We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend get away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Oaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lazy Oaks Resort
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend get away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Lazy Oaks over Labor Day weekend. The positives are the grounds were great, right on the banks of Rainbow Lake, very easy to get around and very relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful and kept the boys supplied with worms all weekend. We rented a motorboat for a couple of hours and enjoyed time on the lake (which is full of vegetation, no swimming here!). The cabin was comfortable and clean and very functional, nothing fancy which is just fine however when we visit again (we are sure to) I would bring my own cooking pans and utensils. The cabinets were stocked with the bare minimum (again fine, it's a cabin!) but the pots were very old and very used and there wasn't a decently sharp knife to be had. I understand not wanting to stock items others will most likely steal, so again will bring my own. Other than that we completely enjoyed our weekend and would recommend this little gem to anyone. Oh, and the BBQ place just up the street on White Mountain and Rainbow Lake (Grumpy something) was great! You will feel like you are in the remote woods but are actually in the middle of town and close to everything you could need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLG1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love this place! My husband and I have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else. The cabins are clean, comfortable, and everything works. The property is lovely and so peaceful. We rented a canoe and it was super fun on the lake. Sean at the office is always a delight. I have worked for Hilton for 11 years and I rate Lazy Oaks a '10' every time. Great for couples and families. We always meet the nicest people there. Thank you, we look forward to coming back. The Golpers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The property, as a whiole is nice enough. Lakefront, nice views, nice docks for standing and fishing, firepits, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything worked properly in the cabin (we stayed in the Sycamore cabin) and the bathrooms and bedrooms were clean and tidy (a must!). The only things that we really did not like were the couches in the main sitting room/living room of the cabin, and the old, worn out carpet. The couches were simply worn out, had tears, (and were mabye a little dirty). We paid $200+ per night for a holiday weekend; at that rate, ownership should consider investing in tile for the floors, and new furniture when needed. We're going to try another rental home/cabin next time.

Room Tip: Maybe other cabins are in nicer repair than the one we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NikiArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean P, Manager at Lazy Oaks Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
I first off apologize for the couches. I went into the cabin after you left and saw the condition of them and they have since been cleaned and repaired. I was very upset that we had not fixed it sooner and that you and your party had to experience that. We strive to give the best product and experience for our guests. Please know the issue has been rectified. We hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My family and I stayed at these cabins due to fact that they sit right on the banks of Rainbow Lake. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. The cabins are clean and comfortable. The office staff are very helpful and friendly. The only downside I found is that if you need complete privacy some of the curtains are too small to fit the windows. Even though the place was packed there was complete silence when it was time to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinetop-Lakeside
4.4 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#5 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
6.1 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Show Low-Pinetop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#10 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake of the Woods Resort
Lake of the Woods Resort
#1 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Rest Cabins
Hidden Rest Cabins
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Oaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Oaks Resort

Property: Lazy Oaks Resort
Address: 1075 Larson Rd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929-6751
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Oaks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Oaks is 15 cabins on 3.5 Acres located on Rainbow Lake. All cabins have full kitchens and fire places. Common area includes 3 fire pits for camp fires and horseshoe pits. Lazy Oaks has 10 one bedroom cabins and 5 two bedroom cabins. Boat rentals are available (seasonal) as well as fishing docks. Come join us at beautiful Lazy Oaks Resort on Rainbow Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lazy Oaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing