We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location, castle and surroundings are beautiful and so quiet. Our very small Classic room nr 6 in the main building was rather disappointing and spartan, as was the bathroom. We could hardly open the unique small window. Bedding is fantastic though. Doors are making some noise. This could be convenient for one night but no more.
Serving staff was helpful and friendly. Food quality evening meals was definitely not 5 star quality. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid Classic rooms, preferably choose Deluxe rooms.Most certainly worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annv712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

A lovely small castle hotel near Kelso , easy to find on GPS , it is set next to a parkland golf course and with very old trees in front of the hotel entrance , the old wooden interior with open fire makes it a very pleasant stay , great to spend some time in the library , excellent food in the restaurant .One negative point was that they promise complimentary internet everywhere but the signal was almost zero , so no finally internet was provided , the only answer was ,” oh, it must work “ we did not made a big point out of it but other guests did,

Our room was in the courtyard beside the fact that we had asked in the main building and it was a bit a disappointment, very small room and no space for leaving the luggage ,we had to carry the heavy bags yourself inside from the parking area, the television was in the side part from closet and could only be viewed with moving a sliding panel away and out and only when the closed was shut ,to get in to the closed , one have to push the television back inside and so on , very bad design and doors are making a lot of noise , bath foucet did not work , so no hot water , at this price level we expected something better .
We received from the hotel a complimentary voucher for the Floors castle nearby, thanks for this, in general we really enjoyed that visit but improvement as to be done,

Room Tip: insist not to stay ion the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Receptionist was not friendly and gave a bad feeling to the place immediately upon arrival. Not near the reception we received in other hotels. Tea took 30 minutes before being served after ordering and our dinner reservation was upon us. Then we were not seated for an 8:15 dinner until 9:05
Dinner was expensive and fair at best.
Would never return for the five star price and zero star service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EarlMargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Roxburghe is a lovely , well appointed building with welcoming public spaces in very pleasant grounds. We have stayed a few times as it has a warm welcome , a super library bar and good food with kennels for the dogs . Rooms in the main house are very traditional with attractive and spacious suites available . The Courtyard rooms have a more contemporary feel although some are a bit tight for space particularly if you want to have your dogs in the room .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Design2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for one night and had a lovely room with a split lovely bathroom with twin basins which was unusual and made it feel special. Very comfortable and huge bed despite being 2 singles together and lovely light room overlooking the grounds.

Drinks in the drawing room were nice and relaxing as set in lovely grounds. We ate in the restaurant but found the menu to be over fussy for our liking and whilst the staff were attentive and professional the white gloves for service were just a little OTT for our relaxing break. Breakfast however was more casual and lovely local produce served.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This had the wow factor with an open fire in reception and other public rooms. We received an extremely warm welcome from Sarah on reception, who then showed us to our room. We ate in the restaurant both evenings, the meals were delicious and the service excellent and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
We had a pleasant walk around the grounds. They have a fantastic golf course and having fishing facilities.
Breakfast was really good fruit, cereal, natural yogurt, hot toast and local preserves. Good choice of hot options.
Ideal for a peaceful and relaxing break, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Friends have praised this hotel having spent Christmas breaks there. We had a night on our way home south and were, in part, disappointed. Staff and welcome could not have been more charming and genuine. Our room, in the courtyard was a great disappointment however. At their prices, the room did not come up to standards we expected. It was so cramped that in the bedroom area the only arm chair could not have been moved or placed any where else and it was jammed in a corner facing the bed. The space between the 'wardrobe' fitment was so narrow that only one person could pass by it and the end of the bed. The 'wardrobe' housed the television which could only just be viewed by both of us when in bed and the hospitality tray on a sliding shelf had difficulty in being slid out because the 'wardrobe' doors did not give any space. The room, being on the ground floor was very open to passers by and fellow guests' noise was very noticeable, and not of their own fault but of the design of the rooms. The bathroom was so small that the door could not open without the bath mat being pushed away. during the night the towel rail 'bubbled' and there was not valve to turn to stop the noise. Having said all that the food was good and the staff were delightful, especially the young girls serving in the library on our arrival. The public areas are beautifully appointed and the grounds, as one would expect, very special .

Room Tip: Demand a room any where but the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHHAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
3.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
337 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
210 reviews
3.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
158 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Price Range: £165 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course Kelso/Heiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing