We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Ever, First-Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for food and the occasional overnight for over 10 years now. It is the best dining experience for miles - delicious meals, great care and attention given by the management and the friendly staff to every detail. And great ambience. Recent extensions have enlarged the hotel and bar by a clever use of space, and to the customary high standard. A delight to visit!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MandAWWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

In the modern business world, average or mediocre is a dangerous area to be in, so we have invested heavily in both staff and refurbishment - Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've been visiting The Wolfscastle for the last 35 years or so, only annually but sadly this last visit will be my last. I've always loved the cosy bar, enjoying a pint and the bar meals. However, on driving into the hotel I noticed the new garish signage and my heart sank. Heading for the "old bar" I noticed the new conservatory style set up, and I'm sorry, but it just lacked any warmth or atmosphere. As ever the food was good, though portion size smaller than I remember, and the staff very polite and helpful. But for me, sadly Wolfscastle is now fine, rather than special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monktonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We have converted our old bar which was a cross between a bar and a lounge and never quite, I felt doing either job well - into a cosy lounge with soft furnishings and a wood burner and a contemporary eating area that appeals to old and young alike. To the side we have built an area with rattan chairs and upholstered furniture, which offers a brasserie feel; which 99% have been hugely impressed by. As the customer has said the food is good & the staff polite & helpful, but as Abraham Lincoln said, "you'll never please all of the people, all of the time."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Visiting friends who live quite close to this hotel, we were invited for a pre Christmas midweek lunch. We were very impressed with the hotel both outside and within. We understand that recent work has been done here. Obviously to a very high standard. The hotel was obviously decorated for the festive season and was very beautiful and traditional. The restaurant was very nice and the menu had good choices with a choice from the main menu or the Christmas menu. Good food enjoyed by us all and at reasonable prices. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italy186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, this Christmas was the first time in 37 years that we have done a Christmas menu at lunchtime, a great success, one we will build on for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant and had a really nice meal. Staff were very nice, friendly and attentive. Food tasted fresh and flavourful. There was also plenty of it so we weren't left wanting. With the nice attractive restaurant we found it to be really good value. We will go again.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank AlexHill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I visited midweek and we were disappointed. The menu sounds good but the execution is poor with cheap ingredients used. I had the marinated herb chicken which had lumps of harsh tasting chorizo substitute dotted around which completely overpowered the dish. My wife had the fish of the day which was supposed to come on a bed of spinach but sat on either undercooked chard or cabbage; we were not advised of this substitution. The fish was dry and overcooked. The serving staff were friendly but were let down by the kitchen. We gave no feedback to the server, what's the point ?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Orangemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

What's the point? the last comment made.... the point is that we really care & if we don't get it right we need to do something about it by not charging, changing the dish and/or giving a voucher to return free of charge to receive the standard of food that most people have. That's the point!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We celebrated my mums 60th birthday here and it was wonderful. To say the food was excellent doesn't do it justice, the staff were ever so accommodating so much so we stayed in the bistro up for 5 hours talking and drinking with no hint of a concern from them. I really couldn't recommend it enough, we'll be going back at the very next opportunity.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

It is so encouraging to recieve such positive reviews, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited recently with a group of other local chefs/cooks for an afternoon lunch. The refurbishments of the bistro and dining room look fantastic. Tom and the team cooked up a delicious 4 course lunch and based on this and the lovely staff I would definitely recommend and will be going back again for lunch/dinner to try some other dishes. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Obviously when you are catering for chefs it has to be right and I am so glad this person enjoyed the occasion. Thank you for telling us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
507 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,217 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
12.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
225 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel

Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range: £88 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest
Wolfscastle Country Hotel Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing