We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Haze Hotel(St Davids)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel(Haverfordwest)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Fishguard)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Druidstone(Haverfordwest)(Great Value!)
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
295
123
40
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
123
40
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionexecutive roomlovely hotelfudgebirthday mealrestaurant menuwedding venuemain coursehigh standardwine listsunday lunchfantastic foodlambpuddingpower showersmoked salmonno lift
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Wolfscastle for 3 nights whilst revisiting Pembrokeshire. Comfortable room with all the normal facilities and very comfy bed.
There's a lively bar where food is served as well as a more formal restaurant. We didn't like the complete lack of ambience in the restaurant so chose to eat in the bar on the 2 occasions we dined. Food was excellent. We arrived on a Thursday which was steak night, and I had a lovely sirloin steak, perfectly cooked, although my husbands T bone was slightly overcooked. On Saturday I ordered from the restaurant menu and my husband ordered from the brasserie menu. Both meals were very good. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked but served in the restaurant. Unfortunately a function room has been built right up to the windows in the restaurant, which is a beautiful room, but with little natural light and dismal lighting the beauty is lost. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but with regard to your comment about our dining room: Although we have recently spent about £10000 on creating a lighter, more contemporary room which we are pleased with, it is, as you posted, without much natural light. Providing the bank manager is agreeable, by April 2013 we will have built a light, airy, brasserie on the side of our bar which will be used for breakfasts and also will give us a comfortable lounge. I hope you come back and see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Superb service, food and excellent rooms. Now ticked as a "must return".

From the initial greeting, through to service of the meal and conversation at the bar, the whole experience was a pleasure. Special Thanks to Andrew Stirling, Bill and all the staff for making the evening tranquil, relaxed and fun!

Really cant recommend The Wolfscastle Hotel enough. Ideally situated on the A40. Perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pemb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, it makes everything we strive very hard to achieve so worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we regularly call into the Wolfscactle Country Hotel for a lunchtime meal.Each time we visit the Wolfscastle Country Hotel, we always have a warm welcome with the staff in the reception area and also with the staff in the restaurant. Food is consistently excellent, is always extremely tasteful and would definately recommend the duck confi.If in the area ensure that you call in there for a memorable reception from the staff and for exceedingly excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

We try very hard to be consistantly good and choose dishes that are both interesting and suitable for most tastes. Thank you for commenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Wolfscastle hotel whilst I was away in business. The hotel looks quaint from outside but what you don't see from its images is the busy road adjacent from the hotel.

The room was old fashioned with creaking floors and the electricity tripped off in several rooms, this happened to me whilst i was taking a shower, could have been very dangerous as there was no natural light to guide me out.

I checked out approximately 7:15 as I needed to attended a meeting and there was no one on reception!!! I had to call back later to settle my bill.. Weird if you ask me!! I think it must have been the general manager who took the call, sounded a little defensive on the phone as aposed to organising his staffing resource properly. Beautiful location but I would certainly not stay here again!!

Stayed: October 2011
1  Thank WalesCityBreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

This gentleman stayed a year ago. Since then we have completely refurbished the rooms, screwed down any squeaky floorboards and recarpeted all the general areas and whilst we have never had a major problem with electricity, the whole hotel has been rewired. Obviously no one being on reception at 7:15 is most unusual as our staff start work at 6:45am, this must have been a one off, but we take card numbers upon booking for a guarantee, so phoning back was not necessary! Also, the road is quite close to the hotel, but it has never been mentioned before as, in this part of the world, traffic is rare. After a year, the manager and myself have no recollection of this occasion, but sincerely hope the writer returns and sees the improvements when he will be given teh service that most of our customers experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Andrew and Mandy from Wolfcastle Hotel provided outside catering service for our marquee wedding on the 1st of September 2012. They arranged all the staff, hiring of kitchen equipment and setting up the marquee for us which was a god send. The quality of the food and service was absolutely faultless, our guests commented on the generous portion sizes and fabulous food for both the breakfast and reception meals. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. We would highly recommend the outside catering services of Wolfcastle Hotel to any other couples planning a wedding or any other occasion as we could not have asked for anymore. Thank you to Andy, Mandy and all staff members who made our day so special. Rachel and Rob Saunders.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and your guests and wish you the very best for your future together. We enjoy outside catering when we feel it does not jeopardize functions we have on in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews