We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience - couldn't be faulted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A great experience - couldn't be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I should explain that we got a special offer as Amigos which meant we paid about 220 euros for 2 midweek nights bed and breakfast in early June. At this price we thought it was excellent value and a wonderful overall experience. The location and the interior of the building are stunning and so convenient for visiting the main sights (as long as you don't suffer too badly from vertigo on the slightly wobbly footbridge across the gorge!), and also for walking in the surrounding countryside. It's really easy to find (signposted all the way through Cuenca) and there is free parking.
Our standard double room was spacious with a large bathroom including double wash basins, bath with shower over, and a separate toilet. The view from the loo was amazing - our room was located at the back of the parador overlooking the gorge. Stunning. The room had a comfortable king size bed, safe, minibar and TV: everything we needed.
Others have commented on poor service but we had quite the opposite. From reception to the bar and dining room, all the staff were friendly and helpful. If anything it was some of the customers who were less than polite and friendly!
We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but certainly at breakfast there was plenty of choice and all very fresh each day.
My only very slight disappointment was that the swimming pool is only available in high season (ie July and August) and after a very hot day of sightseeing I would have loved to cool off in the pool.
Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much, for your kind words.
Please visit us again.
Only a small remark: All the swimming-pools in Cuenca opens June 15th and close September 15th.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    427
    116
    33
    8
See reviews for
233
706
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
181 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Parador is well situated and is a great example of the best of Spain. The rooms are cozy and very nice. The staff is excellent. The food is first rate, exactly what you can expect from the Paradors. And the views are incredible. Come and see the heart of Spain.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your king words.
Please, come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The exterior of the hotel is impressive and very inviting. The check-in process was painless, but without the friendliness of most of the hotels we have experienced in Spain. When I complained that there was no WiFi in the room, they said there were some areas of the hotel where the signal was weak. I said it wasn't a matter of weak, but no signal at all. I asked if we could be moved to the front of the hotel where there was a signal and was told no, that those were the more expensive rooms with better views. No offer to upgrade - even at an additional cost.

Our room was in the rear of the hotel, clean, well-furnished and quiet. We did not eat dinner in the dining room, choosing a great location across the gorge. The breakfast had good quality food with lots of choices for many different breakfast tastes from around the world.

Over the years, my experience has been that the service level at Spain's paradors has slipped noticeably, with some exceptions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want WiFi and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, never a room with a good view, reasonable cleanliness but such humourless staff. Pedantic, grumpy, unhelpful and positively dour!

So different to all the other Paradors we have stayed in. We will not be returning! I would rather take a detour.

Such a shame but some smiling is required!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Google Translation
Si desea contactar personalmente con nosotros, nos ayudaría. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Parador is conveniently placed in front of the historical centre of Cuenca and of the famous "Casa Colgada". We booked a standard room, but when we checked in, we were asked if we wanted to change (with an affordable surcharge) to a room with view; we accepted and it was definitely a good choice: the view on the historical district of Cuenca was rewarding! The hotel is high level like it's in the tradition of Paradores de Espana, with quiet, big and luxury funished rooms provided of all comforts, moreover there is an ancient iron bridge that crosses the gorge to the "casa colgada", so that you can go in the historical district with a ten minutes' walk.
Just outside the reception there is a small free parking lot for 10-12 cars, if you are not there in a "peak period", you can take advantage of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pablobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, which will help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were delighted to spend two nights at the Parador de Cuenca. It is in an amazing place, perched on the side of a ravine, overlooking the marvellous old section of Cuenca. For so long a monastery, the buildings have been transformed into a lovely hotel. Our room was so spacious and comfortable, with plenty of room for armchairs as well as the usual features of a hotel room. Parking was simple. we were looked after throughout our stay by helpful, kindly staff. We really enjoyed breakfasts too, as they offered local specialties. we really loved our experience of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Parador in Cuenca is terrific. Recently renovated, the historic building has been beautiful preserved and elegantly updated. The room was comfortable, the food delicious and the setting amazing. It was worth spending a little more for a room on the third floor with a view of the Casas Colgadas! Also, extremely romantic, especially on a cold, rainy night.

Room Tip: It was worth spending a little more for a room on the third floor with a view of the Casas Colgadas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dakotaroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#9 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing