We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlas du Sable

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hassilabied
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlas du Sable
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

One of the most incredible places I have ever stayed. Entirely made of some sort of clay, with an amazing staff with a wonderful view of the Sahara desert.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Went in April 2011 and stayed for a couple of nights. Atlas du Sable (Ali el cojo) was recommended by several friends and with no doubt I recommend it to anyone. The hostel is well located, clean, nice food and service and very friendly staff. Frequented by motorists as this location is ideal for car and bike rides in the dessert. They can organize any type of activity, just ask.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We called this hotel one day before arrival, they told us that maybe some rooms would have been available. There were actually no rooms in the hotel but in a house nearby: which was better, because the hotel was full of motocross bikers and quads which made horrible noise in a place that imho should be contemplative. The rooms were nice and ok, but there was no hot water and we had to walk 5' to reach the hotel for dinner using a torch. Not too bad, if the rates had been lower than the hotel ones, but we had no chance to get a lower rate. We booked the excursion with camels at dawn at an irresonabily high price (the highest indicated in LP), especially because for that price it was way too short: guide made us wait 50' in the dark, and then was in a hurry to come back when we were on the dunes. We felt fooled, as the hotel manager told us that the excursion could last as long as we wanted. Buffet dinner and breakfast were not that bad, food was good but nothing special. Definitely no athmosphere, and it seemed they were profiting the fact that it was high season.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauranji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

This was chosen and booked for us through Fleewinter who arranged our 4 day/3 night trip from Marrakech to the desert. I only read the previous review just before we left for Morocco so in some ways this place was not as bad as I feared. However, I suspect this was because we had one of the 7 suites. There was glass in our window and the room was unbearably hot. I couldn't get the air conditioning to work and eventually I found someone to come and get it going for me. The place is very rundown and the staff do not care. It wouldn't take much to bring this place up to a good standard but I think all the guests just stay for one night and so I imagine there is no incentive. There is a pool with rather murky water and very slippery steps (obviously not cleaned much). As the previous reviewer has said the food was inedible - both dinner and the meagre breakfast. Our camel ride was included in our tour but I must warn anyone thinking of doing this trip that it is just not worth the very long and quite exhausting car journey for an hour and a half on a camel in the desert. Fleewinter describe this place as being run by the charismatic Ali "the man with one leg". There was no one remotely charismatic at this place. I might add that I wouldn't much recommend Fleewinter either.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

Choosing this hotel was a mistake. I think we picked it because it was recommended in one of the guidebooks (LP or rough guide) but this place has taken the fast train downhill since that recommendation. The desert is extremely cold during this time of year, and there is no glass in the "windows" so all the cold air blows into the room at night. We might as well have slept in the desert (at least the tent would have kept us warmer). I realize it is hot in the summer and during the day but I think glass windows are a necessity to avoid hypothermia during the winter. Secondly, the food was inedible. For dinner they served us a tagine of unidentifiable meat and vegetables. I was thankful it was so cold that the food was probably not spoiled. The camel trip to the desert was significantly more expensive than what was described in our guidebook and the person we booked it with was rude. Service was non-existent except the young boy who guided us into the desert

There must be much better options in Merzouga and I would highly recommend avoiding Atlas du Sable. As you can see from my other reviews, I do not complain much but I feel I should warn people about this place.

  • Liked — Location at the foot of the dunes/desert
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassilabied
0.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mamouche
Riad Mamouche
#7 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#6 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas du Sable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas du Sable

Property: Atlas du Sable
Address: Centre Ville, Hassilabied, Merzouga, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Hassilabied
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Atlas Du Sable Morocco/Hassilabied

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing