We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For something a little different & gourmet”
Review of Arbuckle's - CLOSED

Arbuckle's
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“For something a little different & gourmet”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was very refreshing for us. We are long time visitors to Mudgee (about 20 years) and often go to the same old same old, but today they were to crowded due to the markets and beginning of school holidays. Thank goodness! The food was delightful and the service bright and cheery. I had spiced pear pancakes for breakfast, that were divine, like having a healthy choice pancake meal. The small, extremely light, pancakes but were topped with ricotta and lazed in a beautiful pool of spiced pear juice (with the pears). The serving sized was plenty for breakfast and the aroma comforted you like lots of warm cuddles.
My husbands meal was just as great, he had the vegi revivour and loved it.
the atmosphere is a little bohemian cross vintage and is also different for Mudgee.
Good breakfast prices and very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    8
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Customer Service and gourmet delights delivered with passion”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The food and service at Arbuckle’s was simply brilliant where we enjoyed a regional gourmet experience.
On arrival we were greeted with great professionalism and made to feel welcome. We dined here at a very busy time and found the service to be very attentive without being obtrusive, whilst the front of house manager (Ruth) anticipates every need.
The menu selection was extensive and fulfilled all our needs including vegetarian alternatives. All meals were delivered with great attention to detail and care, it is obvious Arbuckle’s select their staff based on positive attitude and train them in the finer points of outstanding customer service.
At the end of service both Ruth and her Chef husband Peter took the time to talk with us about their culinary journeys over a glass of wine. The owners of Arbuckle’s take a great deal of pride in their business and are working to establish themselves at the leading edge of culinary delights in Mudgee.
We will definitely dine here again without any hesitation, a great regional restaurant well suited for all gourmands.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BFC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff and Management, fantastic meals with plenty of taste. This is a favourite of ours.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This establishment has plenty going for it. Sit back and be welcomed at the door by friendly smiling faces. They make you feel your an old friend dropping by for a chat. The music is great, the meals are delicious, great value too. Wines are perfect, coffee is one of the best in town, you are always greeted with a warm smile. We always feel so relaxed and welcome there. Just sit back and enjoy the atmosphere and have some patience when it,s busy. Visitors need just to kick back a bit and not be in so much of a rush, just enjoy the experience of what the country life is all about, enjoying life, not letting it rush by so fast that you don't really see what's in front of you. This is what a holiday is all about........So take my tip and visit Arbuckle's for a genuine friendly atmosphere, relax and enjoy it like we do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Would not go back at all...”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visited this place for breakfast as 2 other competing places were full. On giving it a go, we probably should have waited for a table at one of the other restaurants.
The service was really poor, took ages to take our order along with stating that there was no all day brunch menu available, so why hand it to us then. The guy taking the orders was quite rude to and some of us commented should we just leave now.
The meals were ok but nothing to write home about... The coffee was forgotten for half of the table and just as we were about to finish our breakfasts they said would you like some water for the table.
The ones who missed out on coffee ended up going across the road to another place to get coffee and were salivating at the food coming out, wishing we had ate there instead.
Probably give this place a miss, would not recommend to go there....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Winter Evening”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We took a friend to this quirky little restaurant that is in our town. It was a great evening. The host/s are engaging with all guests, and clearly love their work. The food is excellent and varied - showing off the best of local produce and wines. The quality and experience reminds us some of the great restaurants we have visited on our regular trips to southern France. Its one of the best restaurants we have been to, and we are lucky that its local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arbuckle's also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing