We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but on the expensive side”
Review of Tally Ho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tally Ho Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable but on the expensive side”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had trouble finding available accommodation and phoned to find we could get accommodation here. The sat nav system in our rental car could not find the address so it took us a while to find.
The room was a very good size, clean and comfortable, although quite warm and we were unable to cool it much despite leaving the doors and windows open while having dinner.
We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and thought the meal of good quality for the price. Breakfast the next morning was good but lacked fruit of any description, either fresh or canned.
Our only significant complaint would be that we thought the room rate a little on the expensive side given the relatively isolated location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JayemkayCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
25
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had business in Bicester, and all the usual suspects were full. One of my colleagues found the Tally Ho so the three of us booked a room each there. I had had no time to look at reviews or do any other research so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The location although beside a main road is quiet, there is ample parking on site. The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. The rooms are separate from the main hotel building in a one up one down formation; each room shares an external door with another the rooms are arranged one above the other each with its own door and full facilities. The rooms are large and well appointed with a good sized bath room and decent shower. The restaurant and bar is in the main block and is a pleasant place to sit and have a drink. The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, although there is not a vast choice of dishes it is worth a visit.

Downsides, the WiFi is not great and over all internet access speed is not great either. As a business traveller this is important. I ended up using my 3G dongle as it was faster and more stable. One of my colleagues was staying over and on one evening there was a wedding, he was informed that due to the wedding he could not use the bar or restaurant which in my view is a major failing.
I would use the Tally Ho again if in the area and would recommend it, but ensure your stay does not include any weddings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The Tally Ho is becoming a regular stop. The rooms are always clean and comfortable with an attentive and friendly staff. Nothing every seems to be too much for them. The food is always well presented and the portions are plentiful. Heartily recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank allanj2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went here for a wedding, the gardens were lovely and the function room was nice. The bar area was a good size. The bedrooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were really lovely and friendly throughout =)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_D0ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding that was taking place nearby in the area. Great little hotel with large rooms. Really good customer service always asking how they can help. Would recommend for anyone needing to stay in the area with family/friends.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welshjack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We were running late, so phoned ahead and ordered room service. Very courteous and professional on phone.

Upstairs room, very spacious, clean and comfy. Bed good size and comfortable.
Only gripe was heating wouldn't adjust properly so roasting hot at 2 am and the extractor fan in en suite bathroom runs for an hour!!!

Breakfast excellent, served fresh to your table and service good.

Overall highly recommend as a over night stop :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our ground floor motel room at the Tally Ho Hotel was spacious and averagely clean. The room did not have air conditioning and was very warm despite the relatively cool outside air temperature. The big drawback was that the lack of security on the front windows (which open widely), making it very difficult (virtually impossible?) to have the windows open without posing a security risk. There was a smaller window to the rear, which we opened – after having moved our bags beyond the reach of an outstretched arm. (We're not paranoid – just averagely cautious I'd say!) We therefore had a relatively uncomfortable night, being rather hot in our room.

The restaurant was closed so we ate at a quirky, but delightful pub just a few hundred yards away.

We paid around £98 for b+b, which we thought was a little pricey, but in conclusion though that the Tally Ho Hotel was average, but worth considering – and if we ever find ourselves in Bicester again we may well go back there, although if it's in the summer we'll certainly request a room on the upper floor.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arncott
4.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
621 reviews
2.9 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Hotel

Property: Tally Ho Hotel
Address: Ploughley Road, Arncott OX25 1NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Arncott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arncott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tally Ho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tally Ho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Arncott, UK - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing