We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but excellent”
Review of The Wineglass

The Wineglass
Reserve with
The Wineglass is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: “We change our menu regularly” says Scott Tracey, owner and chef of the famous fully licensed “Wineglass Bar & Grill” – “Cooking only the freshest of local regional produce and taking advantage of the seasons.Our style is truly “Cuisine du Terroir”- local regional cooking at its best and we have an extensive selection of local wines to choose from.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Rustic but excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel reception. We both had plain bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. For mains we had the scotch fillet and filet, with beans. We drank a bottle of Stein 2010 Reserve Shiraz. Desert was Poached Rhubarb and Affogato with a glass of dessert wine - Stein Gold Harvest - GLS. An enjoyable meal and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Wineglass Bar & Grill. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals and some of Mudgee's finest wines! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Mudgee region. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    152
    53
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More attention to detail needed!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had lunch here today...my husband ordered a glass of sparkling wine - it arrived and I thought they'd made a mistake by pouring white wine in to a champagne glass - no, the sparkling wine was FLAT and they served it !!!
Also, their cheap lunch menu at $13 for a simple dish has now gone up to $14.95 - over priced for ordinary food albeit good - won't be going there again for a cheapie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chery1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Wineglass Bar & Grill. We apologise that the sparkling you were served seemed flat. We would have been happy to replace at the time for you if you felt it was inadequate. Our lunch prices had not been reviewed in over a year and we do try to keep them in line with other local businesses. Again, apologies for the flat sparkling. We hope you do try us again the next time you are visiting the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I were staying for the night in Mudgee and, as we had been to this restaurant before, decided to eat here again.

The food is very good indeed. We had 2 entrees (rather than an entree and main - the portions are country size here), a dessert and a cheese plate, with three glasses of wine each. I can't fault any of the food - beautifully cooked and well presented.

Total cost was $192, which is good value for what we got.

The service was good. There was a minor mixup with the wine to go with one of the courses, but this was easily fixed, and of little consequence.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterg1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that your dining experience was a good one and hope you enjoyed your stay in Mudgee. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the region! Thank you, The Wineglass Bar & Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent service.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant on 9 separate occasions and each time the food has been superb! Each mouthful you want to close your eyes and savour the flavour. I have made it my business to try a different meal each time and all meals have been delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you love visiting The Wineglass. We do try to offer a diverse range of dishes to suit all tastes, plus our daily specials offer great value for money meal and drink options. We have just launched our new cooler months lunch and dinner menu. Pop in and try it, its one of our best!! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went twice”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in Mudgee for 2 nights at the Cobb & Co so tried the restaurant on the night, superb.
Did not bother trying anywhere else the second night because it was so good.
lots of great places in Mudgee, this one needs to be rated at the very top.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMcd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel for your stay in Mudgee. We are thrilled that you loved your meal at The Wineglass Bar & Grill to come back again for a second time!! We change our menu regularly so should you choose to stay and dine with us again we hope we can offer you another local, fresh Mudgee meal!! Thanks again, the team at The Wineglass Bar & Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wineglass also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to The Wineglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing