We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of The Old Dairy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Dairy B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Llandyfaelog B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What more can I say. Everyone else on tripadvisor has said it for me. We booked this B&B after looking at previous reviews. We then recommended it to my parents, who then stayed here before our booking. We all love this place. If you like rural, then this is the place for you. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need. Debbie and Ian are so accommodating; nothing is too much trouble for them and the food is absolutely first class. I hope it doesn't get so popular that we can't get booked in again!

Room Tip: They're all excellent rooms, with the same rural aspect.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

How lucky are we to have recommendations from guests before they even stay!
Thank you so much and we are even more pleased that you all enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes to you all
Debbie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for The Old Dairy B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's rare to encounter anything man made that's absolutely excellent, spot-on, can't-be- improved. However, the owners of this B&B have got everything just right.
A cow shed has been divided into three spacious rooms, each with an en-suite shower/toilet/sink and each room with it's own front door. The rooms have been furnished to a very high standard to include comfortable beds. Of course, seeing these changes to their shed, the cows promptly moved out - and that means much more room for us humans.
Ian worked in the background and produced consistently high quality breakfasts. Debbie worked in the foreground where she is a naturally engaging and professional hostess.
My wife and I found the location a few miles outside of Carmarthen ideal as a base for local exploration of castles, beaches and countryside. Good local pubs for evening meals with restaurants a 10 minute drive to the town.
This place and these owners set the bar so high for their competitors that I can't see how they can be beaten. Absolutely top of the class.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed it here and as you could see the cows seem very happy in pastures new next door! We enjoy it when we have lovely people to chat with at breakfast and it's good to hear laughter in the dining room (great sense of humour Ian). Don't think either of us were ever A grade students so it's wonderful to be top of the class for something! Thanks once more and hopefully see you again.
Best Wishes to you both
Debbie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was en-route to Ireland and decided on a stopover to see the Carmarthenshire countryside. As a independent travel writer, I pay to stay in accommodation for over 200 nights a year. I rarely write online reviews, but the Old Dairy is one that deserves mention. Too many B&B's in the UK still suffer from a combination of tired decor, complacent owners, cramped bedrooms and a lack of amenities. Places like The Old Diary are not just setting the standard for quality B&B's, they are often an altogether better experience than hotel stays.

I stayed in the Daisy Room, a spacious contemporary room with an en suite bathroom that had the feel of a boutique hotel rather than B&B. Superb attention to detail included a fresh bottle of milk in the fridge. We wouldn't use fiddly UHT sachets of milk at home, so why should we put up with them at a B&B or hotel? Breakfast menus are available in rooms and choices made the night before - not only does this cut down on unnecessary food waste but helps to cut down on serving delays. The food is imaginative and Debbie is very happy to discuss individual needs. I'm a vegetarian and the herby mushrooms and poached egg (fresh from the family chickens!) on toast was without doubt the best vegetarian breakfast I have had in a B&B!

The huge double bed was just luxurious: crisp white bedlinen, plump pillows and quality duvet ensured a deep sleep. In too many hotels the view that accompanies my early morning tea is either a main road or car park - here the bench outside my room afforded views of the nearby hills lit by the morning sun - a welcome change.

In any service industry it is ultimately the people not just the amenities that differentiate an ok experience and a memorable experience, and in this regard Debbie and Ian complete the picture. They simply cannot do enough to ensure guests have a perfect stay. Establishments like this set the bar for others to aspire to - their high rating is fully justified.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamieLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful 9day stay with Debbie &Ian we stayed in the buttercup & our friends stayed in bluebell the rooms were fabulous there was everything u could ask 4 the rooms were 100% clean , bedding &towels changed during our stay , fridge , to keep our drinks cold fresh snaps put in everyday , everything in the shower room u need , even brought a fan 4us , the breakfast were the best we ever had u had so many choices , the views were out of this world nice river to sit by, Debbie &Ian are very friendly & would do anything 4u , will b going back again can't thank them enough

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JULIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here just one night whilst visiting Pembrey to see our son compete in the vintage car time trials. Everything was perfect on the site. Toilets and shower room spotless and views positively stunning! The walk from site down to the river was beautiful with little benches to sit on listening to river gurgling over the stones. Would recomment this to anyone. It did throw us a bit when we didn't see 'Camping and Caravan Club' on sign outside though. Angela and Terry North, Rugby, Warwickshire
PS our son won his class!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife & I have just spent 2 nights in the Bluebell suite at the Old Dairy. It was pure luxury, two rooms (bedroom separate) of the very highest standard. Bathroom decorated to 5 star quality. Everything you need for the perfect break is here. Lounge has 2 leather sofa's, TV, underfloor heating & a newly installed fridge which was the quietest I've ever know. Plenty of tea, coffee & other drinks replenished daily. Decorated beautifully. Bedroom decoration & furniture again was superb, bed was ultra comfortable & roof window enabled a view of the stars while relaxing. Bathroom contained the largest shower I've ever seen, it was great. Hosts, Debbie & Ian are at hand to help in any way they can to make your stay perfect, both were fantastic hosts. Breakfast leaves you the most difficult choice of all, cooked or pancakes! Both are cooked to perfection & are a perfect way to start your day, fresh local produce beautifully prepared. Debbie was very helpful & knowledgable when it came to offering idea's for things to do & places to see. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Bluebell suite offered separate living / sleeping accommodation.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucsFanCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Wow thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room as much as you did. It was a pleasure to make your weekend special.
Best wishes to you both
Debbie & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed over the May bank holiday weekend (2014) and it was a wonderful experience. The accommodation is of a very high standard, the location is very convenient for places of interest, the breakfast is just about perfect and Debbie is a great host. It was the best B and B we have ever stayed in and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMcE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandyfaelog
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
462 reviews
4.9 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
432 reviews
10.6 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
174 reviews
7.5 mi away
Beudy Bach Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy B&B

Address: Ystrad Fach Farm | Carmarthen, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthen SA17 5NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llandyfaelog
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llandyfaelog
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Dairy B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Dairy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy B&B Llandyfaelog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing