We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited recently with a group of other local chefs/cooks for an afternoon lunch. The refurbishments of the bistro and dining room look fantastic. Tom and the team cooked up a delicious 4 course lunch and based on this and the lovely staff I would definitely recommend and will be going back again for lunch/dinner to try some other dishes. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Obviously when you are catering for chefs it has to be right and I am so glad this person enjoyed the occasion. Thank you for telling us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    108
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
83
182
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here during Half Term at the end of October. I can agree with the other reviews which comment on the warm welcome and friendly staff. ALL the staff we met we very professional, warm and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and a varied enough menu to mean we ate there 3 out of the 4 nights. Breakfast was also very good - although a little slow from placing our order for cooked food (and not the biggest portions). The room was very comfortable and we didn't a sound on any night. The shower was AMAZING!!
The location was ideal for exploring Pembrokeshire as you could get to the north, St Davids in about 30 mins, and even Tenby in under an hour.
We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area, and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

During our vacation in Wales with our good friends, we celebrated our 20th anniversary with dinner at this restaurant. We received a warm welcome from everyone and the service was very good. The meal was fantastic and probably the best meal we had on our trip. The scallop starters were exceptional, as were the main courses. Everything was perfect and nicely presented. We had marvelous desserts, but even better was the homemade fudge they served with the coffee. Resistance is futile - you must get the take-away pack of these.

The décor was fresh and modern in a comfortable way and it looks like a lovely place to stay. We considered giving up our B&B to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmculpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
The fudge is from our "Gourmet to go" range - we are creating a range of take away food for people who want to eat our food at home. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Whilst in Pembrokeshire for a few days' holiday, we decided to splash out on a meal for my birthday. The atmosphere was great and the food was excellent. Initially, given that most of the staff were young, we wondered what sort of service we would get. We needn't have worried the staff couldn't have been more helpful and extremely pleasant. What's more, the meal didn't cost much more than the previous night's pub meal down the road, BUT SO, SO MUCH BETTER.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
When I eat out at local pubs I am surprised at how expensive they are & yet the quality is lacking.
I agree wholeheartedly with this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a relaxing 1 night stay here, our 3rd in as many years. We return time and time again, as the Wolfscastle is a perfect base when visiting our family in Haverfordwest. After a very good night's sleep we were treated to a full English breakfast served in the new Brasserie area, a valuable modern addition to this lovely hotel. We will certainly be returning next year and look forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Many thanks for commenting on our breakfast, we use free range local foods, cooked to order which I think are very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you want a great welcome, great food and great accommodation with great walks this is the place !!! Came for one night break to unwind and this was exactly what we were looking for. If you have a dog they are welcomed

Room Tip: Executive double very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonsCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
During the winter months we offer (subject to availability) a two day break for only £195 - 2 people dinner, bed & breakfast, a bargain!! hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stated in room number 5. Very comfy bed and great pressure in the shower. Cold tap on the sink had a life of its own though. Room was a touch warm for an October night and leaving open windows meant the A40 traffic was disturbing especially when the Fishguard ferry had emptied in the wee hours. Service and feeling was very relaxed. A different room may be a better option next time. Dinner was very good - reviewed separately.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Heating can be switched off in the room, next time please tell us if you are too warm. The mattress on the bed is, I am told, the same mattress as the Queen has on her bed. Top of the range Hypnos mattress with 2" of cashmere on the top, so,so comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
19.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
19.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel And Restaurant Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing