We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most scenic and quiet place in the world”
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
weston-super-mare england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the most scenic and quiet place in the world”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

float plane to the floating hotel.1st class food.thoroughly organised for tours out to see bears, orcas etc. helpful,professional and fabulous guides. night skies to die for.stars galore.brilliant experience.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisbreddy428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
204
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was our 2nd stay , the first was for 1 night 3 years ago, we always knew we would return. This time we were at the lodge for 2 nights and 1 night at Heron's landing as before. Heron's landing was a large suite with full kitchen - more than we needed for 1 night and very comfortable.
Knight's Inlet was superb from the fabulous floatplane flight (one of us had the co-pilot seat) , comfortable but sparse rooms (you don't spend much time in the room due to the pace of the activities), wonderful food by the resident chefs includes all meals and permanently availbale snacks.
The real reason for visiting is the wildlife and scenery, we saw a total of 25 bears both Grizzly and Black. The grizzlies were very animated as they fished for salmon and a mother with cubs fought off another female who got too close. Another huge bear performed the classic back rubbbing behaviour on a scratching tree , you wouldl normally have to watch a David Attenborough documentary to see the bears like this.We also had a single black bear wander along the rocky shoreline next to the lodge.
Other sights were the otters, eagles and walks through the rainforest.
The guides are enthusiastic, Kevin was a great entertainer and we had the privilege of meeting Robert (Bob) Scriber author of 'Season of the Grizzly' whose knowledge of th grizzlies is immense, bizarrely his book was not for sale in the lodge shop (open 30 minues a day) but was available at the floatplane booking office.
On of the best 2 days we have spent in our lives.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The area is stunningly beautiful. We unfortunately only stayed for 1 night but saw about 12 bears, some of them cubs. We cannot praise the food and service too highly. The staff go way beyond what is expected of them to make your stay memorable. We fully agree with one previous reviewer that this is not just a bear viewing expedition but a lifetime experience. The cost is fairly high but worth every penny or cent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearlovertara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place is amazingly beautiful, You need to allow your self enough time to see the bears, one day is not enough. The food, service, rooms are all fantastic. The staff go far above of what is expected of them to make your stay great. This is not just a bear viewing expedition its a lifetime experience and well worth the money. Above all we got to see the bears, eagles, otters (now my most favorite animal), deer, slugs, seals, and salmon. And all this is packed in to beautiful scenery. If Knights inlet wasnt so far from Australia we would be back tommorrow.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rottweilerQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in Sept. Had lovely cabin in very private part of lodge with its own stove and comfy chairs looking out over inlet. A couple of black bears were seen on the rocks 20 ft from our room. Trips out can be tiring and cold! Great food and unending goodies make up for it on your return to lodge. Float plane arrival is amazing although we did not particularly enjoy the enforced stay at Herons Landing, Campbell river first - this is part of the package,and we left constructive criticism for the lodge to follow up - which I am sure they will do. Lots of people seemed to fly in and out to lodge for just a couple of nights or even less. You will see bears in this time but miss so much that the place offers, in particular chance to soak up the sheer remoteness and scenery. If you love wildlife and remote places you will love Knight Inlet. It is a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquila.ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,771 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Accommodations here are just a small part of the total Knight Inlet Lodge experience, which focuses on outdoor and wildlife activities. Until recently another lodge went by the same name and thus some reviews here actually refer to the now-named Salicone Lodge, which is land based rather than the Knight Inlet Lodge, which is on the water and known as a floating lodge.

The rooms at Knight Inlet Lodge are rustic but comfortable with some facing the water and mountains. Ours, which held two double beds, was on the second floor and faced the forest. We found the beds to be rather soft but acceptable for one night, which is all we stayed. The small bathroom held a shower (no tub) with a door that was difficult to close when inside. It took a long time for hot water to arrive. The lodge provides drinking water in the room as the running water should not be used for drinking or brushing teeth. A common sitting room on the first floor offered room residents in our small building a place to relax with a sofa and arm chairs, fireplace and water view. The available lighting, however, seemed insufficient for reading after dark.

Coffee, tea, drinking water, a variety of sodas and snacks remain available in the dining room at all times. All our meals were excellent. The breakfast buffet included eggs, bacon, pancakes, scones, toast, yogurt, etc. Lunch consisted of build-your-own hamburgers, bratwurst, French fries and salads. Before dinner we had Dungeness crab legs, caught just hours before. The main course was fresh grilled halibut and fried chicken. White and red wine were included with the meal. Other alcoholic drinks could be purchased at the bar.

Our two-night package included a first-night stay at Heron's Landing in Campbell River and a 25-minute flight by float plane the next morning to the lodge. We thought the float plane flight was terrific fun and very much a part of the lodge experience. The seat next to the pilot is open to the first person who sits there and I had that wonderful position on the return flight.

All the lodge staff were upbeat, friendly, helpful, professional and determined to ensure that guests enjoyed themselves. Activities were nonstop throughout the day. Shortly after arriving at the lodge, we got on a boat for a tour of the estuary, where we saw many bald eagles, seals and a big black bear. After lunch, we spent two hours at a bear-viewing stand and watched seven grizzlies, including two cubs, fish successfully for pink salmon. Later, we got on a speedboat and saw much more of the area, including waterfalls and a glacier. After dinner, there was the opportunity to attend an interpretive talk. In the morning, we went kayaking before boarding the float plane. The lodge provides binoculars and wet weather clothing, including boots.

As others have mentioned, a lodge package is expensive. That's why we opted to stay for just one night there and gamble that we would see grizzlies, our main reason for coming. We had good weather and good luck. For those who want to bypass a float plane flight, forego many outdoor activities and not stay overnight at a lodge located in Knight Inlet, thus spending less money, Tide Rip Grizzly Tours offers a day tour out of Telegraph Cove to Knight Inlet. I took that tour in June 2008 and was quite satisfied. In the fall, Tide Rip uses one of the same bear viewing stands as Knight Inlet Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights towards end July 2009. No regrets. We regard the visit as a once in a lifetime opportunity - if you like wildlife and the great outdoors this is for you. The whole set up works - staff, location, transport, kit and for us - the animals. We saw bears, dolphins, otters, bald eagles, deer, seals...We kayaked around the lake and went into the forest (not looking to meet up with a bear but with their tracks etc). There are reports that at the beginning of the season the bears were late showing but in July we had no problems. I think if you are planning to come to this part of the world and can afford it you would be wrong not to book ahead and visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
178.6 mi away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
98.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
2178.8 mi away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 mi away
Sonora Resort
Sonora Resort
#1 of 1 in Sonora Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2229.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
261.8 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing