We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Le Grand Cornet outside and patio area Comfortable living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Le Grand Cornet outside and patio area
Comfortable living room
Spacious kitchen and dining area
Double bedroom 1
Double bedroom 2
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Outside dining
Le Grand Cornet's handmade oak door
The shared Pool Terrace
Sunloungers and comfortable seating with external wifi
Hand carved statue in the car park made from one of the original roof timbers
La Barde surrounding countryside
Riverside walks behind Moulin de la Barde
Riverside stepping stones
The picturesque village of Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
The monolithic church at Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
The river beach at Saint-Aulaye
Stunning sunflower fields of the Charente
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Severin, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
suz592018
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Moulin de la Barde is idyllic. There are 2 gites available to rent each with their own enclosed patio area.
Not only have they been renovated to the highest standards but they are furnished beautifully and have everything that you need for a wonderful holiday.
The location is so peaceful and pretty and ideally located to explore the area, which is rich with history, shopping and lovely restaurants.
Our hosts, Jo and Gary along with their delightful daughters, not forgetting the crazy dogs! round off the perfect package.
Moulin de la Barde is a treasure, which I hope to visit again as soon as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you so much, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneRange...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little slice of French paradise, that is Moulin de la Barde. ”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

As a party of four adults, we spent a wonderful relaxing week at gite Le Grand Cornet, set within acres of rolling hills and lush woodlands. Located some 15 minutes walk outside the village of Saint Séverin, Moulin de la Barde was an excellent base which enabled us to explore the fabulous picturesque French Towns and Villages that are scattered around the region. Our fantastic hosts, Gary, Jo and their two beautiful kids Hannah and Amy, were always on hand to provide us with help and advice on places of interest to visit, as well as great local restaurants to dine in. Our gite, was beautifully presented, spotlessly clean throughout and had everything you would ever want in a modern, stylish gite, even WiFi. We learnt that both gites were originally traditional paper mills but had since been completely rebuilt by Gary and Jo from their humble beginnings. You can sense the love and pride that was put into the renovations by the high level of workmanship and stylish interior decoration throughout. In the warm sunny evenings we really enjoyed lounging on the large wooden decking, with cold beer in hand, whilst watching the Sun set over the surrounding lush green woodlands. Gary, Jo and the kids will be our friends for life and we cannot thank them enough for making our stay so truly enjoyable and for allowing us to briefly share in their little slice of French paradise that is Moulin de la Barde.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words - they mean so much to us all. We hope to see you all again here very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahm124...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Grand Cornet at the Moulin de la Barde gites. Gary, Jo and their girls were great hosts who welcomed us into their home. Our daughter loved to feed the chickens every day and we all enjoyed the short walk (15 mins) to the local boulangerie every morning. The gite is comfortable and well equipped and ideally located to explore the local area. We hope to return next year for more of the same!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazenine
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our first holiday in France and we were so glad that we had booked this gite! The property is perfect - big, clean and everything needed for a great time was supplied. There is free wi-fi and TV with English programmes. The village of Saint Severin has a Spar supermarket with very pleasant staff, cafe, post office, paper shop and a fruit shop - all in all all you need for everyday living. Supermarkets are available within a short car drive. Finally, the owners are very friendly and welcoming. They have a big property and allow visitors to wander as they will - even with our small dog in tow!. Many thanks to Jo, Gary, Hannah and Amy for a super holiday - we hope to come back and stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and it would be lovely to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanFord19...
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great gites in the beautiful Dordogne ”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From booking til end everything went very smoothly. Jo was great at answering any of our pre holiday questions about the gites and the area. We booked both gites as we were holidaying with friends. They were both clean and comfortable with a modern interior. We all had a great, relaxing holiday and would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a great holiday !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
So pleased that you had a great time and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill G
1 review
“Everything I hoped it would be.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On arrival we were welcomed by Jo Gary Hannah Amy Archie and Bonzo as though we were old friends. What was once part of an old paper mill have been converted into two very modern comfortable gites. Their is much to do and places to visit within a short distance if you can force yourself away from just relaxing in the large grounds set in beautiful countryside. We thoroughly recommend this as a holiday destination and we shall return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It was faultless
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thank you so much - it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical retreat”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have wonderful break family break in beautiful semi rural location with wonderful hosts. The children adored the pool, ducks and chickens.

The biggest challenge was trying to agree on relaxing at the gite or visiting the numerous local attractions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing