We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price”
Review of Double B Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Double B Lodge
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have a group of friends who travel to different campsites and lodges, throughout the summer, just to get away from the Phoenix heat. This was our first visit to Double B Lodge. The staff was very friendly and there were some fun things for the kids to do on-site. The grounds were well kept. We stayed in room 2 and it was okay, but everything was so old. I don't think they've replaced the fridge, the stove, the TV or the decor since 1980. Everything was clean, except the oven. We used it once and the room filled up with smoke because the bottom of the oven hadn't been cleaned. One thing that grossed me out was that our room had thick berber (shag-like) carpeting, which tends to carry lots of germs and can be a breeding ground for bugs, in a hotel/motel atmosphere. Rooms that are used over & over like that, should always have wood, tile or tight looped carpeting (for sanitation purposes). All-in-all, this was a decent stay and it's less expensive than the other cabin rentals in the area. I would have paid a little more to be further from the main road and have nicer accommodations, but it was alright for this trip, since it fit within the budgets of the rest of our group. I would stay here again, but probably in one of the individual cabins. They are nicer, newer and have wood floors. I think I'll avoid the motel rooms, from now on.

Room Tip: Book a cabin, rather than one of the motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C-in-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Staff was very accommodating. We stopped here early in the day and they cleaned a cabin for us and had us checked in within an hour and a half! we were happily surprised at how cute and clean the cabins were. We liked it so much that we are on our way back for a second stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfolven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Was nice to get away from the extreme heat in Phoenix. We loved our cabin, we were in #15, very clean and well tended property, lots of room for the dogs to roam around outside. They have thought of everything one would need for a cabin stay, extra linens, nice comfy bed. We loved the front porch with swing. The only thing I could add that I didn't see mentioned as yet are the mesquitos!! They loved me, I couldn't step out the door without being attacked. Take some repellent!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheewawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Double B Lodge in July 2012 for 2 nights in Cabin 14. It was very clean - spotless wood floors with new area rugs, very clean bathroom with a full bathtub/shower and tile floors - has granite counter tops and large double sink in the kitchen and a new microwave. The beds were also very nice and comfortable with fluffy pillows. Everything worked as expected and it was stocked with everything we needed. Its a great set up for a family with more than 2 kids since it has 2 queens in the loft and one on the main floor and it is priced the same as many motels in the area. The owners were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed, like extra towels. You can tell they take pride in the place and have done a great job of keeping it nice. There is a fun playground including tether ball and tire swing - also a hot tub that we didn't use. There is an outdoor fire pit and indoor fireplace.This is a great location also - walking distance to some of the popular dining places in Pinetop. We have stayed in many places in Pinetop over the years and were impressed by this place. Definitely a step above the loft cabins at the Moonridge. If you have a choice - pick Double B! We plan to stay in a larger cabin with more people during ski season for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We found a new place to get away from the heat of Tucson. . . Double B cabins in Pinetop. We were very pleased with the cozy cabin we rented in mid-October. The managers were such gracious hosts and made us feel like family. The cabin was fairly new, and VERY, VERY clean! We enjoyed the porch swing and lovely view of the meadow. Also enjoyed the little fireplace in the cabin, great for a cold morning! Double B was within walking distance to Eddie's market for groceries and lots of restaurants and quaint little shops. We will definitely return there!

Room Tip: We loved cabin #18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnelson7640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in Room 8 for two nights in September, 2011. The town was full due to the annual Pinetop Car Show, which was a wonderful event. Our motel was full with car people and their great classic cars. Our friends stayed down the road at a more established place and we visited them at their hotel. After we came back to the Double B, we were glad we chose this place. We stayed in a room versus a cabin, which was rustic but very clean and tidy. The bathroom had recently been remodeled; new tile, toilet and shower head. Towels were thick and nice quality. The showerhead was up high and had good pressure. There is no bathtub but we were okay with that.

The room was large; had a nice open area against a wall for your luggage as well as a small open space to hang your clothes. There was a table with one small chair, plus two nice larger lounge chairs. You also got a small refrigerator (worked great, kept everything cold), a microwave and a coffeepot. Two windows opposite each other opened for wonderful ventilation. The queen bed was better than I expected; it was firm and the bed linens were new and clean.

A boardwalk runs the length of the rooms that is carpeted. Outside of each room are two chairs and a small coffee table so that you can sit outside your room and enjoy the grassy courtyard view. You park your car right outside your door, so easy access all the way around.

We paid less than half of what our friends paid for the "upscale" motel down the road. If we return next year, they will stay with us here at the Double B Lodge. I like value; this was a great value for us and I highly recommend this place for its cleanliness. The couple who manage it were gracious and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We met a group of family friends in Pinetop at the Double B Lodge. In all we had 4 different rooms. One was a double room cabin that was pretty nice, although one of the bedrooms also doubled as the kitchen, dining room, and living room. Two of the rooms were double bed, single room units. One appeared to be updated. It was, however, next to the street, which proved to be very noisy, and it had a broken toilet. The other was not renovated, had old carpet and linoleum and a strange natural gas odor lingered if you used the kitchen range. The fourth room was unit #5, a single bed room. The room had some nice paint, flooring and decorations. It seemed nice, until the first shower was taken. The stand in shower filled up with water within a few minutes. The water appeared to be very dirty and did not drain for at least several hours. The community “hot tub” appeared to be luxurious to a prisoner who might have felt at home within the 10 foot tall chain link fence surrounding it. When we were checking out I asked if there was a discount for not being able to shower. The response was something like, I don’t think so, it has been happening for years. To sum up the experience one of my fellow travelers coined the place, “The Double Baits Motel”.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
0.1 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#11 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
Best Western Inn of Pinetop
#1 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hidden Rest Cabins
Hidden Rest Cabins
#1 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainbow Lake Resort
Rainbow Lake Resort
#9 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double B Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double B Lodge

Property: Double B Lodge
Address: 1075 E White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935-7066
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Double B Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Double B Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double b Hotel Pinetop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing