We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evanslea Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evanslea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 27 Mudgee B&B and Inns
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The owners of Evanslea Bed & Breakfast, Vicki & Andrew, take a personal interest in each guest. From the time we arrived to when we left, it felt like we had known them forever. Our cottage was set amongst the beautiful gardens overlooking a lake and tennis court. I particually loved the little touches in our cottage, the fire and spa.
There is a river running at the bottom of the property where we sat late in the afternoon with a bottle of Mudgee wine, cheese and olives, we even saw a Platypus.
Our breakfast was outstanding, together with a very relaxed atmosphere.
We will definitely be returning to this very special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

After arriving on a Friday night from Sydney, Vicki and Andrew made us feel more than welcome in their beautifully appointed home.
After waking up on saturday morning we were introduced to the beautiful animals, the very friendly dogs, playful cats, the birds and who could forget the beautiful joeys. Who we were able to feed and cuddle. The cute animals gave the home stead a very warm and welcoming vibe.
After a beautiful home made breakfast we were given directions to the historical town of Gulgong which was a very pleasant picturesque half hour drive from Evanslea, and was a great little place to explore with a historical pioneer museum and a massive variety store. From there we were directed to a winery for lunch which was near the airport and made great wildfired pizzas. We then retired back to Evanslea and relaxed by the pool, followed by a stroll down to the river.
After such a big day, we had dinner in town at a restaurant named "Elton's" which was absolutely beautiful, because they use local produce.
We slept beautifully on Saturday night, but before we left on sunday morning, we felt a visit to a winery was in order so we were given directions to a local wine maker where we purchased some very nice wines.
We then had a very relaxing drive back to Sydney.
We had an amazing weekend in mudgee thanks to Vicki an Andrews great local knowledge, they made us feel more than welcome in their home, and our experience is testimanat to what Vicki and Andrew have created and I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasPeter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at Evanslea for a weekend getaway from Sydney, arriving late on a Friday night. Vicky and Andrew were welcoming and so pleasant. The next day we woke up to chirping birds and stunning garden surrounds. Evanslea's characteristic and comfortable accommodation was very enjoyable and we left feeling very relaxed. Highly recommended B&B.
(Vicky's home made fruit desserts were amazing!)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyRoseMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good 1 roomed cottage type accommodation with all necessary comforts, in attractive and well maintained gardens. A pleasant stroll away from bars/ cafes/ restaurants in town. The gourmet breakfasts were a treat and you really don't want to be a hurry in order to enjoy them.
Lots of dogs/ cats around the main house - asthma sufferers beware.
Lots of wildlife noises at night were fun but may keep light sleepers awake.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I don't usually write these, but read them a lot! After our stay at Evanslea I knew I had to recommend them, so here goes: "Evanslea is absolutely stunning. Vicky and Andrew are the perfect hosts and make you feel right at home the minute you drive up the driveway. Cannot recommend it enough - book now! Once you're there, hire some bikes to go pass all the wineries, they are really close!"

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Wonderful country B&B, amazing scenery; beautiful food; well appointed rooms with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenelsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

On previous weekend wine-tasting trips to Mudgee, I had stayed at Puddleduck which is no longer around. Looking for something as good as Puddleduck or better, I found Evanslea on the internet. I rang and spoke with Vicki who was very helpful and welcoming when she took our booking.

We stayed in the loft room for three nights and had a great stay. Vicki's breakfasts were unbelievably good and she easily catered for a gluten-free diet.

We couldn't believe that Evanslea was so close to town and yet it was so quiet and on such a large property, hidden back from the main street. Even though we visit Mudgee for the vineyards and some shopping, we could have been content just staying in our room for three days - it was so comfortable and had everything we wanted.

The place was incredibly relaxing with the great setting, the view from our balcony, the peaceful surroundings. We noticed a lot of attention to detail at Evanslea, almost as if anything that any guest has ever asked for becomes the new standard of service for Andrew and Vicki.

We found Evanslea a great place to stay for a luxurious, lazy long weekend in Mudgee.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.8 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
7.3 mi away
Ilkley Cottages
Ilkley Cottages
#7 of 19 in Mudgee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evanslea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evanslea Bed & Breakfast

Property: Evanslea Bed & Breakfast
Address: 146 Market St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Evanslea Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Evanslea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing