We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great start to tour of spain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great start to tour of spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

A great start to our tour. the geographical location made this a stunning city. a beautiful old city. refreshing place to relax and prepare for a very busy tour.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbkops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    426
    116
    33
    8
See reviews for
233
704
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Cuenca is a real find. A wonderful little town full of history The parador in an old monastar has the perfect situation to explore that gem. Hotel is fantastic for a day or a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller01Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We spent one night at the Parador. It was our splurge hotel for our trip and worth every Euro. The location cannot possibly be described- as photos do not do it justice. Our room was quite large and very comfortable facing the gorge. It was particularly fun to view it from the easy hike we took from just across the parador after crossing the hanging bridge (make a right after you cross the bridge and follow the path along the side of the hill until you get to the little abandoned house then follow the path up to the end of the upper part of town.) It is on that walk that you can truly appreciate what a spectacular site it has.

Is it a little worn/shabby around the edges? Just a wee bit. But it only adds to the ambience. I would have found it disconcerting to have such a historical building be completely rennovated and outfitted like a deluxe chain hotel.

Public rooms are lovely, our breakfast was the most outstanding of our trip. We also ate a light dinner in the bar that was also quite good.

Make sure that you allow time to visit the Museum of Spanish Abstract Art! Unbelievable building and presentation of the best of the abstracts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane from WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We enjoyed our pretty room with a lovely view of the hanging houses of Cuenca. The breakfast was delicious and varied, and the room was very nice. It was especially nice to see the bridge and hanging houses lit up at night. Our only complaint was that we stayed there the Saturday night that they had a wedding reception (I've read elsewhere that Saturday weddings in paradors can be common). Because of the wedding, parking was almost impossible to find, and we heard some noise from the reception (held in the pool area away from the main building) at 3 in the morning. It wasn't very loud, just loud enough to wake me up and keep me up for an hour or so. We just wished we had chosen another night to enjoy this parador and town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our family party of 4 stayed here at the end of July for 2 nights. This was our first time in a Parador. We had booked a superior room for ourselves and a standard room with young persons discount for our daughters. The Parador was a little tricky to fnd as our satnav wasn't clear and the signs in the town aren't brilliant. When we got to the access road the lane was blocked off with a barrier so we had to go round on the wrong side of the road. I thnk this may be because it is a dead end and quite narrow. We were able to park on the road outside as we didn't fancy paying 17 Eu per night.

The location is amazing - the hotel faces across the gorge to the beautful old town. It was a short walk across the ( scary ) bridge right into the heart of the old town. It was very peaceful. The pool area was across the road and was very nice with towels and sun loungers provided, and plenty of shade.

The service was generally good in reception and in the bar / restaurant. The public rooms are quite grand and very atmospheric. There is a lovely inner courtyard with a fountian where you can have drinks. The bar still has some of the convent's religious paintings on the wall. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had good and reasonably priced food and good service. The breakfast buffet ws excellent.

We were slightly disappointed with the rooms as they didn't appear to be quite the quality we would expect at this price. When we got into our supposedly superior room it was Ok but nothing special and faced an internal courtyard. The furniture was dark and traditional which suited the location but a lot of the wood was chipped and in poor condition. We checked w ith Reception whether we had got the room we had booked and it turned out she had given the keys the wrong way round so our daughters were in the better room.We didn't move because they had already unpacked. The rooms were virtually identical except for a glass door between the toilet and bath and a nice view across the gorge. However the air conditioning barely worked and when they kept the window open for a breexe at night they were kept awake by a noisy wedding party on the Friday night.

Cuenca is a lovely town and 2 nights gave us time to look round and explore at leisure. The Parador is very nice but the rooms should be better for the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilbao
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

A great experience. Beautiful place (even the rooms with no view). Great courtyard bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We just enjoyed our first stay in the Spanish Parador in Cuenca. The 2 hour drive from Valencia (in a rented Mini Cooper) was easy and delightful. Roads in Spain are newly paved and well marked.
The things we did right were choosing to stay here. The converted convent is like walking back in history. The rooms were large and very clean with modern bathrooms. The parador's location was perfect for exploring historic Cuenca. The pool offered a perfect respite during afternoon siesta when the town closed down. We also had a perfect scenic dinner at the Hanging House across the bridge. Had our friends not told us this house was also a restaurant we may have missed this once in a lifetime experience.
Two things we did wrong were; we paid 17 Euros to park in the garage when we could have simply parked on the street. (the front desk did not tell us this) Also, since we booked on www.booking.com our room faced the utility rooms at the back of the hotel. For an extra $100.00 we could have looked out at the beautiful mountains but we chose not to and were disappointed that they would not move us even when the hotel was not full. This was the most we spent on lodging during our entire trip ($190) for a room with no view. Our trip included 4 star hotels throughout Spain.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#9 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing