We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

It's all the rave reviews and better. Beautiful. Great service. Excellent food. Beautiful rooms and setting. Lizards, snakes and monkeys add to the African flavour. The perfect place to relax and to detox/detech from our hurried lives. Barefoot paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We spent 5 wonderful days here. The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to give you a memorable stay. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful with stunning views over the canopy, it was just perfect. The food is amazing and so much effort went into the vegetarian food which my husband had, we were very impressed.
The staff are warm and friendly, the beach is unspoiled and the pool is lovely too plus there are shady spaces to retire too when the sun gets too strong.
We were lucky enough to see the baby turtles emerging and making their rush down to the sea which was a great highlight.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I feel like I must for Ras Kutani. I decided to take a few days break there after a work trip to Tanzania. Knowing that I was traveling alone, Lana and all of the managers there made every effort to make sure I was comfortable and had a fun stay, from the handwritten welcome note to arranging a lovely group dinner under the stars.

The location is perfect, and the beach beautiful. At Ras Kutani, they know how to balance luxury with maintaining the integrity of the environment. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves is incomparable.

I had a blissful time there and would love to return, if only it weren't so far from New York!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My only gripe about Ras Kutani was that I didn't want to leave! Set in indigenous coastal forest with a safe swimming beach on your doorstep and rock pools to explore, this is a perfect place to unwind and leave behind the daily grind. The staff are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The food was delicious, the decor interesting and the bar very welcoming. The accommodation is luxurious and spacious. The beds are huge! Take a walk along the lagoon path, explore the beach to the southern point, enjoy a back massage or just laze by the pool sipping a Bloody Mary. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Go for a suite up on the hill with its own plunge pool and sea views. Otherwise lounging in a hammoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrettWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is the most amazing place. The beach is beautiful, food's delicious, and staff is charming. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzskillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

After the mayhem of the wedding and a ten hour flight, the second we were meet at Ras Kutani we felt relaxed! All the paths are sand so you dont need to wear shoes whilst you are there. We stayed in a suite slightly further up the hill and the views out to sea were stunning. We slept to the sounds of the waves every night! You are woken up by fresh coffee and homemade biscuits on the veranda. The food is sensational. The service is incredible. YOu can relax by the pool, or on the beach, or by the private plunge pool. It really was a perfect start to our honeymoon. cant recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were recommended Ras Kutani by Tanzania Odyssey, and I cant thank them enough. This place is breathtaking, and an incredible place for a honeymoon. we spent 4 nights here in a suit with our own plunge pool. the rooms are huge, very clean and perfect really. The food and drinks here are exceptional, and a real effort is made to provide a unique experience for all the guests, with different places to eat in the evening such as by the lagoon, by the pool, as well as on the beach. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The beach is beautiful and quiet, so perfect for a walk as well as a swim.

An amazing place to spend our last few days on honeymoon, as close to paridise as I have ever seen, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
1.8 mi away
Villa Nyangumi
Villa Nyangumi
#36 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
18 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#19 of 132 in Dar es Salaam
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing