We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to get away to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake of the Woods Resort
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place to get away to”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I have stayed here with my family about a 1/2 dozen times over the last two years. Our cabin has always been clean and comfortable. The resort itself is tucked just a little back from a two lane road but you will not notice any traffic noise. The lake to the rear of the property is absolutely beautiful, especially in winter with all the ducks. You really do feel like you are pleasantly removed from the hustle and bustle of the world, yet there is plenty of places nearby if you want some hustle and bustle amongst the peaceful surroundings of Lake of the Woods. The owners and staff have always treated us well and I would recommend this resort highly to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muggsy2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    32
    9
    13
    7
See reviews for
67
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

My husband, 16 yr old daughter, her friend and I have stayed at Lake of the Woods 7 times in the last 3 years.
We could not have had a nicer time !
The owners have been so nice to us - almost like we were part of their family.
We have stayed in different cabins and loved them all. They were very clean. Everything worked great.
The scenery was so beautiful my daughter and her friend could not stop taking pictures.
The resort is convenient to many restaurants and stores.
If you want a great time in the White Mountains this is the place to stay !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdoops4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We were a huge group that stayed in the Chalet, the biggest cabin in the Lake of the Woods Resort. Our family was downstairs on the first floor. Lets start with the toliet that would not stop running. The kitchen downstairs was disgusting and the walls were stained of food. The furniture this cabin had, looked like it was all bought at a thrift store. When you walked into the downstairs there was a smell or stinch of sewage. After awhile we got used to the smell. The sliding door downstairs didn't lock, so we had to sleep with one eye open praying that no crazy person would stop by trying to come in. Oh but it did have a screen door with a tiny latch. The two bedrooms downstairs were clean but infested with large and tiny spiders. In one of our beds once we pulled the sheets down to lay down we found a huge wolf spider. I was shocked and I thought it was a Halloween trick someone had planted there. But until I saw it crawling around, that is when I realized it wasn't a trick. The second floor was in some what of a better shape. The kitchen on the second floor was disgusting as the first floor kitchen. Food smeared on the walls. The heating vents on the floor had food stuck in side them. The walls surrounding the stove had many layers of grease with food splattered on it. The front door had a opening on the bottom where the weather stripping should of been. I think that is where the critters we kept finding around the cabin would probably come in from. The front door was very wimpy w/a simple lock. There was spider webs all over the cabin and again I thought it was part of the Halloween theme. The cabin from the outside is spider web infested and very dirty. The balcony decks were very dirty with oil spots from people's grills. So you had to try to find a nice spot to stand to be able to enjoy the view. And once again the patio furniture was mismatching pieces from the left overs of a yard sale. But other than that we enjoyed the lake and the fishing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ccyn0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The lake was pretty and the ducks and fishing provided entertainment. Our cabin had issues from not being completely clean, table had crumbs all over seats when we arrived, water ran on floor from first toilet, frig did not cool, the gentleman who completed repairs was very nice however the owner was extremely rude, she was as rude as she could be and yelled at a grandmother in front of her grandkids, unacceptable behavior for a retreat facility. We have gone here numerous times in the past but never again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrymindset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson az
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We used to have a place in Lakeside years ago. Always saw this resort and it was always impressive. First time back up to the mountains so planned to stay here. It was a perfect getaway weekend for the wife and I with our daughter and 17 yr old grandson. We already have the cabin picked out for our next getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodlepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Lake of the Woods Resort is tucked away in Lakeside/Pinetop Arizona. This wonderful, rustic cabin resort feels like home the moment you drive in. This resort is family owned and operated and you can't have better hosts. There are approximately 26 log cabins and a few newer "homes" surrounding a gorgeous 10 acre lake. The lake is stocked five times a year. This makes fishing an exciting time, whether you are five or fifty years of age - even older. There are boats to be rented - no motor boats but electric motors are permitted. The towering pine trees give a wonderful feeling and the fragrance provided by these trees makes everything feel right. The cabins are wonderful. Most are log cabins with cathedral wood ceilings. They have either a "full" kitchen or kitchenette, based on the size of your cabin. There are gorgeous stone fireplaces and they provide wood for your evening fire. Each cabin has a great porch, some overlooking the lake, others tucked into the trees along the road. There is a small playground for kids, a spa/sauna for adults and a small rec room which provides a pool table and a pingpong table. Each cabin also has a television. The resort is also "pet friendly" if you know how to take care of your pets. I can't tell you what a great experience it is at Lake of the Woods. If you love to fish, you can't beat it. If fishing is not your thing, than sitting on the porch, overlooking the lake, watching the ducks or renting a boat, can be the most peaceful time. Oh, and if you love the snow, skiing or snowboarding, they are close to all the activities in the White Mountains. Please give them a call next time you want to relax and let go a little. This place definitely deserves a look. You can visit their website at www.lakeofthewoodsaz.com

  • Liked — The atmosphere, fishing, views, cabins.
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julienuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILBERT AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

This was a great place to go to get away from the heat of the valley. Nice clean cabins, staff was wonderful. We are going back next month can't wait.

  • Liked — The cabins are great
  • Disliked — It's on a main highway but the noise wasn't to bad.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snadi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
4.4 mi away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#7 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
50 reviews
3.2 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#11 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
62 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#6 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Rest Cabins
Hidden Rest Cabins
#1 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Lake Resort
Rainbow Lake Resort
#9 of 14 in Pinetop-Lakeside
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Property: Lake of the Woods Resort
Address: 2244 W White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929-6213
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake of the Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing