We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Haze Hotel(St Davids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Druidstone(Haverfordwest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
295
123
40
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
123
40
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionexecutive roomlovely hotelfudgebirthday mealrestaurant menuwedding venuemain coursehigh standardwine listsunday lunchfantastic foodlambpuddingpower showersmoked salmonno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had never been to Wales before and travelled to Wolfs Castle from Ross and the Beacons. We chose this hotel for the location close to the Pembroke coast with flexibility to go either way. A great choice. Our room was perfect with a very nice bathroom complete with olympic sized bath. Bed was very comfortable and although the room faced the road it was quiet. The gardens are enchanting with evening lights - a great place to finish your wine. All staff were just right and I will make a special mention of the waiting team who were all professional and friendly with nothing too much trouble for them - Well done guys. The food was good. Well prepared and served with my favourite of the trip being Surf and Turf [Haddock on a bed of Brisket]. Wouldn't have risked serving it myself but let tell, you it was perfect. Wine list wasn't extensive but what there was was good and not outrageously expensive. Never felt rushed, pushed or had over attentive staff - they got it right. As Arne says - We will be back.
Nearly forgot, there is a nice walk from the hotel through the woods alongside a small river. You don't need to get your car out.

Room Tip: Go for and upgraded room if you can at the front of the hotel. I there is a function on at the back, you wont hear it. If there are any big groups at the front, go and join them.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Tom our head chef is very creative - I must admit the first time he suggested serving haddock on brisket I was a little hesitant - but it has been very sucessful. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Rooms were nicely done, food was excellent, service friendly and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed here for one night while enjoying the sunshine in Pembrokeshire last weekend. The rooms are nice, (if I was critical of anything the bathroom might benefit from a makeover) the best part about this hotel was the combination of excellent food and staff that were friendly and really helpful to us as tourists

I went downstairs for a beer before dinner and was directed outside into the sun and a very cold beer promptly arrived. 2 menus, restaurant and bar "feel free to mix and match" which was fantastic and not the stuffyness that many hotels have

The dinner was great, great choice, good value and wines not too expensive. Breakfast was excellent too and included in the rate

Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PointyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank yo for your kind comments. As I have said previously we upgrade as fast as money will allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited this Hotel on 30th June and 7th July for Sunday lunch, which was extremely well presented and superbly cooked. The surroundings were clean and tidy, with a choice of eating in the restaurant or the conservatory. A main course only was £10.50, two courses were £14.50, the overall value was very good and such good helpings it was a struggle to manage a sweet!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

As I have said in previous reviews, Sunday lunch is something I feel we do very well and thank you for mentioning it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff welcoming. We stayed for one night en route home after our holiday. The food at dinner was delicious, but the experience was spoilt by the staff being over attentive. There were only three tables in use in the dining room and we did feel very rushed which was such a shame. We would have appreciated more time between courses and generally more time to enjoy the lovely food. Maybe it would have been better if we had eaten in the Brasserie which was much busier. Otherwise an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshdragon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, which we will take note from. Over attentive is obviously better than being ignored, we have a checklist in the kitchen which tells us who and when a member of the waiting team has checked on a customer, so, in a perfect world, this should not happen. Thank you for your other, positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we booked a standard double room 4 10 nig hts when checking in we were told we had been up graded free because we were staying longer than a couple of days t he room was huge the bed kingsize and v comfortable lovely views food was good 2choices of menu alacarte and bar menu
bar menu was better 2 choices to sit to eat restaurant or bar restaurant most people ate in there
breakfast was brilliant cooked fresh to order makes a change not a lot of places do this anymore
lovely gardens good decoration throughout when we left charlotte and amy we think the waitresses came out to say good bye and reception best holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Personally, I hate buffet breakfasts. Lots of warm, toughening food for everyone to breathe over, so, I am glad you appreciated our individually cooked breakfasts. It is harder work, but in our opinion, and yours, so much better. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews