We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mudgee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kurrara Cottages Retreat
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for the June long weekend in 2012. It was our first weekend away together. I chose it as a surprise for her and she couldn't have been happier! Set in farmland about 15 minutes out of town it is a great place to stay in winter, warm fire, misty mornings and close to wineries. The spa was the best one ever, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a 1 bedroom spa cottage for a long weekend getaway. The cottages are lovely, clean and comfortable and romantic. The spa is so relaxing, and the bathroom and kitchen are functional and spotless. We had such a nice time here, we saw a family of kangaroos hop by one afternoon whilst in the spa, had our breakfast on our private deck which gets the morning sun and also enjoyed cooking dinner on our own bbq one night. We also arranged the dinner package through Sean and Sandy to the Blue Wren (and the food and service was outstanding!) We loved our stay at Kurrara and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani12052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at Kurrara Cottage Retreat for the weekend arriving in Friday night and leaving on Monday.

The cottage we stayed in was a one bedroom with a spa. The cottage was well appointed with enough food for three breakfasts. In fact there was enough food for several breakfasts. The bed was comfortable and the spa was great.

The cottages are set overlooking a dam. Plenty of wildlife with birds and the occassional kangaroo. The area is very quiet and the garderns around the cottages are lovely. There are a heap of wineries with in a short driving distance of the cottages.

The hosts (Sean and Sandy) are very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this place and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Close to main wineries, but about 10 minutes drive to Mudgee
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
347 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Gumnut Cottage and found it a relaxing and delightful place to stay. The cottage has a lovely rural setting overlooking a dam, trees, meadows and some cows were nearby, all even visible from the spa. Inside , the cottage was well stocked with everything one could need. All we could hear were the birds and at night the stars are incredible.
Sean and Sandy were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with another couple and had a lovely time.
We were surprised when we arrived to find that all the cottages are right next to each other, however we didn't hear or see anyone the entire long weekend. It felt very private.
We loved all the personal touches. They had thought of everything to make our stay extra special: chocolates, tim tams, port, extra towels, toiletries, carton of milk, coffee. We weren't expecting this at all.
We all slept well on the comfy beds and pillows.
We enjoyed our time in the cottage and even opted to stay in and cook both nights rather than heading out.
We used the gas fire and the jacuzzi which were much appreciated.
We found the location great, considering that it's not in town. It's on a great side of Mudgee, amongst all the wineries making our touring around easy. The property was lovely and even though it was winter we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, in the sun, enjoying our breakfast and morning cuppa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom open plan cottage. This retreat offers B&B/personalised style of service. The hosts are warm and friendly and are dedicated to making your stay memorable.

The cottages are well set out and everything is thought of. As mentioned in previous reviews the cottages are fully self contained and although they are situated close to each other they still remain very private.

The cottages were exceptionally clean & tidy, and well equipped with quality towels and appliances (Avanti, Bodum etc). Extra towels and bathrobes were supplied. We were greeted with a bottles of champagne, chocolates and a personalised card apon arrival.

We ordered a picnic hamper for our first full day and was well worth the price as it simply including everything big and small from salt & pepper, antipasto, grapes, crackers, cheese, deli meats sald & dressing, rolls, muffins, napkins and even a decent rug!

The setting is simply beautiful, your own private verandah faces the great dividing range and rolling hills of the vineyards. Each cottage has its own covered parking with gorgeous cottage style gardens.

All the little extras are catered for, there is a log fire with firestarters and wood ready to go in the colder months. Candles, sexy movies and soft music for the more romantic types. Magazines and books if you just want to lay back and relax.

There is a detailed compendium to showcase all the area has to offer from wine & gourmet food to national parks and associated walking tracks. Dinner packages through local vineyards are on offer which include a lift to and from the vineyard to eliminate drink driving.

Enjoyed our stay very much. Highly recommend this retreat!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Kurrara Cottages are 6 self contained detached cottages set at the top of a very large lawn overlooking vinyards and a smal reservoir. The view from the patio is very pretty and the cottages are oriented so that they are in shade in the afternoon sun - a good spot to relax on a hot day. The location is also very quiet, and there are grounds to walk in and at dawn / dusk spot a bit of wildlife (we saw Roos, Rabbits and Foxes).

The cottage we stayed in (a double) was comfortable and well furnished - good beds, plenty of towels, a very large spa bath (could take 4 people), TV / DVD / Video / CD player, clean bathrooms, etc. The kitchen was functional, with electric hotplates (a bit weak), microwave, small fridge, sink and dishwasher - no oven. As per usual in this type of accomodation the cooking equipment is a bit basic. There's also a gas BBQ out back. No internet in cottage, but for those with 3G phones there surprisingly is some coverage even out here, and you can go to reception during working hours to access a connection.

A really nice location and good spot to relax in comfort.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ilkley Cottages
Ilkley Cottages
#7 of 21 in Mudgee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
0.8 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Cottages Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Cottages Retreat

Property: Kurrara Cottages Retreat
Address: Henry Lawson Drive, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Mudgee
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing