We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Milford Haven
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Bistro”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A great new addition to a lovely friendly hotel, food was delicious and cooked to a high standard. Get there early..its busy. Unfortunately we had booked but we were offered a table in the bar area, it left us a little dissappointed as the bistro was buzzing!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salichef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    114
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
89
192
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
HertfordshireRon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Some people will moan if the slightest thing does not fit their narrow world view.
What is not to like about the Wolfscastle set up?
We stayed in for 4 nights in March (3 nights at the £20 a room b&b if £50 spent in restaurant) then 3 nights in April at the slightly higher offer. We are house hunting so it was a very relaxing base.
Food excellent, though a bit of a struggle if you are vegetarian , which we are, in terms of choice. A bit of negotiation still ensures you get something freshly prepared and enjoyable.
Staff, consistently excellent and seemed to get on well with each other.
We have frequently stayed at this welcoming hotel and will continue to do so and recommend it to all our family and friends.
Always show initiative in providing functions involving the local community not just the tourists.
Sad to see The local pub down the road now closed, sign of times, big loss.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
i enjoyed this writers review, the first line definitely brought a smile to my face! if staying for a few days, as you did it is worth asking for differnt vegetarian dishes as we only offer about 5, fine for 1 or 2 nights, but, I agree, limited if staying longer.
The good news is the pup is reopening soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife & I eat here on a regular basis because basically you get quality restaurant food at pub prices (actually it's considerably cheaper than many of the local pubs). They have both a bar area where you can take meals, as well as a restaurant & also occasionally do special themed nights such as Spanish, Greek etc. The food in general though tends to steer more towards the traditional British with strong local sourcing of produce. The menu choice is not extensive but it is unlikely that you will be unable to find something to your taste & this approach always ensures you end up with a meal prepared to a high standard. All this in combination with reasonably priced drinks & comfortable accommodation should you have pre-planned a stay, ensures a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you very much - you have complimented all of the things we try to aspire to doing well and it is good to see that you appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARMARTHENSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here on the March special £20 B&B if you spent £50 in the restaurant. Dinner served was very good.
With excellent food, warm and welcoming staff we decided to book a two night stay over the Easter weekend along with our friends from the North West / England. We paid £60 per night. Our rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Unlike our previous room - these rooms had not been refurbished. We ate in both evenings in the new Brasserie - the food served was very good. The menu was very good, plenty of choice and reasonably priced. One could also eat from the Fine Dining menu. During our stay we did "Not" have one bad meal.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Unfortunately we will not be doing such a good deal ( £20 b&B for 2 ) until possibly next winter, but it is a great chance to experience the hotel for not a lot of money. Thank you for your positive comments about the food and the welcoming staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We ate here twice last week, Easter Sunday lunch and Steak Night. We had a great time on both occasions. The food was excellent, we had lamb and profiteroles on Sunday, the profiteroles were to die for! I am very fussy with my steak but I thoroughly enjoyed Steak Night. As usual on both occasions the staff were pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. The new conservatory extension has transformed the bar area making it cosy and inviting. We certainly look forward to our next visit to the Wolfcastle Country Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank yo so much for your kind words as i keep saying, we try ery hard and it is rewarding when people appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights just after Easter and it was a perfectly nice hotel. We had an Executive Room with big bathroom and lovely big bed. The wifi was a bit hit and miss and the tea & coffee could have been a bit more imaginative but the free water was a nice touch and the staff were friendly too.

Didn't get the offer which other people have mentioned (annoying!) but didn't mind paying £60 a night for the room as it was comfy and clean. The room had been recently refurbished too.

Restaurant was DELICIOUS, highly recommended...

Recommend it for a stay and there's lots of places to visit nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to many places in Pembrokeshire, however, we were disappointed.

Overall, the hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. The room was big and the bathroom very big with a bath and separate shower.

However, we found the restaurant's menu to be not to our liking. I only found one thing on it that I fancied so we only ate there one night. The meal was nice even though it took about an hour to arrive from us sitting down. The delay was partly due to poorly trained staff. The staff were running around helping people, sadly not in a particularly efficient manner. Also, they ran out of two (out of 3) of the cuts of steak on their weekly 'steak night'. A sign of bad management/planning.

The breakfast was good although the bacon was dripping in grease both mornings and a little undercooked. It is the only full English breakfast that I can remember with parsley decoration and baked beans in a little soup pot. A bit too pretentious for us.

Another problem was the heating. We returned to our room at 10pm and the heating was off so I complained. This involved a trip downstairs as there was nobody in reception to answer the phone (they were too busy in the restaurant). To the hotel's credit, they did turn it on. However, it was off again in the morning. The outside temperatures were negative over night. This is most definitely not what I would expect.

Additionally, the wifi was extremely hit and miss. We had a full or nearly full signal strength in our room, but it was painfully slow. It took 16 minutes for my wife to complete a simple transaction with her bank. At one minute the internet would be normal, the next nothing.

Finally, if you do decide to stay there, I recommend phoning and not booking online. We heard someone taking a reservation and the room rate was over 20% less than we paid.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. I've stayed in worse, but not for a long time. It looks like they have recently completed an extension to there dining facilities. This seems to indicate where their interests lay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
I am glad you liked your room which was a free upgrade to an executive room.
With in the region of 27 dishes to choose from, I am amazed you could not find anything to your liking although what you chose was very nice, so you say. This was the first steak night featured in our new brasserie and we were overwhelmed with the amount of people who came to try it. We felt we coped well but unfortunately ran out of an item or two.
The heating at this time of year is on from 5am-9am, 12 noon -2 pm and 5pm - 10pm. Electric heaters are positioned in ALL our bedrooms in case supplimentary heating is required. The WiFi does slow down if having heavy usage, this situation is being looked into to try to improve it.
Our breakfast, as you say was good - despite the comment on the bacon, which is cooked to order - beans we put into a seperate recepticle so that it is your choice whether you want them to mix with other foodstuffs on your plate. A member of staff would have been pleased to put then onto your plate if you had so wished.

Whether booking on-line or by telephone the same offers, if they are available at the time of booking are available and of course this guest, only hearing one side of a telphone conversation , would have had no idea of what, how many or when the reservation being made over the telephone was for.
We have recently re-furbished all our bedrooms and extended our catering facilities to create a comfortable lounge for our guests and a bright breakfast room so that both residents and diners can be catered for in more comfort.
We try always to ensure that every guest gores away satisfied and I am sorry that you felt we fell short on this occasion - it is hard to always please everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
493 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,193 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
12.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
198 reviews
12.8 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest
Wolfscastle Country Hotel Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing