We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real find.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We've stayed several times at the Wolfs Castle hotel and it only gets better. The rooms are spacious and we had a lovely view - some stairs to climb but it was worth it. The restaurant was terrific,real Cordon Bleu cooking - the chef has been a contestant on Masterchef, and the staff were completely helpful and friendly. We'll go again for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but there are stairs to climb. No life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelajoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank yo fo ryour kind comments. We try very hard and it is nice when it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    114
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
89
192
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I booked a room for a colleague who was traveling back from Ireland on the late ferry. He wouldn't get in until about 1am. Despite this there was no fuss from the staff here - quite the opposite. They were very helpful and arranged a late supper in his room for when he arrived. I had tried several hotels in the area previously, and none could or would help.
I spoke to this colleague the following morning after his stay and he said this was one of the best hotel's he had stayed in for some time in terms of their helpfulness, quality of the accommodation and food.
We work all over the UK and always try to stay in good quality hotels where you can get respite after a 12hr or more day. Good food, a pleasant attitude from staff and comfortable rooms all help, so considering the standard we try to find I think this is good praise for the Wolf's Castle. Thank you to them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank yo for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had never been to Wales before and travelled to Wolfs Castle from Ross and the Beacons. We chose this hotel for the location close to the Pembroke coast with flexibility to go either way. A great choice. Our room was perfect with a very nice bathroom complete with olympic sized bath. Bed was very comfortable and although the room faced the road it was quiet. The gardens are enchanting with evening lights - a great place to finish your wine. All staff were just right and I will make a special mention of the waiting team who were all professional and friendly with nothing too much trouble for them - Well done guys. The food was good. Well prepared and served with my favourite of the trip being Surf and Turf [Haddock on a bed of Brisket]. Wouldn't have risked serving it myself but let tell, you it was perfect. Wine list wasn't extensive but what there was was good and not outrageously expensive. Never felt rushed, pushed or had over attentive staff - they got it right. As Arne says - We will be back.
Nearly forgot, there is a nice walk from the hotel through the woods alongside a small river. You don't need to get your car out.

Room Tip: Go for and upgraded room if you can at the front of the hotel. I there is a function on at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Tom our head chef is very creative - I must admit the first time he suggested serving haddock on brisket I was a little hesitant - but it has been very sucessful. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooburn Green
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Rooms were nicely done, food was excellent, service friendly and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed here for one night while enjoying the sunshine in Pembrokeshire last weekend. The rooms are nice, (if I was critical of anything the bathroom might benefit from a makeover) the best part about this hotel was the combination of excellent food and staff that were friendly and really helpful to us as tourists

I went downstairs for a beer before dinner and was directed outside into the sun and a very cold beer promptly arrived. 2 menus, restaurant and bar "feel free to mix and match" which was fantastic and not the stuffyness that many hotels have

The dinner was great, great choice, good value and wines not too expensive. Breakfast was excellent too and included in the rate

Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PointyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank yo for your kind comments. As I have said previously we upgrade as fast as money will allow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited this Hotel on 30th June and 7th July for Sunday lunch, which was extremely well presented and superbly cooked. The surroundings were clean and tidy, with a choice of eating in the restaurant or the conservatory. A main course only was £10.50, two courses were £14.50, the overall value was very good and such good helpings it was a struggle to manage a sweet!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
As I have said in previous reviews, Sunday lunch is something I feel we do very well and thank you for mentioning it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff welcoming. We stayed for one night en route home after our holiday. The food at dinner was delicious, but the experience was spoilt by the staff being over attentive. There were only three tables in use in the dining room and we did feel very rushed which was such a shame. We would have appreciated more time between courses and generally more time to enjoy the lovely food. Maybe it would have been better if we had eaten in the Brasserie which was much busier. Otherwise an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, which we will take note from. Over attentive is obviously better than being ignored, we have a checklist in the kitchen which tells us who and when a member of the waiting team has checked on a customer, so, in a perfect world, this should not happen. Thank you for your other, positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we booked a standard double room 4 10 nig hts when checking in we were told we had been up graded free because we were staying longer than a couple of days t he room was huge the bed kingsize and v comfortable lovely views food was good 2choices of menu alacarte and bar menu
bar menu was better 2 choices to sit to eat restaurant or bar restaurant most people ate in there
breakfast was brilliant cooked fresh to order makes a change not a lot of places do this anymore
lovely gardens good decoration throughout when we left charlotte and amy we think the waitresses came out to say good bye and reception best holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Personally, I hate buffet breakfasts. Lots of warm, toughening food for everyone to breathe over, so, I am glad you appreciated our individually cooked breakfasts. It is harder work, but in our opinion, and yours, so much better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
493 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,195 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
12.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
198 reviews
12.8 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest
Wolfscastle Country Hotel Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing