We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want my advice...”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Read the one terrible review that Ras Kutani has been given.

Laugh.

Then book a room, in fact no, book a suite.

You wont regret it.

If you don't believe me then read the other 48 reviews singing its praises. There is nothing I can add that they don't already say. This place is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We've been to Ras Kutani several times and it continues to improve. The moment you put your bags down in your completely private room and climb into a hammock you can't help but relax.

The staff are friendly and unobtrusive and the food is excellent. It really is a must if you're visiting Tanzania but do book for at least two nights - one just isn't enough.

Room Tip: Book a beach banda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed at Ras Kutani for the last 5 days of our honeymoon and loved it!

Why???

- the staff were fantastic. Real 1st class.

- the food was amazing. Food is very important to us and we were not let down once. We even ate on the beach by candelight one night.

- the place has character. Tanzania shines through this place, it is not just another hotel.

- we were able to 'mix things up' by either spending our time on the beach (where we saw only a max of about 4 people!) or staying by our room which had subperb views of the sea and it's own loungers and plunge pool.

and finally because.....we did not wear shoes for the whole 5 days - very liberating! - as the paths are all sanded and there is a very 'relaxed vibe'.

Make sure you visit here if ever you come to Tanzania!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 1 (the most sought after room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Overall, very nice. Definitely a rustic feel, for those who want an escape from the hustle. Not a luxury establishment, but luxury really isn't needed in the hotel... Nature provides it just fine. Marc is a great and attentive host. Bravo!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randeeesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Ras Kutani is without doubt one of the most amazing places we have ever (and probably will ever) stayed in our lives! It's real Robin Crusoe style living with unfussy luxury, which is exactly in keeping with its natural surrounds. Admittedly, we were in Suite 1 (which apparently is the best accommodation there), but what the hell - it was our honeymoon! From the moment we landed on the air strip and rowed across the lagoon to our home for 3 nights to the second we departed, we were in heaven.
The suite was so tasteful in its design, a lot of painstaking effort has gone into the whole resort's architecture to ensure that it is completely natural and ecologically sound. The private beach is stunning - the most idyllic way to idle away the day - that's if we could drag ourselves away from the privacy of our suite's sun deck and private plunge pool! The staff were as warm as the sunshine and we left feeling like we had genuinely made friends with every single one of them.
I would probably go there at the end of my Tanzania trip in the future (rather than ending in Zanzibar) so that it's easier to get to Dar Es Salam in the morning for the flight home.

Room Tip: Ask for Suite 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastCarFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed at Ras Kutani over the New Year period. Overall I'd say it was ok. Our room was a cottage not a suite, the suites might be better. Our view was not exactly beachfront, actually you are quite a way back from the beach. It was roomy, with a nice front porch with a hammock. Big king sized bed and then the bathroom. Nothing really special about the room. The monkeys do tend to come in but they don't touch anything so it was quite fun to have them visit.

Beach and the pool were nice. Food was average at best. Really did not think the meals were that great. If I were doing it again, I would not stay here I'd recommend staying at one of the beach resorts on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ras Kutani. There is something special about arriving at the lodge in a canoe (even if its a 5 minute ride), the common area is simple but charming, the beach is picturesque, the white sandy beach is very nice and there were very few people on the coast hence it was peaceful, remote and relaxing. The food was amazing; we were expecting good food as a result of the reviews we read but were surprised by how tasty everything was. Service was also very good though beachside service was somewhat lacking. The pool is small, and didnt look too appealing but maybe thats because the beach area was lovely. The ocean itself is ok, not amazing, the water is not clear, and there is a good amount of seaweed at certain points in the day so I would not say the ocean is top notch but still nice to look at and good for a cool down dip. We stayed in a suite, which was large and while simple, it served its purpose. The straw mats on the floor are an interesting touch, and all the sand stayed under the mats so it wasnt messy at all. There was only one, very small, old fan with no adjustable speed hence was not ideal when trying to sleep but was nevertheless fine. The room could have used a general upgrade as sheets/mosquite netting, etc looked old/worn out. The bathroom was clean and again, for a rustic, remote place, it was acceptable. Half the room (from waist level upwards) is constructed with mosquite netting type material hence the breeze flows through and the sound of the ocean is clear. The room is not entirely sealed off from the outside even with the net hence we had a bat visitor one evening but was able to get it out of the room after some maneuvering. The walkway to the rooms are all sand, and while this does add character to the hotel, after a great (but large meal), walking back to the suite (suites are a bit higher up the property) does get a bit old after a few days but not a big deal. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Ras Kutani and think that it makes for a good combination with a safari.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Culluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#19 of 127 in Dar es Salaam
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#32 of 127 in Dar es Salaam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing