We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem near Bicester”
Review of Tally Ho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tally Ho Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very friendly staff and went extra mile with a smile. Room large, well equiped, comfortable and quiet.Good access to Bicester. Slept well .Good parking close to room for unloading. Evening meal eaten in cosy bar area as restaurant was very quiet. Food was adequate but served promptly and hot. Breakfast was freshly cooked, prompt and delicious. Definately go again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed there for business, actually stay there quite often. Generally the hotel is clean, good access to Bicester, and a nice cozy bar. Good parking facilities, and you can generally park close to the entrance to your room.
The only thing that lets them down is the restaurant: they often forget to put menus out at breakfast time, and have always, to date, got my breakfast order wrong. If you go there, always insist on seeing a menu at breakfast, and get them to confirm your order. Don't order the baked beans, they served me some on my last trip that were so vile I had to leave them ! I literally could not face eating these beans, they certainly were not Heinz ! I must pount out they don't claim the beans are Heinz, luckily ! I don't eat dinner there, there are only usually four choices on the dinner menu, with very little variety from day to day.

Room Tip: Room no. 1, although a disabled room, is right next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were pleasently surprised, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. We had the dish of the day, presentation and food good served on a HOT plate.
Freshly cooked breakfast was much nicer than the usual luke warm hotel buffets, again a lovely HOT plate.
We would definately stay again.
Perfect for a visit to the Bicester shopping village.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurencewilliams994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked this hotel very last minute and were not expecting anything special. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. We were travelling with our toddler and two dogs and we were all accommodated so well. The manger ( I think he was) was also the chef and was fabulous. He cooked our son a very nice pasta meal before the kitchen opened, then catered for me (vegetarian and pregnant) by creating something very yummy- again pasta, but that was my choice, i'm sure his repertoire is much bigger than that as my husband very much enjoyed his lamb shank. The rooms thmselves are spacious and clean and little touches like disposable cups(nice ones) in the bathroom made me confident about the cleanliness. I hate glasses in bathrooms, I never use them as i'm convinced most cleaners in hotels use the same cloth to wipe them as they clean the surfaces with !! I would definatley recommend this hotel, clean good food, and very helpful and obliging staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Tally Ho. Perfect place to get away from the stresses of day to day working life. The staff have been extremely pleasant and helpful nothing too much trouble, the chef kindly made a vegetarian curry for me which wasn't on the menu, It was delicious-recipe please? Room V'spacious V'clean and peaceful. Looking forward to last breakfast in the morning but don't wanna go home yet. Many thanks to all at The Tally Ho. We would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacko n Brox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We went for a wedding, very nice venue. The drinks however are expensive, (£5.70 for glass of white).
If your having this as a wedding venue the garden is a little disappointing and you may want to suggest to the hotel to put some lights/candles outside as most of us as in pitch darkness for most of night.

Overall good rooms, staff and food....just a little pricey

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Motel style hotel with rooms on two floors around a parking area and garden with pond. Rooms upstairs have double doors and balconette. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. The food was fairly standard three star hotel fare but OK. Having a room separate from the main hotel meant one could come and go at will - come back late.
I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms back onto the roadway which can be noisy in the morning. Those with mobility problems sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arncott
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
668 reviews
3 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
3.9 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
451 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Hotel

Address: Ploughley Road, Arncott OX25 1NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Arncott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Price Range: £78 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tally Ho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tally Ho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Arncott, UK - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing