We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, stunning”
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, stunning”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The area is stunningly beautiful. We unfortunately only stayed for 1 night but saw about 12 bears, some of them cubs. We cannot praise the food and service too highly. The staff go way beyond what is expected of them to make your stay memorable. We fully agree with one previous reviewer that this is not just a bear viewing expedition but a lifetime experience. The cost is fairly high but worth every penny or cent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearlovertara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
216
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place is amazingly beautiful, You need to allow your self enough time to see the bears, one day is not enough. The food, service, rooms are all fantastic. The staff go far above of what is expected of them to make your stay great. This is not just a bear viewing expedition its a lifetime experience and well worth the money. Above all we got to see the bears, eagles, otters (now my most favorite animal), deer, slugs, seals, and salmon. And all this is packed in to beautiful scenery. If Knights inlet wasnt so far from Australia we would be back tommorrow.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rottweilerQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in Sept. Had lovely cabin in very private part of lodge with its own stove and comfy chairs looking out over inlet. A couple of black bears were seen on the rocks 20 ft from our room. Trips out can be tiring and cold! Great food and unending goodies make up for it on your return to lodge. Float plane arrival is amazing although we did not particularly enjoy the enforced stay at Herons Landing, Campbell river first - this is part of the package,and we left constructive criticism for the lodge to follow up - which I am sure they will do. Lots of people seemed to fly in and out to lodge for just a couple of nights or even less. You will see bears in this time but miss so much that the place offers, in particular chance to soak up the sheer remoteness and scenery. If you love wildlife and remote places you will love Knight Inlet. It is a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquila.ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,848 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,218 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Accommodations here are just a small part of the total Knight Inlet Lodge experience, which focuses on outdoor and wildlife activities. Until recently another lodge went by the same name and thus some reviews here actually refer to the now-named Salicone Lodge, which is land based rather than the Knight Inlet Lodge, which is on the water and known as a floating lodge.

The rooms at Knight Inlet Lodge are rustic but comfortable with some facing the water and mountains. Ours, which held two double beds, was on the second floor and faced the forest. We found the beds to be rather soft but acceptable for one night, which is all we stayed. The small bathroom held a shower (no tub) with a door that was difficult to close when inside. It took a long time for hot water to arrive. The lodge provides drinking water in the room as the running water should not be used for drinking or brushing teeth. A common sitting room on the first floor offered room residents in our small building a place to relax with a sofa and arm chairs, fireplace and water view. The available lighting, however, seemed insufficient for reading after dark.

Coffee, tea, drinking water, a variety of sodas and snacks remain available in the dining room at all times. All our meals were excellent. The breakfast buffet included eggs, bacon, pancakes, scones, toast, yogurt, etc. Lunch consisted of build-your-own hamburgers, bratwurst, French fries and salads. Before dinner we had Dungeness crab legs, caught just hours before. The main course was fresh grilled halibut and fried chicken. White and red wine were included with the meal. Other alcoholic drinks could be purchased at the bar.

Our two-night package included a first-night stay at Heron's Landing in Campbell River and a 25-minute flight by float plane the next morning to the lodge. We thought the float plane flight was terrific fun and very much a part of the lodge experience. The seat next to the pilot is open to the first person who sits there and I had that wonderful position on the return flight.

All the lodge staff were upbeat, friendly, helpful, professional and determined to ensure that guests enjoyed themselves. Activities were nonstop throughout the day. Shortly after arriving at the lodge, we got on a boat for a tour of the estuary, where we saw many bald eagles, seals and a big black bear. After lunch, we spent two hours at a bear-viewing stand and watched seven grizzlies, including two cubs, fish successfully for pink salmon. Later, we got on a speedboat and saw much more of the area, including waterfalls and a glacier. After dinner, there was the opportunity to attend an interpretive talk. In the morning, we went kayaking before boarding the float plane. The lodge provides binoculars and wet weather clothing, including boots.

As others have mentioned, a lodge package is expensive. That's why we opted to stay for just one night there and gamble that we would see grizzlies, our main reason for coming. We had good weather and good luck. For those who want to bypass a float plane flight, forego many outdoor activities and not stay overnight at a lodge located in Knight Inlet, thus spending less money, Tide Rip Grizzly Tours offers a day tour out of Telegraph Cove to Knight Inlet. I took that tour in June 2008 and was quite satisfied. In the fall, Tide Rip uses one of the same bear viewing stands as Knight Inlet Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights towards end July 2009. No regrets. We regard the visit as a once in a lifetime opportunity - if you like wildlife and the great outdoors this is for you. The whole set up works - staff, location, transport, kit and for us - the animals. We saw bears, dolphins, otters, bald eagles, deer, seals...We kayaked around the lake and went into the forest (not looking to meet up with a bear but with their tracks etc). There are reports that at the beginning of the season the bears were late showing but in July we had no problems. I think if you are planning to come to this part of the world and can afford it you would be wrong not to book ahead and visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban SA / Berkshire , UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Our adventure started with a bumpy flight on the sea plane from Campbell River to the Knight Inlet, which unfortunately distracted us from the stunning views out of the window. On arrival we were shown to our comfortable rooms right next to the hot tub, which the children really enjoyed. After a snack and a briefing we headed straight out on the boat to view the grizzlies grazing on sedge a short distance from the floating lodge. Amazing to be so close to them! After a good lunch we did a scenic tour of the inlet which was filled with spectacular waterfalls and rainbows! On return we were treated to absolutely wonderful fresh prawns - we gorged ourselves while we watched the sun set with G&Ts! The next morning at 6am we set off to view the Orcas. On our way out we were accompanies by an enormous number of white rimmed pacific dolphins spinning out of the water next to the boat. On arrival at the Johnstone Strait we immediately saw a family of about 13 Orcas who were asleep and therefore rythmically coming up and down and blowing for air - we were mesmorised! We then headed to a small island for lunch and then to an interesting whale museum at Telegraph Cove, then back to Johnstone Strait. By now the Orcas were fully awake and engaged in tail slapping and breaching. We lowered a microphone into the water and heard them singing - goosebumps all round! That evening we enjoyed fresh crab as our sundowner - DIVINE! A black bear ambled past the children on the shore as they were fishing from the pontoon! The next morning we were up early at the viewing platform where we saw no fewer than 12 grizzlies including 3 cubs. One bear was fishing for salmon and dived and swam for over 15m - see picture! Amazing stuff! A BBC film crew were filming the salmon run - so make sure you watch this amazing phenomenon when it is on TV at this exact location. The next day we went bear tracking - except that the bear tracked us - in that as we tried to moor our boat a black bear was standing at the exact spot where we would have landed. Later on into the walk we approached a loud waterful and startled another black bear who was fishing and had not heard us approach due to the loud water! We also saw and heard loads of eagles and saw Sika deer. Darryl and AJ were fantastic with the children and great company and very informative. the evening talks by the guides on their activities outside of guiding at the Knight Inlet were also very interesting. Only one word of advice - even though it is expensive it is worth every penny and you MUST book 4 days or more!

  • Liked — Thewildlife!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We had travelled from Calgary by train through the rocky mountains and onto Vancouver for 2 nights before heading up to Campbell river where we had one nights stay at the Heron landing lodge prior to the trip into Knight inlet . The journey starts in the morning around 9am when you are taken from the lodge and transferred to the small float plane and met by friendly staff .. The plane journey itself is an experience , the weather was quite rainy and cloudy for us but still the scenery looked amazing and the excitement starts building as soon as you are on board the plane and you may even spot a bear below in the woods whilst flying across the many inlets .
On arrival you are met by the staff and the two resident dogs who live on the lodge all year round , the staff wasted no time in getting us checked in and made to feel at home. After a quick welcome meeting we were on our way out onto the small boats and heading along the estuary sighting for wildlife , within around 15 minutes we had seen our first bear , the bear was female and looked small/ medium sized from a distance but as it got closer you soon realise that these are very large animals packed with power . She swam alongside our boat for around 5 minutes without even acknowledging we were there until the water got too shallow and we had to turn back.
After a wonderful lunch we were back out and headed to the viewing stands were we were lucky to see another 5 or 6 bears including a mother and 2 cubs .
The first day just flew past and after an excellent meal we had one of the guides present a presentation on dog sledging which was very interesting ,the nightly presentations from the guides were very interesting and you could tell the guides had a real passion for there subjects . The second day we went on a rainforest hike and a bear tracking tour followed by more bear viewing at the stand and a very close encounter with a mother grizzly and cubs . All in all the trip to knight inlet (Grizzlytours.com) was the highlight of our trip to Canada with amazing natural scenery ,other nice guests from around the world , wonderful food and all the staff especially Bob and Geoff

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dougie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
275 reviews
13.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
815 reviews
12.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
516 reviews
15.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing