We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly tired decor, but good food and great breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Slightly tired decor, but good food and great breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I spent two nights in the hotel and was on the whole happy.
The decor in the rooms is quite quite dated and old fashioned, and the bed is not the most comfortable, but the bathrooms are good, and the breakfasts are fab -good local food served by cheerful waitresses.
The restaurant food is also good, although quite expensive - expect to pay around £20 for a main meal, although there is a cheaper 'pub food' menu.
The hotel is well located to explore the local scenery and there are lots of maps and leaflets in reception.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    108
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
83
181
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way to Ireland. The room was comfortable with all amenities. The food was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the staff in the restaurant. They need some intense training in how to wait at tables. Cutlery was held at the wrong end when laying the table. We saw one waitress carrying clean glasses to a table holding the glasses with her fingers inside the glasses. We had a £35 bottle of wine which arrived at the table already opened and was just left there for us to taste and serve ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We spent three nights at this hotel, which is reasonably quietly located but within easy reach of, say, the Pembroke Coastal Path. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the restaurant menu was quite extensive and well presented. Overall the hotel provided a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

We booked on line having previously recommended this hotel from the time we arrived until the bill was paid we experienced nothing but a first class service and value. Quite pleasingly we were upgraded from a standard double room to an executive room and were very appreciative of the gesture. The hotel has an excellent reputation for its food and once again we were not disappointed, although it may well be worth giving the bar menu a go as the bar meals looked equally as good as the main restaurant meals.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have visited the Wolfscastle Hotel on numerous occasions for dinner and have been thoroughly pleased so was looking forward to my first large function at the hotel but what an absolute disappointment. There was only one choice of starter - vegetable soup which certainly didn't look home made, the roast potatoes that accompanied the so called roast beef were frozen with the beef inself inedible due to the fact that I couldn't cut it!! Dessert was a frozen sticky toffee pudding.
Extremely disappointed that this hotel can no longer cater for large numbers. Would not recommend it for a large function at all. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haverfordwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomben, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 May 2009
This was a private function. The menu was the specific choice of the function organisers and in no way reflects the extensive menu choices in our restaurant.

The function organisers disagree with views expressed in this review.

Please note that ALL our menu choices are homemade including soups and desserts. We NEVER use frozen roast potatoes nor frozen desserts. To say we do is verging on libel.

Since this review was posted we have served over 500 customers in large functions with nothing but compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

A short break in February led us to Wolfs Castle hotel - An old country house centrally located in Pembrokeshire and ideal for visiting the coast, county towns and the beautiful Presli Hills.
We received a warm welcome at reception and were directed to a small attic room which was comfortable and cosy although rather well worn and in need of some refurbishment. The highlight, however of our visit was our experience on two nights of their excellent restaurant offering old favourite as well as more innovative dishes. Beautiful salmon fishcakes with lime mayonnaise and a wonderful brisket of beef braised in red wine - the sweets were great as well.
The reception staff and polish restaurant staff were very friendly, although on our two nights the female bar staff were a bit off-hand - probably because they had a big function on that night. However, this would not dissuade us from visiting this hotel again.
PS - very good breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raycarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

fantastic stay here for 1 night whilsr on business.
arrived lateand was told i could still have dinner which wa delivered to my room as i was tired.
friendly staff. comfy bed and great shower.
b'fast yummy and pricev reasonable.
will go back for a holiday/weekend stay!

  • Liked — nice bed!
  • Disliked — stairs a bit noisy - but not a problem
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eastdevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
9.2 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
19.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
19.8 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel And Restaurant Pembrokeshire/Wolf's Castle, Wales
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing