We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valleydene(Yetholm)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Station Hotel(Melrose)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (456)
    Filter reviews
    456 results
    Traveller rating
    286
    96
    42
    22
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    286
    96
    42
    22
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsafternoon teaclay pigeon shootingfour poster bedjunior suitedining experiencedrawing roomlog firehotel groundsvery attentive stafffirst classcountry house hotelbeautiful surroundingslambnight breaksconesdining roomhigh standard
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    252 - 257 of 456 reviews
    Reviewed 22 November 2013

    I'm a fussy so and so and seldom wax lyrical about an hotel, for this one I will make an exception, its outstanding!

    We stayed for just the one night on our way further north and did have the Duke's Suite which is something else. We were treated like well respected guests from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everyone we interacted with were nothing short of exceptional.

    The measure of customer service is not how good it is when things are going right but the reaction when things go wrong. The central heating in the Duke's was on the fritz, two radiators simply refusing to get hot BUT secondary electric radiators were already in place when we arrived so the rooms were toasty warm, needed in late November. Robyn (front of house) explained the problem and apologized but had no need so to do as the problem had already been overcome, now that is good customer service.

    Afternoon tea was excellent and the evening meal first rate, perhaps not Michelin standard but then, they don't say it is. Breakfast was fine and the only disappointment was the brevity of our stay.

    I am already looking for an excuse to come up to Scotland again so I can break the journey at The Roxburghe once more, next time for more than just one night.

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank FoodieOswestry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

    It was a delight to read your positive review following your recent stay with us here at The Roxburghe. We do feel that it is vitally important to provide our guests with a high standard of personal service and make our guests feel important – because they are.

    I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience in addition to your dinner in the evening. I will pass on your comments to the team here and sincerely hope that it will not be too long before you make a return trip to the Borders and to The Roxburghe.

    Kind regards,

    Duncan Evans
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 November 2013

    Stayed at this hotel in November 2013. Great hotel with lovely rooms. For romantic weekend book the first floor corner room with 4 poster bed. Great surroundings and lovely bar with open fire to relax by. Choice of over 106 Scottish whiskies and also Japanese and welsh whiskies. Great breakfast with Stornaway black pudding. Staff are really friendly.

    Room Tip: Choose first floor corner room with 4 poster bed.
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank OracLondon_UK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us here at the Hotel.

    I am so glad you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and in particular the wide choice of whiskies on offer. I do hope you will return at some time in the future to carry on your tasting experience.

    Kind regards,

    Duncan Evans
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 November 2013

    sadly we were only booked in for one night as we could easily have stayed longer. Very relaxed atmospher , staff helpful especially Robyn on reception. Public rooms very cosy and bedroom nicely furnished in a country house hotel feel. Breakfast was very good. It was fairly quiet but that only added to the charm.

    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jackspur
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed everything about your ‘Roxburghe’ experience and will certainly pass on your comments to our staff, especially Robyn.

    I do hope you come back to see us again soon and that on your next visit you will be able to stay a little longer.

    Kind regards,

    Duncan Evans
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 October 2013

    Took my mum to the Roxburgh for a afternoon tea at the end of August. I had a two for one offer with the Roxburgh card and it was amazing! Service, food, surroundings, all amazing, will definitely go back.

    Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    Thank Linglie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

    I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the whole afternoon tea experience, including the surroundings. We here at the hotel are always happy to hear that our guests will be returning and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
    Kind regards,

    Duncan Evans
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 October 2013

    We have just returned from a four night stay at The Roxburghe and we were delighted with the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to do as much for you as they possibly could. The rooms were comfortable and warm and had all you needed in the way of a good supply of bottled water in the bedroom and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Do think that the carpet in our bedroom could do with a clean, beige as said before, is not a good colour in rooms that are used a lot.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Daphne M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

    I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for the comments made about your recent stay with us here at the Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

    I am so glad to hear that you found our rooms provided everything you needed. We do endeavour to ensure that our guests have every comfort. With regard to the carpet in your room, we do have in place an on-going schedule of carpet cleaning so you can be assured that this will be remedied.
    I am delighted to hear that you found our staff gave you a friendly, warm service which is something we always strive to provide. Many thanks for taking the time to place your review and I hope you will make a return visit in the near future.

    Kind regards,

    Duncan Evans
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews