We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top local produce and great cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wineglass

The Wineglass
Reserve with
The Wineglass is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: “We change our menu regularly” says Scott Tracey, owner and chef of the famous fully licensed “Wineglass Bar & Grill” – “Cooking only the freshest of local regional produce and taking advantage of the seasons.Our style is truly “Cuisine du Terroir”- local regional cooking at its best and we have an extensive selection of local wines to choose from.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
422 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“top local produce and great cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have now dined here perhaps ten times and have always been rewarded. Often regional cuisine is disappointing but the Wineglass is a real exception. They obviously utilize great local fresh produce and the kitchen does a great transformation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Landage W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Wineglass Bar & Grill. We pride ourselves on using the freshest of local Mudgee produce to support the local industry. We change our menu regularly to take advantage of the seasons and update our local wines lists accordingly to suit seasonal menu changes. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us on this and previous occasions. We would love to see you again on your next trip to Mudgee. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    143
    52
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Warm inside on a wintry night with excellent prawns, pork belly, duck and fillet steak. No room for what looked like great desserts. A bit pricey especially the wines but overall I recommend a visit to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OpaMarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Glad you loved your chosen dishes. Who could go past a great slow baked pork belly or confit of duck on a winters evening!! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Barramundi Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Atmosphere - busy for a Monday night
Historic feel with Cobb & Co decor.
Great fish (Barramundi Monday), excellent salad, not so hot chips.
Friendly service form wait staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VeroniqueM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Wineglass Bar & Grill. Glad you were able to enjoy our Barramundi Monday!! Hope to see you again on your next visit Mudgee. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been to this restaurant once before a few years ago. I went last weekend for dinner and was not impressed. I ordered the steak, way over priced and over cooked. 250g no way. The desert tasted like it was cooked last week. I felt tipped off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mako80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your meal. We would have been happy to assist you on the evening if you felt the meal was unsatisfactory. We hope that you do try The Wineglass restaurant again on your next visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The pork entree was absolutely amazing, best we've had.

Food was well portioned and place had a great atmosphere.

There was a little delay between entrees and mains, but they were very busy that night.

Overall we were happy with it and would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank TerriandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Wineglass, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you loved the slow baked pork entrée! Its a popular dish! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wineglass also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to The Wineglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing