We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Location and appearance of hotel first class. However when I ordered Kippers and poached egg from the menu for breakfast and served capers and poached egg and the chef and waiter did not think this strange I wonder! I then found out another guest was served porridge bacon and egg all on the same plate clearly something wrong with the 5 star rating, A bit disappointed as had read the reviews but not up to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimpsonDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nothing new, it's all been touched upon in previous reviews. The course was really good, scenic and well maintained parkland, up there with Ladybank, Rosemount and the Kings, quite long at 7110 yes. As for the hotel, it enjoys a great location and apart from one frosty receptionist, the front of house staff were excellent. Breakfast was very good as we're the two bar meals we had in lieu of dinner. The room was perhaps too well furnished for its size, the handle detached from the bathroom door and the latter squeaked BUT there was no toilet roll holder! These were housed in a basket adjacent to your right foot and took delight in escaping like demented one way yo-yos each time you grabbed an end - invariably into the nearest wet footprint. £1,100 for 3nights, 2 rounds of golf, 2 spa treatments, 2bar meals and wine. Lovely hotel lacking everyday maintenance - eg external wall of the orangery

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Golf Course is well conditioned and very memorable! Some wonderful views of the Scottish borders. We even saw the Duke of Roxburgh! One of the best courses in the borders! If you are in the area go play it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for three nights and played three rounds, the golf course is probably the best parkland coast I have ever played.... Great breakfast, excellent restaurant... Location superb..recomended to visit. The service on the resort is first class.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms bigger than the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location, castle and surroundings are beautiful and so quiet. Our very small Classic room nr 6 in the main building was rather disappointing and spartan, as was the bathroom. We could hardly open the unique small window. Bedding is fantastic though. Doors are making some noise. This could be convenient for one night but no more.
Serving staff was helpful and friendly. Food quality evening meals was definitely not 5 star quality. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid Classic rooms, preferably choose Deluxe rooms.Most certainly worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annv712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A lovely small castle hotel near Kelso , easy to find on GPS , it is set next to a parkland golf course and with very old trees in front of the hotel entrance , the old wooden interior with open fire makes it a very pleasant stay , great to spend some time in the library , excellent food in the restaurant .One negative point was that they promise complimentary internet everywhere but the signal was almost zero , so no finally internet was provided , the only answer was ,” oh, it must work “ we did not made a big point out of it but other guests did,

Our room was in the courtyard beside the fact that we had asked in the main building and it was a bit a disappointment, very small room and no space for leaving the luggage ,we had to carry the heavy bags yourself inside from the parking area, the television was in the side part from closet and could only be viewed with moving a sliding panel away and out and only when the closed was shut ,to get in to the closed , one have to push the television back inside and so on , very bad design and doors are making a lot of noise , bath foucet did not work , so no hot water , at this price level we expected something better .
We received from the hotel a complimentary voucher for the Floors castle nearby, thanks for this, in general we really enjoyed that visit but improvement as to be done,

Room Tip: insist not to stay ion the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Receptionist was not friendly and gave a bad feeling to the place immediately upon arrival. Not near the reception we received in other hotels. Tea took 30 minutes before being served after ordering and our dinner reservation was upon us. Then we were not seated for an 8:15 dinner until 9:05
Dinner was expensive and fair at best.
Would never return for the five star price and zero star service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EarlMargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
3.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
381 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
337 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
210 reviews
3.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
158 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Price Range: £165 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course Kelso/Heiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing