We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Excellent recently refurbished room. The common parts of the hotel are outdated and due for refurbishment & if they are done with the same taste and standard of the room we stayed in I look forward to returning when they are complete.
Excellent evening meal and first class breakfast. Very pleasant staff. Good beer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyharry34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    108
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
84
183
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Nice hotel with staff who couldn't have done more. Rooms well finished, clean and modern with nice views of the hills. The only negatives are the dining room where because they've built a banqueting suite this has all but blocked every window so little daylight. This is not helped by dark drapes and dimmers on the lights. Also the White linen tablecloths have been replaced by laminate wood tables. Turn up the lights, put out nice tablecloths and lighter drapes and the ambiance would be so much better.
The other let down was the food. When it was good it was good but other times the cool seemed over fond of the grill so breakfast bacon arrived always crisp and often burnt (even the staff started to apologise as they brought the plates). In addition the food seems to be pre-cooked and put under heat lamps so plates red hot but food often had a dry crust on top.
In fairness it improved during the stay so I think the staff passing comment to the kitchens worked. Unfortunately by then we had found one of the many good restaurants in the area.
Lesson: be polite but say something. Would we stay again? Yes ......but would either comment mediately or eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helfpful. The hotel rooms were recently refurbished to a high standard, had a comfortable bed. I used the bar which was cozy and again well appointed. Restaurant menu appeared a bit pricey, so I didn't eat there. The hotel let itself down on some details. The bathroom whilst spacious, and recently refurbished was let down by poor design. The bathroom had a towel rack- however there was no way it could be switched on- so there was no way the towel could be warmed- why bother having a rack if I couldn't use it. The towel curtain didn't extend all the way round the bath- leading to the bathroom floor getting very wet.

The cooked breakfast at the hotel was good, and again served by staff with a friendly and helpful attitude. However some of the advertised ingredients weren't available- in fairness the staff did double check and then appologised for this, and to a point it's something you've got to expect from time to time. Nevertheless, when you are paying almost London room rates- you do expect these sorts of details to be correct. The price was a bit steep in my view.

In fairness these issues do need to be seen in context. Whilst I have stayed in better in Pembrokeshire, I've stayed in a lot worse too. The view from the room was great, the location was convenient, and the staff were helpful. So on balance I would recommend the hotel, it's a pity that a few details have let it down, it could have easily had a four star rating or possibly a five had these issues not arisen.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2011.
Room was pleasant and clean. Bathroom OK.
Food excellent.

Overall a good stay but the reception staff leave a bit to be desired. Not that dynamic to say the least and really move at their own very slow pace.

Would I stay again? Probably not. Would I eat there again, yes if in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We ate here twice at the end of July 2011, and both times were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value of the food, and the friendly & efficient service.

A 3 course meal for two with a couple of drinks came to £48 one night and £65 another (they have a very good value 3 course dinner menu at about £20). The menu was not enormous nor adventurous, but still varied enough to please most palates - featuring many things you'd actually want to eat!

On our visits, we tried the crab cakes and duck spring rolls, 'duo' of Welsh lamb and filo basket of summer vegetables, sticky toffee puddings (first night) - all delicious, well presented, and good sized (but not wasteful) portions. The second night we had the soup, steak & chips (with delicately fried onion rings) and knickerbocker glories, and they were also very good examples of popular British dishes.

Definitely recommend. Shame it's so far from home - otherwise we could develop a habit!



The dining room is a little tired looking, but still pleasant. The staff were down to earth, well turned out, polite, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGrandissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had room in hotel annexe which was a bit Lilliputian... everything there but rather small
Good breakfast. helpful staff. Lovely garden where we had breakfast one day. Dining room is dark and hot in the morning with blinds kept closed because of banqueting room behind

Room Tip: main hotel rooms probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Good hotel and base for exploring the area. Staff were friendly and food was good and good portions though after 2 nights on the fixed menu we were ready for a change. Room was nice and refurbished though big bed was the softest I have ever slept in - that may suit some.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
19.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
19.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel And Restaurant Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing