayed during our August holiday. An old converted building (St Paul's Convent), with modern comfort, price tag may be slightly high (135 euro per night 20th August). But a superb hotel, swimming pool, , ace of a bar for snacks/drinks beautiful court yard, Sauna, fantastic views…etc. lavish breakfast
A place to relax and forget about it all. If only you could do this, the pull of the old town with hanging houses beautiful riverside and hill walks is too strong to stay in the hotel and enjoy its facilities to the full.

Room Tip: Just chill out and enjoy it, late evening before midnight order a drink fom the bar sit in the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40sotoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    482
    132
    38
    13
See reviews for
281
805
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We enjoyed very hot days in Cuenca, and even though we stayed only one night, we made the best use of their nice swimming pool and restaurant. Food quality is in line with the rest of Paradores. Rooms are not very big but this is something we don't care that much. We liked the common areas a lot, really well refurbished. It is also very close to the centre of Cuenca, only few meters from San Pablo bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for views to the river or the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A monastery with a peaceful and calm atmosphere, just outside the old town of Cuenca, with a stunning view of the top of the hill and the connecting bridge a few meters out of the Parador.
Fabulous dining hall, and very good breakfast (they had plenty of Jamon Iberico, the best cut in Spain, freshly squeezed orange juice, and much more).
Few car spaces outside the building, better get there early, otherwise is a long way to the nearest parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We loved walking in the lobby and trying on the ‘king’s chairs”. We also loved sitting at a table in the internal patio.

Our room faced a beautiful green valley and was very quiet. The rooms facing the Casas Colgadas are next to the hotel parking and a very busy front entrance. The windows shutters in our room were a bit hard to open.

As we arrived at the hotel, a dodgy looking man was trying to “usher” us to a parking spot, but we pretended that we didn’t speak English and he went away. If you drive here, be early, because the parking spots at the front of the hotel fill in quickly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatainOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Fabulous place,I have just a few reservations. Much of the place could do with a facelift! the display cabinets with gifts in, look as if someone set them out in the 1990's and not disturbed them since! The staff were delightful and helpful.The dining room needed a little music as the atmosphere was rather solemn and sober. ( I know it was a convent once, but it felt as if the diners had taken a vow of silence!The food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "Hanging houses "
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Once this was a monastery and it still has a bit of this atmosphere. The building is lovely and it overlooks the canyon to the old town of Cuenca. The parador is visited by many older foreign couples, so if you prefer to be among the Spanish, rather go to other Paradores like Olite, Salamanca or Siguenza.

Room Tip: Decide what you want to see, the courtyard or the mountains or the canyon with the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This parador, located in a 400+ year old monastary, is absolutely wonderful! The building is gorgeously restored, the rooms are lovely and the lactation is just breathtaking. The pool is especially fabulous to boot. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv_s_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing