We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Azawad(Merzouga)
US$109
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Nezha(Merzouga)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Les Roches(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Prestigia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
52
29
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
29
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue menla chanceovernight camel tripnomad tentgreat experienceco ownervia emailswimming pooltook great careerg chebbitagineelenadrivertoiletsmoroccorabatlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2008

What a great experience! The hotel was fully booked when we tried to reserve but they offered us accomodation in tents in the hotel grounds and full use of the facilities, shower, toilets etc. It was ideal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food v.good. We had organised desert activities through the hotel and they were a complete success. For anyone planning a trip we would highly recommend quad biking over the sand dunes and also the overnight camel trip into the desert. Really great fun and an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelaholic_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We just came back from our trip to Morocco. We booked our camel trek through Haven La Chance and we had an amazing time both on the trek and in Merzouga. At Haven La Chance, Hassan made us feel extremely welcome and at home. He was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We had an amazing time on the camel trek and have never seen such beautiful colours and been in such a tranquil atmosphere. We recommend booking through or staying at Haven La Chance for a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torontotandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

3 of us stayed at Haven La Chance in mid-June. We spent 1 night at the hotel and did 1 overnight in the desert via camel. If you are considering Morocco or just considering traveling that far, it was the best part of the trip for me. However, it was very hot; luckily, Elena, the owner, suggested we sleep under the stars on the roof and that was great.! The staff there are all so wonderful and you'll have a chance to meet local people. The overnight camel trip was the trip of a lifetime and the dunes are amazingly beautiful. Out there, too, we slept outside. Also, Elena helped me plan the whole week through Blue Men of Morocco; it was perfect. I miss it!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hampfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We were in Merzouga for two nights this past March. We were travelling with our two kids ages 11 and 14. We had booked our trip to Morocco with Blue Men of Morocco and they run Haven La Chance in Merzouga. We loved our whole trip to Morocco (particularly our driver Zaid). We found Abraham and the others who worked at Haven La Chance to be very friendly and helpful. Abraham played soccer with our son while the rest of us napped, and we enjoyed playing drums with all of them one night at dinner.

The rooms are actually pretty nice, a good size as well as the bathrooms. There was no heat, but each room had it's own space heater - although we didn't need to use it. We had two bedrooms each with their own bathroom, but they also have community bedrooms and bathroom. I walked inside the community bathroom to check it out and found it to be very nice.

From here we took off on our desert trip on the camels which was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Merzouga at Haven La Chance

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights as a triple set up. Second stop on a 5 city stay in morocco. The moment we near merzouga the dominating sand
dunes set an imposing scene and the hotel was nearer to dunes than we expected.

We received such a warm wlecome from Omar who said he was in charge of the place while Elena from Blue Men of Morocco was back in spain. Are luggage was prompty taken in and we were taken onto the roof for an amazing view of the dunes and a cup of mint tea.

Rooms were simple but clean and adequate. During the stay we visited the local village and had berber pizza at omars family home. We also wisited another nearby village to listen to some traditional Gnoua music. There was also the possibility of seeing some flamingos at the lake near to the hotel but sadly when we went we were out of luck and did not see any.

The second night we packed a small bag and headed out on a 2 hour camel trek into the sahara to spend a night out there. This was a calm trip and due to it being out of peak time we did not see many other people out there. Hassan our camel guide made a lovely tajine dinner and we spent the night under the stars. However I must add the nights were very cold in spring and to recommend taking very warm clothes to wear following sunset.

The serentity of the desert is just as I imagined, a must for anyone who hasnot experienced this before

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmepani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews