We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mudgee's Getaway Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mudgee's Getaway Cottages
Ranked #4 of 27 Mudgee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A group of six of us stayed at Getaway Cottage for four nights and couldn't have found anywhere better. Everything you could possibly need, and more food and juice than we needed. Highlight was going to the garden and collecting fresh vegetables for dinner, lettuce for sandwiches, spring onions to go with the lovely eggs for breakfast. Five minute stroll into town. Brilliant wineries, cheese factory and honey shop. Great place for a break from the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyLyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Getaway Cottages is made up of several different properties set in a large amount of shared land so there is plenty of space for children to play outside. All the properties are within 10-15 minutes easy walk of anywhere in town.

We stayed at Bloome Cottage which has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is a reasonably sized house which is comfortable if a little old fashioned decor-wise. There is ample heating including both reverse cycle split systems in the lounge and all bedrooms and floor heating in the bedrooms. This cottage would suit a small family or group of friends but the style and age of the decor would probably not suit a couple on a romantic weekend.

The real standout feature of this property was how well stocked it was with food. There were enough provisions in the fridge for cooked breakfasts for 3 adults for 3 days and as the owner also owns fruit juice businesses there is lots of juice as well. We also had access to cherry tomatoes growing in the vege gardens on the property. The only downside was there was no exhaust fan n the kitchen so cooking smells can linger.

You may be able to find a family room in a motel for a better price but you won't get the same amount of space and you'll have to buy breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escoteric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great location with a 5 minute walk on the flat to town.

We spent new year with a "mob" of 12 friends (6 couples) at the new "manor" house. It has six bedrooms each with an ensuite. Absolutely everything is supplied, down to the beach towels and sunscreen. The only problem with this house is, that it traps you into not wanting to go out and explore past the swimming pool. From the pool and BBQ area there is a lovely view over rolling lawns to the river and distant hills. Ducted aircon made the house superbly comfortable. There are 2 large lounge areas and a dining room seating 12 without a squeeze. Every living space and even the garden has a toilet, (spoilt for choice!)

This place is definitely a "party" house complete with piano. The kitchen is a caterer's delight. It is big and generous. We reached the "too many cooks in the kitchen" stage at around 6 cooks. There are enough cooking utensils, cutlery and crockery to supply an army.

The building is a restored old home with a huge modern wing built on the back. The front 4 bedrooms may not be to your taste if you don't like "old world", such as 4 poster beds and dark rooms. One bedroom is a twin room and this room caused some contention because it has a mini museum in it that was viewed by us as a bit unwanted and weird in a bedroom. If you don't like this type of personal taste indulgence in accommodation this could cause an issue. However, if you are a history buff you will love it.

Room Tip: To be fair, allocate the twin room with mini museum before leaving home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WollongongSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We were looking for a holiday away from Sydney over the Xmas period and wanted to combine an experience which was good for our 2 kids aged 1 & 3, with a decent break for we parents as well. Mudgee was a fantastic destination, as the 3 hours from Sydney with kids in the car wasn't too terrible and the scenery was stunning.
The Getwaway cottages were extremely conveniently located, just 5 minutes walk from town, so you could find some really good places to eat, but the huge gardens made you feel that you were getting away from the hustle and bustle. Our children loved all the toys in the garden, such as the swingball, plus it was great picking our own vegetables for dinner. We were delighted with the great selection of free juices in the fridge, as well as the freezer full of sausages and bacon. We stayed in the Garden cottage and although the lounge was a little bit small, the cottage was really clean and the owners ensured we had everything we needed over the festive period.
I would highly recommend this place to any parents who want to sip some local wine, whilst watching their kids tire themselves out in the beautiful gardens!

Room Tip: Cottages back on to a beautiful river garden, with animals and extensive vegetable patches. Garden C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doris_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Have just returned from a group weekend at the Getaway Cottage. It is everything it promises and more; shampoo and conditioner, ample breakfast.
After lots of rain the grounds were soggy in places, so gumboots for the kids recommended.
It was an easy walk in to town.
Be warned, though, the donkey is nothing short of surly!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looksat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Four of us stayed in the Farm House -- one of Getaway's six cottages. The cottages don't look much from the street and we were a little skeptical at first, but after checking-in we were very quickly convinced that we'd found a real gem. The Farm House is beautfully renovated and has all the domestic conveniences that you might find in your own home, including a washing machine, drier, barbecue, good coffee, muesli, electric blankets, sound system, and so on, and so on. The huge verandah overlooks a small farm from which you receive your daily eggs for breakfast. I guess it depends on your circumstances and what rate you pay, but we thought it was just fantastic. We extended our stay an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogDog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed in Bloome Cottage in May 2012 for one night – had the option of 2, but did not want to stay past 1. This cottage is one of approximately 6 cottages that make up this business, all within close proximity to each other and linked by a common grassed area at the back with various activities. The cottage was very clean and had everything we could need. Breakfast was included and in abundance. However, the cottage was not to our taste (in my hubby’s words, it was like visiting Grandma’s house). It was extremely good value though, and it would be an ideal location for a large family or two small families/a number of couples to stay without blowing the budget. With regard to their advertised activities (not that these were a drawcard for us, but may well be for others): Not the right time of year for ‘pick your own veges’, and while our bub loved the chooks, the emu was questionable in nature, the goat kept making running head-buts at the gate and the donkey was plain nasty (bitey little bugger). We have our own farm with animal menagerie, and I am concerned the animals require much more discipline and training before being advertised as a kid’s attraction. It’s not advertised as a petting zoo as such, but it is called a ‘Children’s Animal Farm’ and the height of the fence does not prevent these animals getting to the kids. Overall, for us, this was an average experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.6 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
0.5 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
0.5 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#3 of 10 in Mudgee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mudgee's Getaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudgee's Getaway Cottages

Property: Mudgee's Getaway Cottages
Address: 42 Mortimer St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mudgee's Getaway Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getaway cottage offers expansive views of the Mudgee Valley, manicured lawns flow from your back door, meandering through acres of flower and vegetable gardens, down to the banks of the Cudgegong River. One king, 2 queen, and a twin, sleeps 8 comfortably. There are 2 bathrooms, one with full length bath, and a 3rd toilet at the end of the hall. A large comfortable lounge room with TV, etc. and dining table seats up to 8. From the kitchen and dining areas are lovely views over the property and from the back door you step onto an all weather BBQ area with plenty of outdoor furniture. Farm animals come to greet you and say hello, resident native birds also offer their welcoming calls. The cottage is self-care, exclusively yours and with everything provided all you need to bring are your personal items. The bonus! It's right in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mudgee's Getaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing