We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well maintained place to relax.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great place to stay to get out of the Phoenix heat and enjoy northern Az. The cabins are extremely well maintained and cleaned. Not sure if the owners are the ones on site bit the staff is very friendly and accomodating. My choice for next visit for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kprecious555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed at the cabins for the past few years and some of the cabins we stayed in was nice and clean. The furniture is very old and sunken cushions and bed was okay. My husband and I visited about a month ago and had cabin 3 or 1 I don't recall. It smelled horrible of wet dog. We left all ceiling fans on and kept windows open but it stunk bad. The refrigerator had a regular metal door handle nailed to open the door. The toilet did not flush correctly. We won't be going again. Seems as if the furniture in all the cabins are old and stinks inside of old furniture.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying here unless it is one of the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peachey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have stayed at this property on probably 18 occasions over the past 25 years in multiple cabins usually with two dogs in tow. The details of this review pertain to cabin #17 which we have used at least a dozen times and is our favorite due to direct access to the White Mountain Trail System which is connected to the property down a short path. We have also stayed at Lazy Oaks and Lake of the Woods which both have water adjacent but this remains our cabin of choice to due the generous separation between cabins and the heavily treed layout.

The cabins themselves are each unique in age, amenities and layout. All have fireplaces, some have spas or bathtubs marketed as spas. This particular cabin has seen few changes in all the years we have used it. The mattress's and bedspread are at least 15 years old and should have been replaced long ago. The pillows were newer but uncomfortable and fairly low quality. The kitchen has no counter space due to a microwave and coffee maker occupying all the space. The utensil drawer is pretty barren. If you are going to be cooking most meals in you may request something more user friendly. The light bulb in the refrigerator was burnt out last time we used this cabin in 2012 and is still out as of June 2013. The hide-a-bed sofa is too short to stretch out on for reading and reasonably uncomfortable to sit so I can't imagine sleeping on it. There is no daily housekeeping service. Towels are fairly thin. None of the cabins have air conditioning but a ceiling fan helps distribute air and even on the hottest days the afternoon breeze is usually enough to keep you comfortable. The grounds themselves are always clean as are the rooms upon arrival.

My chief complaint remains with the reservation system. You cannot select and reserve a room online which is pretty antiquated. There is no computer record keeping so you're never getting an upgrade based on past bookings. The owners have no marketing skills whatsoever. At least they now take a credit card reservation. Up until last year you were required to mail a single night deposit and could only cancel with 3 weeks notice. Regardless, we still enjoy the solitude and quiet of this property compared to a typical area motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My family and I travel up to this area a couple times of the year and didn't stay here before. My husband and I went this past weekend and gave it a shot. The cabin we got (#5) was cozy and perfect for just the two of us. It was great to get the reservation the night before we arrived. The lady who showed us our cabin was very friendly and told us if we needed anything to let her know. It had a full kitchen, full bath, queen bed and fireplace. Was provided more than enough firewood. It is right off the main road but was still quiet. We would definitely stay there again.

The only cons we had were:
- the entrance was difficult to see because of the snow piled up high on the side of the road
- no hot water in the morning but, it was 14 degrees out and the groundskeeper was on top of getting it going
- no Wi-Fi (wasn't too bothered by this, but can be helpful/useful for some)

These cabins are by no means 5 star but they obviously take great care of each and every cabin for you to enjoy and this was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tkylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Whispering Pines Resort has a lot going for it, a long-term owner who takes pride in the property and it shows.
- Very clean property
- Close in to town for supplies
- Cabins are quiet, clean, and well stocked - just bring your personal stuff, food and drinks
- Well maintained property
- Relaxing atmosphere
- Comfortable bedding and furniture (Lazy Boy)
- No bugs or mold
- Area is sprayed for flying insects
- Close to walking trails, lake is a 2 mile R.T. easy level trail
- Reasonably priced
- These cabins are right off the highway
- No A.C.
- Fans are supplied
- We had spotty cell service
- No campfires are permitted on property; no central fire pit for family gatherings
- Indoor hot tub with hours 3 to 8 and will accomodate roughly 6 adults
- Horseshoe Pit
- We recommend this location for a quiet weekend gettaway

Safe Travels!

Room Tip: Research the map on the internet for location of cabins on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Loved the resort, stayed for five nights. The lady at the office took me to the cabin and showed me how to work everything - she was very nice and very efficient. The cabin was just big enough for me and my dog....I was in cabin 33, a spa cabin. The cabin was very, very clean. The kitchen had everything you would need. Bed was comfortable and had ample storage space. Bathroom was adequate; had a jetted tub, but I didn't use it, and a separate shower. Wish it had internet availability in the cabins. The only complaint I had was that the refrigerator was only turned to 4 when I arrived, so it was hot and could not hold food. I turned it to 9 (the highest) and it was not cool enough for food until mid-afternoon the next day. It would have been nice if they would have made sure it was cold enough to store perishable food in it at time of arrival.

The cabin was on a city street, but there was not much traffic, so noise was at a minimum. There were walking trails close to take the dog for a walk. There is also a path around a lake which is close by.

There were great restaurants close by - Darbi's Cafe was great, as was Charlie Clark's steakhouse. There was a Safeway just a couple of miles from the resort. The casino is about 5 or 6 minutes away.

Just as a reminder, if you take your dog, please clean up after them. Many places won't take dogs anymore, because people won't clean up after them...we need to keep things clean so that we will have places to travel with our pets.

Room Tip: Make sure you look on their map - you don't want to be the couple of cabins that are next to Dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 49Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here 3 nights, for a quick family getaway to get out of the heat in Phoenix. We were concerned that the cabin may be hot, but had fans inside which helped greatly and it was only somewhat hot the first night, the last 2 nights it was cool and rainy so we could leave the windows open. Our cabin was right next to the playground which was perfect for my 9 year old. No maid service and no air condition but it turned out quite nice anyways. There is a safeway a block away so we bought groceries and made our own food some nights. We went to the WME movie theatre in pinetop another night and the kids enjoyed the family aquatic pool in show low only $1.50 fee open from 1-5pm, although its about a 20 min drive from cabin. Red Robin about 5 min away, good pizza. Hon Dah casino about 10 min away. Went fishing one day. Cabins were clean and fully stocked. Would def visit again, although maybe in winter so we could actually use the fireplace!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank jr2776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
1.0 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#11 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
#1 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#7 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
52 reviews
3.9 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pinetop
Holiday Inn Express Pinetop
#3 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Resort

Address: 237 E White Mountain Blvd. Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#3 Family Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetop Arizona is the setting for Whispering Pines Resort featuring studio, 1, 2, or 3 bedroom cabins. All cabins are furnished, carpeted, and stocked with firewood - some units even have spa tubs! Whispering Pines Resort cabins are located on 13 acres, heavily treed with Pines and Oaks. The cabins are nestled amongst the Pines with the resort adjoining National Forest Service Land and the Woodland Lake Trail System. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Pinetop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing