We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have visited the Wolfscastle Hotel on numerous occasions for dinner and have been thoroughly pleased so was looking forward to my first large function at the hotel but what an absolute disappointment. There was only one choice of starter - vegetable soup which certainly didn't look home made, the roast potatoes that accompanied the so called roast beef were frozen with the beef inself inedible due to the fact that I couldn't cut it!! Dessert was a frozen sticky toffee pudding.
Extremely disappointed that this hotel can no longer cater for large numbers. Would not recommend it for a large function at all. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haverfordwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomben, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 May 2009
This was a private function. The menu was the specific choice of the function organisers and in no way reflects the extensive menu choices in our restaurant.

The function organisers disagree with views expressed in this review.

Please note that ALL our menu choices are homemade including soups and desserts. We NEVER use frozen roast potatoes nor frozen desserts. To say we do is verging on libel.

Since this review was posted we have served over 500 customers in large functions with nothing but compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    107
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
177
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

A short break in February led us to Wolfs Castle hotel - An old country house centrally located in Pembrokeshire and ideal for visiting the coast, county towns and the beautiful Presli Hills.
We received a warm welcome at reception and were directed to a small attic room which was comfortable and cosy although rather well worn and in need of some refurbishment. The highlight, however of our visit was our experience on two nights of their excellent restaurant offering old favourite as well as more innovative dishes. Beautiful salmon fishcakes with lime mayonnaise and a wonderful brisket of beef braised in red wine - the sweets were great as well.
The reception staff and polish restaurant staff were very friendly, although on our two nights the female bar staff were a bit off-hand - probably because they had a big function on that night. However, this would not dissuade us from visiting this hotel again.
PS - very good breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raycarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

fantastic stay here for 1 night whilsr on business.
arrived lateand was told i could still have dinner which wa delivered to my room as i was tired.
friendly staff. comfy bed and great shower.
b'fast yummy and pricev reasonable.
will go back for a holiday/weekend stay!

  • Liked — nice bed!
  • Disliked — stairs a bit noisy - but not a problem
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eastdevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

We have been meaning to visit this hotel ever since reading Paddy Burt's "Room Service" review in the Saturday Daily Telegraph and we are in complete agreement with her.
We recently stayed at the hotel for 3 days and we were extremely pleased with the friendly service and food. The staff did their utmost to make us feel welcome and the food was superb. You could chose from a traditional menu of interesting, authentic home prepared meals or select from the excellent a la carte. We stayed in a standard room that was more than adequate with modern, clean bathrooms, flat screen televisions and king size beds, which made our stay very comfortable. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and excellent food and accommodation
  • Disliked — About 8 miles to the nearest beach
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

30 minutes after being at the wolfscastle I thought I had entered a parallel universe…. Well it’s definitely a different one frequented b most of the people who have left reviews on here! I would not rate this hotel even average quality. I found much of the décor to be tired…

I began to get concerned when we were lead to our room along a poorly lit and damp smelling corridor… it was so poorly lit, the porter had to use a torch to get the key in the door!

Our problems continued on entering the room… the double room we had booked turned out to have two single beds pushed together, with two single quilts. We were told the room had a view of the car park extending to the country side... no one mentioned the full builders skip right outside the window…. The linen on the bed was clearly past its best…. In the night I managed to put a finger through the pillow case as it was so thin… you could not flush the toile without it making a loud noise.

Food in the restaurant was quite good although the waitress bought the wrong glass of wine and the steak I ordered as medium was very rare indeed! However, the dinning room itself (also where they serve breakfast) is very claustrophobic. There is hardly ANY natural light, with the exception of some very small windows at ceiling level.

One of the worst hotel experinces for many years, there are much better places available for the money the Wollfscastle charge…. I won’t be going back.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leintwardine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We arrived at the hotel which is situated near a main road and side road, but the traffic could hardly be heard. The hotel has a smart entrance lobby area and one could see a large conference room in the distance which spills out to a lovely garden. We arrived into the smart lobby which had a sign to go to the bar if it wasn't manned. It wasn't and I searched for the manager who was helping in the bar (not sure if this is good as first impressions count). We were treated well and booked into room 10 which looked out to the nearest hill which had a dramatic castle ruin for a view. The room was adequate although a little small and was decorated with anaglypta wall paper and furnished with pine furniture. Despite this there were leather seats to sit on and the bathroom was very clean although the shower was a bath shower (didn't like the shower curtain , glass screen please). Having read the reviews about hot rooms at the top of the hotel we noticed a stand-alone fan, which kept things cool. Staff were easy going, polite and helpful. The food in the dining room was excellent and I agree is excellent value for money (we paid £140.00 for dinner, bed and breakfast for a double room). We had no problem with young staff serving us as they were good. Hot plates we liked but were usually forewarned before we touched them. Staff were keen to see we were happy in the restaurant. The hotel is a good place to discover St David's and the beaches nearby. We enjoyed the experience!

  • Liked — clean and adequate
  • Disliked — a little small and decor new but dated choice
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

We booked two nights at the Wolfscastle Country Hotel, based on previous feedback on this web site. We were looking for good accommodation within a short drive of the St.Davids area at a reasonable price and this fitted the criteria.
Overall we found the hotel to be of good quality, clean and comfortable. The evening meals were very good - we eat in the bar as the restaurant was almost empty and seemed to have almost no atmosphere - unfortunately it doesn't have any windows so you cannot enjoy a view. The meals and staff seemed to be the same in both the bar and restaurant so we were satisfied with our choice.
The breakfasts, in the restaurant. were OK, but the staff less interested in serving than preparing for lunch. The breakfast food again was OK but nothing special. Again almost nobody else was in the restaurant for breakfast.
On our first night it was very hot and uncomfortable in our top-floor standard room, we then asked for a replacement room for the second night. Fortunately the helpful receptionists were able to find us another room on a lower floor and this was much more better for sleeping on a warm evening. Many thanks for the assistance and help.

  • Liked — Convenient for St.Davids. Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Very warm top floor rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
4.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
12.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
19.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel And Restaurant Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing