We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mudgee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Caravan & Tourist Park
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly Park”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked two sites here for the Red Hot Summer concert. Location was fantastic and the facilities were clean and the staff very friendly. Close to Mudgee CBD and a lovely range of cafes. The walking path along the river is very relaxing. Thanks for a great stay, will return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M007J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
51
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are traveling in NSW, Australia, you know it isn't exactly for the budget minded. Luckily, the Australians have an alternative to traditional accomodations: the caravan park. On this trip, moving around the state, mostly for bird watching, we stayed in four caravan or holiday parks. If you live in the US, let me tell you that caravan means trailer. And if you are like me, you might be thinking, "Do I really want to stay in a trailer park?"

The Australians have a different way of looking at it and lots of budget travelers stay in these parks. In fact, many of them have cabins and its much like being in a small condo resort in the country. You can expect it to be clean and have cooking facilities. If you bring your own linen, you may pay 20% less. None of our caravan parks was less than good and all were very near where we wanted to be.

We stopped in Mudgee on our way between two outdoorsy birding locations, the Blue Mountains and the Warrumbungles. If you are reading this, you know that Mudgee is a well known wine district with several dozen cellar doors a short drive from town. It has also become known for upscale lodging and dining, as any successful wine district tends to do, be it in France, California or Oz. But just because you love wine doesn't mean you have to love paying $200 for a night's sleep.

For about $100 we were given a newer one bedroom trailer. The trailer was spotless and included everything we could hope for. We didn't find the heater until morning, but that was only because we didn't recognize it for what it was. Knowing we were interested in wildlife, the manager gave us a unit only one space away from the Cudgegong River. This is a stream so pretty it might break your heart. to our left was a large athletic field, little used during our stay. Across the stream were paddocks, with wine country in the fields and vineyards beyond.

The lady in the office thought we might see platypus in the stream at either dusk or dawn and gave me a few good spots to look for the little guys. We looked for over an hour at dusk. We met two young men from Dunnedoo who were working in Mudgee and fished the stream in the evening. And large fruit bats flew down the stream at dusk. But there were no platypus. Her admonition got me out walking the asphalt trail streamside in the early morning with a similarly disappointing result. ain't no platypus in the Cudgegong that day.

The park was only a few blocks from shopping and restaurants. It was so pleasant in the evening that we might have taken the walk even if we didn't need dinner. Our restaurant was a total winner, reviewed elsewhere.

The only problem we had was, that like the young man who perished in Into the wild, we didn't bring a map. Out there in the provinces, people are not necessarily conversant with routes to nearby towns. its perfectly obvious how to get to Mudgee from Sydney or Katoomba. If you are going further afield, bring your own maps.

We had a great day in Mudgee and the Riverside Caravan Park was a perfect place for us to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A very friendly place for a holiday stopover. Good clean amenities close to the centre of town.
Lovely walking path by the river. Friendly and very helpful owners who ensure that all our needs for a comfortable, happy stay were met. Will definitely return with the group of young people we holidayed with,some of whom had some disability, again.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane_Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaxland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife, eldest son and I are frequent stayers at Riverside with the propriters ensuring we are comfortable and leave happy. We stay here when we visit often to see our grand children and my son and wife. We find Riverside close to the Mudgee CBD as well as cafes,Club Mudgee, parks and a river walk. We find all at Riverside very friendly

Room Tip: Discuss your needs when booking your stay and you will be catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

so close to town we didn't need to use the car Rosie & John were looking after the park while the owners were away and they were great very friendly and helpful John led us to our site and showed us easiest way to get into the site - which power point- and tap to use all of which can sometimes take some working out specially after a long trip when your a bit brain dead. It was great not to have boom gate and amenities codes to remember. The site was clean quiet and well laid out. Would recommend it anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Just staying in Mudgee for 1 night we weren't looking for anything fancy.
Had no problem with the booking, unlike many places this one didn't require a 2 night stay, which is not always convenient.
Checked in fine. The cabin was nothing flash but had everything we needed for the night and the next morning. We took our own linen so that made it easier. We checked out at 8, I was surprised that there was someone in the office at the time.
I'd recommend this to anyone who is just after somewhere to sleep without all the unnecessary extras.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This Park is situated in the middle (two blocks from the main street) of town. It is definitely the one closest to Shopping, Eating and Drinking. It is small park with caravan sites and cabins. Very reasonably priced (May) and as I have already indicated, very close to all amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful and will provide linen (at a cost) if required. No negatives for us. As caravan parks go this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Mudgee Valley
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
1.0 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Caravan & Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Caravan & Tourist Park

Property: Riverside Caravan & Tourist Park
Address: 22 Short St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Mudgee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing