We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Douala, Cameroon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is quite simply one of the best hotels, if not the best, in Tanzania. This is our fifth stay this year (we're lucky and live in Dar), this time as a family and before generally as a couple or with friends. The consistent excellent all-round service delivery sets this place apart. Location, food, staff, rooms and service are of the highest quality. If you can, grab a face mask and at low tide swim around the wreck just up the beach. Loads of colourful fish! Full marks to Mark and Lana and the entire staff. Deserves every one of its 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
178
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

It's all the rave reviews and better. Beautiful. Great service. Excellent food. Beautiful rooms and setting. Lizards, snakes and monkeys add to the African flavour. The perfect place to relax and to detox/detech from our hurried lives. Barefoot paradise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We spent 5 wonderful days here. The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to give you a memorable stay. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful with stunning views over the canopy, it was just perfect. The food is amazing and so much effort went into the vegetarian food which my husband had, we were very impressed.
The staff are warm and friendly, the beach is unspoiled and the pool is lovely too plus there are shady spaces to retire too when the sun gets too strong.
We were lucky enough to see the baby turtles emerging and making their rush down to the sea which was a great highlight.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I feel like I must for Ras Kutani. I decided to take a few days break there after a work trip to Tanzania. Knowing that I was traveling alone, Lana and all of the managers there made every effort to make sure I was comfortable and had a fun stay, from the handwritten welcome note to arranging a lovely group dinner under the stars.

The location is perfect, and the beach beautiful. At Ras Kutani, they know how to balance luxury with maintaining the integrity of the environment. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves is incomparable.

I had a blissful time there and would love to return, if only it weren't so far from New York!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My only gripe about Ras Kutani was that I didn't want to leave! Set in indigenous coastal forest with a safe swimming beach on your doorstep and rock pools to explore, this is a perfect place to unwind and leave behind the daily grind. The staff are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The food was delicious, the decor interesting and the bar very welcoming. The accommodation is luxurious and spacious. The beds are huge! Take a walk along the lagoon path, explore the beach to the southern point, enjoy a back massage or just laze by the pool sipping a Bloody Mary. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Go for a suite up on the hill with its own plunge pool and sea views. Otherwise lounging in a hammoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is the most amazing place. The beach is beautiful, food's delicious, and staff is charming. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzskillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

After the mayhem of the wedding and a ten hour flight, the second we were meet at Ras Kutani we felt relaxed! All the paths are sand so you dont need to wear shoes whilst you are there. We stayed in a suite slightly further up the hill and the views out to sea were stunning. We slept to the sounds of the waves every night! You are woken up by fresh coffee and homemade biscuits on the veranda. The food is sensational. The service is incredible. YOu can relax by the pool, or on the beach, or by the private plunge pool. It really was a perfect start to our honeymoon. cant recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
23.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
277 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
20.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
479 reviews
20.6 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing