We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the the entire woodsy feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake of the Woods Resort
tucson az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the the entire woodsy feel”
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We used to have a place in Lakeside years ago. Always saw this resort and it was always impressive. First time back up to the mountains so planned to stay here. It was a perfect getaway weekend for the wife and I with our daughter and 17 yr old grandson. We already have the cabin picked out for our next getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodlepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    32
    8
    13
    6
See reviews for
66
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Lake of the Woods Resort is tucked away in Lakeside/Pinetop Arizona. This wonderful, rustic cabin resort feels like home the moment you drive in. This resort is family owned and operated and you can't have better hosts. There are approximately 26 log cabins and a few newer "homes" surrounding a gorgeous 10 acre lake. The lake is stocked five times a year. This makes fishing an exciting time, whether you are five or fifty years of age - even older. There are boats to be rented - no motor boats but electric motors are permitted. The towering pine trees give a wonderful feeling and the fragrance provided by these trees makes everything feel right. The cabins are wonderful. Most are log cabins with cathedral wood ceilings. They have either a "full" kitchen or kitchenette, based on the size of your cabin. There are gorgeous stone fireplaces and they provide wood for your evening fire. Each cabin has a great porch, some overlooking the lake, others tucked into the trees along the road. There is a small playground for kids, a spa/sauna for adults and a small rec room which provides a pool table and a pingpong table. Each cabin also has a television. The resort is also "pet friendly" if you know how to take care of your pets. I can't tell you what a great experience it is at Lake of the Woods. If you love to fish, you can't beat it. If fishing is not your thing, than sitting on the porch, overlooking the lake, watching the ducks or renting a boat, can be the most peaceful time. Oh, and if you love the snow, skiing or snowboarding, they are close to all the activities in the White Mountains. Please give them a call next time you want to relax and let go a little. This place definitely deserves a look. You can visit their website at www.lakeofthewoodsaz.com

  • Liked — The atmosphere, fishing, views, cabins.
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julienuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILBERT AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

This was a great place to go to get away from the heat of the valley. Nice clean cabins, staff was wonderful. We are going back next month can't wait.

  • Liked — The cabins are great
  • Disliked — It's on a main highway but the noise wasn't to bad.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snadi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This is the second time that I`ve stayed at this resort in the last two years and I`m a satisfied customer.The property is well maintained,the staff is efficient and friendly and the property has rustic charm.
The lakeview cabins have a deck,with a great view.A nice ,peaceful place to relax and watch the ducks swim by.
The only drawback that I can find is the traffic noise.The property is located right off a very busy route and even at the far end of the property you can hear the traffic going by,when you are outside.Inside the cabins you don`t notice it at all. If you`re looking for "forest quiet",this would not be the place for you,but if you`re looking for a relaxing getaway that is still close to restaurants and shopping,this is a good choice.

  • Liked — Even though the cabins are not that far apart,you have a feeling of privacy.
  • Disliked — The parking areas are unpaved ,making it difficult for guests with with physical disabilities.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcspooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2006

We arrived Labor Day afternoon just as it was beginning to rain. Were given a cabin with direct lake view. Started a fire and watched the ducks on the lake and the rain falling. Great relaxation. Tried for a 2nd night but they were booked. Very helpful front desk people. Nice location on an almost private lake.
Good restaurant just across the highway.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelinggran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

Took my 2 children here last year for a little retreat from the daily life in phoenix. Great place! Rustic little cabins and private fishing lake. The best part is that you don't need to go buy items that you'll never use again! Boat rentals, grills, firewood, fishing equipment, they will pretty much loan or provide you for a reasonable fee. Will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — cabins, private lake
  • Disliked — Right on Main Road
  • Tips/Secrets — book early, and get a cabin with an elevated lake view.
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank azroyalsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We were looking for a "family" oriented place with onsite activities. Our family of 4 has a 6 year old and a 9 year old. This quaint little resort has its own little lake for fishing and boating. The log cabins were clean and comfortable with a full kitchen. Lots of onsite activites and a small rec center as well. We will definitely be going back.
Their website is very comprehensive. www.lakeofthewoodsaz.com

Helpful?
10 Thank hajaar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
4.4 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
49 reviews
3.2 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#11 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
60 reviews
6.0 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#5 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Lake Resort
Rainbow Lake Resort
#9 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Rest Cabins
Hidden Rest Cabins
#2 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Property: Lake of the Woods Resort
Address: 2244 W White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929-6213
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake of the Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing