We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in the wrong place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Exe Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the wrong place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is not the place to stay unless you are on a business trip to the local industrial estate.The hotel is clean and the rooms are large. The location is on a garage forecourt, next to a drive through MacDonald s. There is no bar or restaurant and it is not close to any other bars or eating places. Most concerning were the fumes emanating from a local factory which seemed to be burning plastic waste each morning. The trip into the town center was about 15 minutes drive and again parking could be difficult. The staff did their best but clearly the hotel, which recently changed hands, needs a bit of hands on management to deliver a level of service which is acceptable to the average tourist.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, overlooking the football pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PensionerWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    224
    98
    17
    11
See reviews for
96
238
12
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hotel located away from the old city where the World Heritage sight is located on top of the hill overlooking the valley. Downtown is next to the old city. However there are convenient transport to the old city and downtown including buses.
Nice and big clean rooms. Good WIFI reception available.
Reception staff efficient and helpful in providing map and helpful info on Cuenca.
There is a shopping mall about 200 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very competent staff, clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast. But just ridiculous in this day and age to not offer wifi for free in the rooms. 12 euros per day for that service is nothing more than a rip-off. Also, highly inflated prices for Easter: >100 euros per night. I obviously chose to accept that price but it is on that basis I judge the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I'm hot and cold with this hotel. First off, they have a free mini bar and welcome drinks/snacks, which I like. There is free wifi, but only by the restaurant area. Other than that, this hotel is a real miss for me.

We had two rooms, one where the A/C was on full blast and constantly cold, while the other had very limited ventilation, if any at all. The room was very dated. TV must have been from the 70's. Remote control was not functional.

This place is bearable for one night, but there are a lot of hotels with character in Cuenca. Take the opportunity to stay in those ones rather than the forgettable AC Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The only thing we didn´t like much of our stay was to find out that the wifi service in the room should be paid. We were surprised that happens in a 4 star hotel when in more modest accomodations there was free of charge wifi available for customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

LOOKS nice, but boy are they cutting corners. They have shut off the air conditioning! Given that our windows overlook the parking lot of a gas station and an area where people go to smoke, leaving the window open is not a good solution for us. A Marriott properly without air conditioning should post that clearly on their web page. And since when do Marriott properties allow 30% of the rooms to be smoking? Given that this hotel is very far from the city center, the primary supposed advantages of staying here were what we assumed to be reliability of the Marriott brand. The free minibar is nice but does not make up for the very poor location and other shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrgpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed for one night after a mix up with our original hotel. The rooms were small, modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were professional and helpful. The location is fine as Cuenca is pretty small, but the immediate area lacked the charm of the historic portion of the town. The hotel shares a parking lot with a mcdonalds which makes finding parking tricky. no real complaints as the hotel was just fine, but as we had expected to stay at a charming local place the hotel felt very typical. I would recommend for business recommend to business travelers or those wanting a large chain hotel. Ac hotels are always good it just didn't have the uniqueness we like in hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.0 mi away
Hotel LB Villa De Cuenca
1.8 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Cuenca

Property: Hotel Exe Cuenca
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I s/n, 16004 Cuenca, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Cuenca by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most modern and quiet zones of the city, the Exe Cuenca hotel offers a friendly atmosphere, a minimalist decoration, four-star facilities, personalized service and excellent value for money. The Exe Cuenca hotel features 81 bedrooms for single, double or triple occupancy, two meeting rooms, bar-cafeteria and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Eurostars, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Exe Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing